We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly sweet surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mela Verde

La Mela Verde
Fondamenta de L'osmarin-Castello, 30126 Venice, Italy (Castello)
3491957924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,206 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Coffee & Tea, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Castello
Description: My GELATO is made daily with fresh high-quality ingredients like milk, fresh fruit, pistachios from Sicily, Piedmont hazelnuts IGP, vanilla bourbon and the best cocoa blends for a fantastic dark chocolate. Every single product is choose and selected to offer the best high-quality GELATO, this is my prerogative and the secret of my success. Enjoy it ;)
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Surprisingly sweet surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

After a gondola ride in a side canal we stepped off and our first site was of the gelateria. We posed several questions since lactose intolerance is a huge factor in our lives. The lovely owner went into details about what goes into his product and was able to reassure us of the ingredients. All this before the first taste - and what a wonderful taste it was. La Mela A Verde was a stand out of gelaterias in the two weeks we spent in Italy and will return when we go back to Venice. So fresh, so delicious. A wonderful interlude after the lazy trip down the canal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    97
    41
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Just walking past this place on our way back to the hotel, and the smell of fresh crepes was so amazing we decided to try.
And what a treat, we loved it. Now I cant wait to go and try the gelatto later on today.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still salivating...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went out of our way to find La Mela Verde and my sister and I were both glad we made the effort. Everyone has their own definition of what tastes great so for those of you who thought it was overrated perhaps it was for your taste. We however adored the gelato. I'm not a huge fan of ice-cream/gelato normally so I wasn't expecting it to be anything I'd rave about. I agree with pesti13 that NZ gelato is wonderful but I disagree that this isn't as good. I personally think it is better. My sister, I think, thought I was a being a bit ridiculous going out of my way to find it (based on the reviews) however, after eating a gelato there she was worried she wouldn't be able to resist the temptation of eating another if we walked back into the shop. I would go back there in a heart beat if I was in Venice again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Agree with a previous reviewer that this place has been overrated - we've had better gelato in New Zealand with greater selection as well. But it's gelato, it's all pretty darn good. One thing going for this place is that it does offer some delicious "gelato sandwiches" and "paninis" and gelato-filled crepes. Overall no complaints at all and we enjoyed the gelato, but nothing special so don't go out of your way to get to this place if you're seeking the best gelato in Italy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide V, Proprietario at La Mela Verde, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear customer,

thank you for been at la mela verde.
Sorry but I don't understand how can u speak about the avarage quality of our gelato when lots of important guide, site, and journal speak about our top quality gelato using 100%natural ingredients !!!
I just wanna let you remember that every day we make our GELATO with only the highest quality ingredients, from the fresh cream made on site to the finest product found in italy as IGP certified hazelnuts from PIEMONTE (local italian region) pure pistachios from Sicily and the best vanilla Bourbon.
We also use a superior cocoa blend for the richest dark chocolate gelato possible.

I can suggest you next time to take some time for asking about what are you going to eat, we'll be proud to explaning you what we produce, and maybe let you understand the meaning of the word QUALITY !

thanks anyway for your opinion, we work every day to find the best for all our customers

cheers
Davide and LA MELA VERDE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent gelateria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent ice cream for a (very) reasonable price: cornetto with two flavours for only € 2,5! What are you waiting for?

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mela Verde also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to La Mela Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mela Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.