We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mela Verde

La Mela Verde
Fondamenta de L'osmarin-Castello, 30126 Venice, Italy (Castello)
3491957924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,211 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: My GELATO is made daily with fresh high-quality ingredients like milk, fresh fruit, pistachios from Sicily, Piedmont hazelnuts IGP, vanilla bourbon and the best cocoa blends for a fantastic dark chocolate. Every single product is choose and selected to offer the best high-quality GELATO, this is my prerogative and the secret of my success. Enjoy it ;)
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is one of the best places to get gelato. In our trip to Italy, my husband and I tried every uand when we went to La Mela Verde, we were adventurous in the flavours we picked. No matter what you get, it is incredibly delicious. I highly recommend going there more than once - you get different selections each day.

We went here based on a tripadvisor review and we did have some trouble finding it. The address is correct but the name of the place is different (I don't recall it). Just know that this is the only gelato place on the street so you can't go wrong finding it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    101
    44
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Right up there with the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Their mela verde (green apple) is obviously their signature dish, and is a very welcoming light and fluffy texture - a must try. THE must try is their pistachio flavor - absolutely the best pistachio gelato I've had throughout my 2 weeks in Italy. All other gelaterias' pistachio always had a hint of almond essence taste. This one simply tastes solely of pistachios - wonderful!! Amazing!!

This rates alongside Rome's "il Gelato di San Crispino" (their honey flavor) gelataria as the best gelatarias in Italy based on my trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best icecream in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I warmly recommend this place if you are an icecream fan:))
I liked all sorts of flavours, especially the vanilla one.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great but small scoops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This place has great gelato, I had four scoops. The scoops are very small, but the gelato is really good. I liked the Spritz, loved lemon and red grapefruit. The best was the pistaccio, best pistaccio I have ever had! Would definately go back, even though the four scoops was like two scoops at other places...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Scream for this ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

There is lots of ice cream to be had in Venice, much of it is delicious but this place is special. Interesting flavours which vary daily, quality, natural and fresh ingredients. Prices compare with most in Venice, but the product and flavours excel. Make sure you try it BUT be warned - flavours run out and opening hours aren't as late as some other ice cream shops(11-8), so don't leave it too late in the day!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mela Verde also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Mela Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mela Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.