We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B Exclusive, Venice - Dont Bother - its a rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Exclusive

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Exclusive to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Exclusive
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Exclusive
Calle de la Fonderia | San Polo 3080, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 418 Venice B&B and Inns
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“B & B Exclusive, Venice - Dont Bother - its a rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this place on line, the photos showed a nice room, location was near to where we wanted to be - The company "collected their rent" in advance - Upon arriving (in the rain & having dragged our luggage up and over the bridge over the canal) and then lugging our baggage up 3 floors, there was only a maid who had poor English - She told us we had been "relocated" to their "other location" She said we had been informed by e-mail (this was true I found out when I arrived home - the e-mai arrived after I had left home) - Other location turned out to be on the other side of Venice (Via ferry ) - initially difficult to find in a run down ex-apartment, each room of which (including the kitchen) had a small double bed crammed into it - No en-suite as paid for - also up 4 floors (no lift and 12 ft ceilings) - I complained (e-mail) with only a very curt reply and no refund for services not provided - In retrospect it would seem that they have about 1 or two rooms like the advertisement, the rest are rubbish

Breakfast - Hahaha ! after eventually finding the Breakfast restuarant in the maze of little alleys, brekky was 1 small glass of fruit juice, 1 cup of coffee and 1 croisant - then as the place took our card with its name on, we had a lot of trouble finding it again the next day

In conclusion - DONT GO TO THIS PLACE

Room Tip: Get the one they've got the pictures of,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    3
    3
    17
See reviews for
6
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I reached to the hotel at night, the hotel request me to pay 15 euro for late check in. After I paid, the hotel said the room is in other building that take 15 mins from the check in hotel. I tried to get to the other building, I walk around 1 hr, it's not yet get there so I tried to the people who stay there he said that place I have to walk more around one hour. Finally, I didnt get through the hotel but the key room still with me. When I got back, the hotel still charge me for the hotel's key. I didnt get it why the hotel hide a lots of inf. to tourists, I suggest that you guy should not choose this hotel because of its price. I actually said it is the worst hotel.

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel!! It's the worst!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The quantity of food did not match the quality, as most of it was so bad that we had to give it to the birds outside, and buy ourselves some decent breakfast. They were the cheapest products out of the supermarket, which we were heavily charged for. And 3 tea-bags to last 4 days between 2 people is not exactly a lot of quantity, don’t you think? They were provided on the 1st night, but never re-filled after.

In regards to the location, we specifically looked for a place near Piazzale Roma when made a reservation, however, only a few days before arrival we were told that the actual room will be on the other side of Venice (near Fondamenta Nuove), which was quite far from Piazzale Roma! They suggested it’s about 10 minute-walk, but be prepared to walk for at least half an hour, as it’s not that close!

I think that reviews of this “B&B Exclusive” speak for themselves.

Keep away from this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisa s, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Exclusive, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Good morning,
Thank you for your review,
but you said that: you have received an email and you have read that the room would be in the center because you have not said that there was not ok in that moment?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The so called ‘included’ continental breakfast was a huge disappointment, as we were initially told that we would receive coupons for an Italian continental breakfast at ‘Ai Lupi’, apparently a nearby café on Salita San Canciano. However upon arrival we were then told that breakfast will be provided daily in the room. In our room there was a small plastic basket with basic single serving long-life food: 2 brioches, 2 bisotti, 2 biscuits, small packs of jam and chocolate spread, 2 small cartons of concentrate juice & instant powder coffee. We were also provided 2 Tea-bags on the first night, but was never refilled after. We were only provide 2 disposable plastic cups, which obviously melted on each use, making hot drinks taste of plastic.

The quality & quantity of food provided was appalling, forcing us to purchase breakfast outside and disregarding the breakfast we had paid for in the package deal.

If like us, you’re a non-smoker, prepare to have the entire accommodation filled with secondary smoke if any other guests smoke in their room.

The wash facilities are basic, with only shower gel and shampoo sachets provided, but only enough for two guests out of the eight or so. The tap handle on the sink kept falling off and hot water is limited to one shower per every three hours (when the small boiler would refill again).

This accommodation had no actual view (just ugly buildings all around), no WiFi, no TV and no fridge. The towels were so old it made you think twice about drying yourself. The small bathroom had to be shared between 4 double rooms and not enough hot water for all guests to shower. This also means one toilet shared between everyone!

The actual accommodation was over a 30 minute walk away from the original location confirmed on reservation and, were given a map and 4 different keys.

This accommodation is seriously overpriced and the description detailed prior to booking, ‘all’ turned out to be a lie and ruined our holiday experience.

The only part we liked about this accommodation was being able to leave!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisa s, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Exclusive, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear guest,
meanwhile thank you so much for your pictures, i think these are very beautiful because you can see very well the quantity of food we provided for the breakfast and i think no one can complain watching that there are 2 brioche, 2 containers of biscuits, chocolates, jams, rusks, coffee, té and juice, and in the web site it's written "italian breakfast" and i don't know what the a person want more with the price we ask for one room in center of Venice.
Every information is in the web site where you booked. Everything. No television, no wi-fi and no fridge, but you should read the informations written in one hotel before booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arrival we were told our booking had been changed and we had been relocated to another hotel across the other side of Venice. Only a 10 minute walk plus a water taxi ride was all we could understand from a very embarrassed, virtually non-english speaking and poorly briefed receptionist. As we had specifically chosen the location to fit an onward connection early the next day we flatly refused. After considerable language difficulty she tried to find us a vacancy in another hotel but when we said we were cancelling the B&B Exclusive booking and refused to pay as they had renaged on their contract frantic phone calsl suddenly and miraculously resulted in them having a room available! Not the best hotel and certainly a place to be avoided. OR be prepared for a stressful experience, a test of will powers and good exercise for your stubborn streak.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisa s, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Exclusive, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Good evening dear customer,
thank you for having stayed in our b & b.
I say that the room is not miraculously jumped out, but just trying to understand your needs we have tried to help as we could so we did everything possible to please you and give a comfortable stay.
I am very sorry for your review, as I and my staff try to ensure an efficient service, and the proof of it is the fact that we were still able to guarantee the room in the main building.
I would also point out that when we have these problems we sent an e-mail before arrival and we had specify that unfortunately or fortunately the room was in the center of Venice, not in the suburbs as booked, we also in this case gave the ability to delete reservation free or modify it.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night and found it to be clean and neat, generally comfortable and close enough to the main sights. It is an apartment with 4 rooms and two shared bathrooms.

The bathrooms, though shared, were the best we experienced in Italy. They have been nicely renovated and each is a full bathroom. We didn't ever need to wait to use them and they were always clean.

They strictly forbid food in the apartment so were had to eat out but in Italy that was hardly a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisa s, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Exclusive, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for left a review and thank you for being with us.
We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a small (4rooms) B&B less than ten minutes walk from the railway/bus station in the Santa Croche area. Situated on the 2 nd floor in an apartment building in a quiet resedential area, it was a good base for us to explore Venice. It is clean and comfortable, and although the bathrooms are shared, it is OK for such a small place. A minimal italian breakfast is offered at a nearby cafe. The rooms are large for Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elisa s, Proprietario at Bed & Breakfast Exclusive, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for left a review and thank you for being with us.
We look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed & Breakfast Exclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Exclusive

Address: Calle de la Fonderia | San Polo 3080, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #372 of 418 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Exclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Exclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.