We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee and pastries” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zenzero - CLOSED

Zenzero
Campo Santa Marina, 30122 Venice, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good coffee and pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a morning coffee here just near our hotel, and were happy with the coffee quality and service. Lots of locals there...a good stop if you're in need of espressi and a morning pick-me-up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Cute neighborhood coffee stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only had coffee and breakfast-y goods (the croissants are fresh and flaky, which makes for an excellent egg sandwich), but that was enough to keep us coming back every morning for our week in Venice (the sweet-orange cream pastry is lush). We're not sure what the ginger connection is (that's what the name means in Italian) but there's something very charming and local about this corner spot on the plaza, with everyone stopping in for a chat with their doggies. The owners are super friendly and the atmosphere is welcoming and casual, which probably explains the popularity. If you're in the neighborhood, drop by for cappuccino or lunch (but note that during peak times the outdoor tables are reserved for lunch customers), or just to say hi to Mylie, the resident Chihuahua, often found lounging in her patch of sun out front.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wish we had more time there ...........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We came across Zenzero almost by chance as we wandered around the streets of Venice and what a fabulous place it was.
Unfortunately we arrived a little before closing time however we still able to order a glass of Prosecco each.
The welcome we received from the guys Francesco and Vittorio was second to none and it was obvious that they are very popular with the locals.
The bar is tastefully decorated and the food on display looked very appetising.
If we ever return to Venice we would definitely visit them again and sample their homemade cicchetti

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Precious Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We found this place by chance. Well, that said… I had already checked the good reviews on here and I have to say I was not disappointed. By far the best service in Venice, these gentlemen were so friendly and would pay attention to anyone in this cosy café even when the place was full (of locals = good sign). Had breakfast there twice, on the second day we were greeted still outside by the largest waving and smile we could get. Very decent price for good and tasty snacks (mind you, in Venice this is just great). Ragazzi, voi siete favolosi! Un bacio da Londra.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place for a quick bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This lovely little cafe was just across the square from our hotel, its great for a small snack you must have the mushroom and ham minuture calzone we had to have 2 each they were that good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zenzero also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zenzero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.