We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Refreshing Gelato in Venice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mela Verde

La Mela Verde
Fondamenta de L'osmarin-Castello, 30126 Venice, Italy (Castello)
3491957924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,204 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Breakfast, Drinks, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: My GELATO is made daily with fresh high-quality ingredients like milk, fresh fruit, pistachios from Sicily, Piedmont hazelnuts IGP, vanilla bourbon and the best cocoa blends for a fantastic dark chocolate. Every single product is choose and selected to offer the best high-quality GELATO, this is my prerogative and the secret of my success. Enjoy it ;)
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most Refreshing Gelato in Venice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped by La Mela Verde for gelato and had the most refreshing gelato in Venice. We were exhausted from touring around the city in the heat and were looking for something to quench our thirst. I asked for a sample of their lemon, mint and basil gelato and I was hooked. It was the best gelato we have had on our two week trip to Italy! The shop was stumbled upon and not located along the Grande Canal, but it is definitely worth the effort. The price is very reasonable too! We leave town tomorrow and our last place to eat before boarding the train will be here for gelato.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    96
    41
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Gelato done right. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hands down the best Gelato in Venice. We went there a couple times on our and walked away filled with joy.

They make a different flavor everyday that is filled with candy. We had an amazing Kit-Kat Gelato that was the best Gelato we had on our two week trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing gelato's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went here because of the reviews on Trip advisor and wasn't disappointed. So glad we tried this place. My whole family agrees this was the best gelato in we had in Venice. Actually, even better than the gelato we had in Florence too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was one of the best gelaterias we ate at in Italy. There is not a huge array of flavors but, as Spencer Tracy said of Katherine Hepburn, "what there is is cherce." Particularly good was the grapefruit gelato, an explosion of clean, tart flavor in the mouth. Combine a scoop of that with a scoop of one of the creamy flavors and you will be in gelato heaven.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The gelato here is amazing. They may not have the widest array of flavours available, but they are very reasonably priced for Venice and the taste is absolutely amazing. I'll definitely be back next time!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mela Verde also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Mela Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mela Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.