We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carnival Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Carnival Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Carnival Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 929, 30100 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Really impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I think it's a relatively new hotel, so when I booked it was based on only a handful of reviews. I was however, very impressed with the quality of the room and the professionalism of the staff.

First off, I was pleased by the location, just a short walk from the water taxi from the airport - which means not having to hump heavy cases over any bridges... then the light and vibrant reception and welcoming staff.

We stayed in a room with a canal view (318) which i thought was worth the small additional fee, it was a larger room with a sort of 'reception' room which had a chez longe and the minibar etc with a really impressive bathroom to one side and the master bedroom to the other.

Cleanliness just wasn't an issue here, the room was always tidy and the furniture seemed really new and of a reasonable quality. The rooms were surprisingly big, I had a feeling things would be cramped in Venice but they were actually more than adequate.

There is free wifi which is a little slow, but so many European hotels charge for it so I was just pleased it was there anyway, always important to let people back home know how nice your holiday is...

It's at the northern part of the island so it's out of the way of the majority of the tourism, which for me is nice, but for you, may be different. The truth is, the island is very small, walking to Piazza St Marco / Rialto takes about 20 mins through the streets etc, so if like me you like taking pictures, you'll want to be doing this anyway. There are a handful of reasonable bars / restaurants in close proximity so you don't feel isolated.

I would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone, perfect for Venice sight seeing.

Room Tip: Go for the Canal view - image supplied from 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace Hotel we would like to say Thank You for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our authentic location and our modern-venitian style!

We would be happy to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel!

Wishing you happy holidays

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    250
    44
    14
    15
See reviews for
112
564
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed there recently and we had an amazing experience. The hotel is super cool...the decor and style is like no other. Our room was very clean, the bed extremely comfortable, the drinks at the bar delicious and the service was 5 stars! Everyone at the hotel made us feel at home. We had lots of questions as to where to go and they were able to recommend the best places to go see, eat and have fun. I cannot wait to go back. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace Hotel! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are delighted to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible!

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our bar The Mask!

We look forward to welcoming you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel and wish you happy holidays!

With warm regards

Romina Schito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the amazingly beautiful Carnival Palace Hotel! Right from the moment we checked in at the hotel we were impressed by the friendly, prompt and professional staff at the hotel. The room was beautiful, very elegant design and very tidy. The breakfast buffet was exquisite and included spumante of course. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the Carnival Palace Hotel! We appreciate very much your time and effort.

We are very happy to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us. Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

It's a pleasure to know also that you enjoyed our modern venetian style!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel!

Happy holidays!

Romina Schito
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have just come back from 3 nights at the Carnival Palace Hotel and it was the best hotel I have ever stayed in, the room was perfect, clean and tidy the hotel staff couldn’t do enough for us. It was for my partner’s birthday and they brought her a birthday cake up to our room with champagne on the morning of her birthday, and arranged a private water taxi to see the glass blowing. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a short romantic break. Would differently return to the hotel again and again.

Room Tip: Book in advance. But if you want comfort and not to expensive get the deluxe double room brillaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace Hotel we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are very happy to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us. Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel!

Wishing you happy holidays

Romina Schito
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nothing bad can be said about this hotel. I have stayed in November with my girlfriend.

The staff is kind and helpful. Early check in was allowed.
The location is good as Canareggio is very nice neighborhood out of the tourist area
The rooms are very modern, nice, clean and comfortable
Breakfast is also very complete and good

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at the Carnival Palace Hotel! We appreciate your time and effort as your opinion is very important to us!

We are most happy to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us! Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

We would be delighted to have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel!

Wishing you happy holidays!

Romina Schito
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights here 114th-18th Nov. We had The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a basic room with a chromographic shower, it was lovely. The light changes to and from 4 colours. Each room is modern with a touch of Venetian luxury. The beds are very comfortable. The room was cleaned every day, and was spotless.The only downside is there are no tea making facilities in the room. Breakfast was well laid out, plenty of it and a good choice of food. The locality was very quiet just on the edge of the Jewish quarter ( well worth wandering around if you have time). about 15-20 minute walk from the palazzale Roma and the st.Lucia railway, if the weather is fine, there is no need for water taxis or vaporettos.

Room Tip: Any room would be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace Hotel we would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are very happy to read that we met your expectations and that you were able to have a great time with us. Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

Regarding the tea making, we are not allowed to provide any item that can cause fire in our guest rooms (like tea making, irons, etc), by law. Venice's fire regulation is very strict.

It's a pleasure also to know that you enjoyed our authentic location!

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel!

Wishing you happy holidays!

Romina Schito
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Carnival Palace in November for 3 nights in the Deluxe Double Room with Canal View. Room was beautiful and the view was lovely! The bathroom is absolutely gorgeous, very romantic. There is a spotlight above the shower that changes colour! Also a separate bath tub with another shower head. I have read that the Red Suite has a balcony with a hot tub which I would definitely book next time if I were to stay here again!

Please note that the hotel does not provide an iron for "health and safety reasons" . However there is a hairdryer in the bathroom.

On arrival the staff were very helpful, we were provided with a map and given info about transport and how to get to places in Venice (This was without us even asking!)

Location wise, it is in a very quiet area. There are plenty of shops nearby for food/drinks etc. This hotel is good for people that do not mind walking a little to their destination, or getting the water bus to places. Bus stop is right outside the hotel which is a bonus. Venice is quite small as it is, I myself would have preferred to be a bit closer to San Marco however the hotels interior made up for everything! It is beautifully decorated, very clean and luxurious and very modern. It isn't very "Venetian" if that makes sense which could be a downside.

Breakfast was lovely, croissants, cheeses, toast, eggs. Only thing I didn't like was that you had to order tea, would be better if there was hot water that was supplied rather than having to wait for your hot drink.

At check out they stored our suitcases for us as we had a few hours to wait for hour flight. This was a bonus. As well as the free wifi (which can be a bit slow at times)

Overall we had a pleasant stay, the main downside for me was location but like i said the hotels interior made up for it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarnivalPalace, Assistant Manager at Carnival Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the Team of the Carnival Palace Hotel we would like to thank uou very much for sharing your experience about your stay with us! We appreciate your time and effort!

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our decoration as well as our staff's attention and that you were able to have a pleasant stay with us. Our aim is to provide our guests a high class service and comfortable rooms so that they can enjoy Venice as much as possible.

Yes, we have 3 rooms featuring a private balcony with jacuzzi: 1 Red Suite and 2 Terraces Suites.

Please note that we do offer ironing service. We are just not allowed by law to provide any irons nor tea boilers or other items that can cause fire in our guest rooms. Venice's law is very strict with fire regulation.

Again, we would like to thank you for your feedback as it helps us improving our serivce.

We would be delighted to welcome you once again to the Carnival Palace Hotel!

Wishing you happy holidays

Romina Schito
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carnival Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnival Palace Hotel

Address: Cannaregio 929, 30100 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnival Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Cannaregio Canal in historic downtown Venice, the Carnival Palace is an exclusive, sophisticated 4-star boutique hotel, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city, perfect for those who would love to discover the real Venice. The sophisticated elegance of Carnival Palace Hotel is clear from its captivating and romantic contemporary design, which brings to mind the most elegant and authentic Venetian furnishings. The hotel offers 67 comfortable and spacious rooms, all with their own unique style and charm with views of the garden or the Cannaregio Canal. Run by a young couple of hoteliers with the support of a multilingual staff that will take care of your every need, the hotel is easy to reach from the airport and is just a few steps from public transportation hubs, the train station and Venice parking terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Carnival Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carnival Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.