We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Pisani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ca' Pisani Hotel to your Saves list
Ca' Pisani Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Windermere
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Created from a small 14th or 15th century palazzo, this hotel is nothing short of mesmerising. It sits in what could be seen as the best situation in Venice, in Dorsoduro, the artistic, more local quarter of Venice. From our duplex room, more like a studio flat, it was possible to see both the Grand Canal and the Canale di Giudecca, each just a minute or two away. Everything in the hotel is made and finished to the truly highest standards. It amazed us that every object seemed to have been designed and made specifically for the hotel, in which the mediaeval interior was very carefully refurbished using a very authentic art deco style, with both styles sitting comfortably together. The attention to detail is remarkable and the lighting fully complemented this.

The staff all were so welcoming and friendly without being too obsequious. We were led to our room without fuss to be greeted with a complimentary spread of cold meats, cheeses, salad accompanying home-made jams, together with a bottle of prosecco, all presented from La Revista, the hotel's restaurant. We arrived in the evening and it was a thrill to be able to open the tall double windows and listen to the quiet sounds of the street.

The hotel's front is onto a Rio Terra, that is, a filled in canal, which is a fairly busy thoroughfare, though nothing like the tourist routes through say, San Marco. It can be lively but hardly noisy and the sound insulation, plus the blackout blind which can be operated from the bed, make for a dark and peaceful room, if you need it.

The buffet breakfast is a splendid feast of more or less anything one could want, from cold meats and cheeses, fruit, breads, cereals and dolci and the busy staff always seemed on hand to supply another tea or cappuccino.

The room was always cleaned perfectly. My wife's nightshirt was even neatly folded and placed under a pillow.

There were plenty of facilities which we didn't use and perhaps the only reason why the hotel isn't five star is because there is no pool/gym, which we would be unlikely to use, and there is no watergate, meaning that there is a little walk from the water taxi/Alilaguna quays to the hotel, but Accademia on the Grand Canal and Zattere by the Canal di Giudecca are a mere couple of minutes away (with no bridges to cross) on either side; the hotel staff are more than willing to help porter cases.

There is little to fault. The ancient construction of the hotel and its preservation means that the original beamed ceiling does not allow for much sound insulation from the floor above. Our bed, superbly modern, cosy and comfortable, was immediately below the bathroom above. On the first night the guests in that room above clearly had to catch an early flight and I was woken at 3.40am and kept awake till they left at about 5.00am. It is a bit of a problem which I'm sure the hotel is aware of and I sympathise that there is no easy solution.

The bathroom and its complimentary toiletries was luxurious, though one morning the water was a bit tepid. My wife would have liked to have had a mirror by the bed on the mezzanine and we both would have liked more drawer space. There are two tables by the bed, one for the TV, which could be replaced by drawers. We had no interest in watching the TV or listening to the radio, though I did try the latter. It provided only four rather badly tuned pop stations and I didn't bother again. However, these are very minor things.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ca' Pisani to any discerning traveller and would like to thank everyone there for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor and at the back are likely to be very quiet. At the front you can watch the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    210
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
98
604
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We really liked Ca Pisani. It is well located a couple of minutes from the Academia bridge in the relatively quiet area of Dorsoduro. The hotel is stylish with well appointed and comfortable bedrooms and opulent bathrooms (although maroon quartz isn't to my taste).
Breakfasts were very good with excellent coffee provided.
There had been a mix up on our booking which meant they only expected one room to be taken but they quickly and smoothly sorted it out. A second deluxe room wasn't available for the first night so they provided a standard room and then upgraded us to a junior suite for the other two nights and gave us a free bottle of prosecco as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

A real gem in such an excellent position close to transport links in two directions. Thorough in evey respect and so helpful too. They even organised the weather for me!! Breakfast was lovely and the bar restaurant at lunchtime had a great menu. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Ca' Pisani has many positive points. Its location is perfect, very very close to the vaporetto station "L'Accademia", from where you can reach anywhere in the city very easily, and you can also walk to different parts of the city from the hotel. There is no problem at all for you to have your luggage with you, because once you get down the vaporetto station, the hotel is right there, there are no stairs, no bridges, just a few steps and you arrive at a very comfortable hotel carrying your luggagges, and it is very easy to find, what is very important information when we talk about Venice. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable, breakfast is delicious. From my room window I could see inside the Accademia Museum, that is right next to the hotel. You can walk all around Venice from Ca' Pisani, and enjoy all Venice has to offer. It is very clear that I loved my stay at Ca' Pisani, and I intend to go back there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel is very modern and up to date. It is located perfectly to walk to just about anywhere in Venice. Had a great breakfast in the morning. The only complaint is the number of light switches in the room and you could never figure out which goes to which lights since each switch seemed to operate multiple lights. The elevator is also slow. The rooms are clean as well as the up to date modern bathrooms. The hotel is a very short walk from the Academia dock. We had to leave very early in the morning and the night man helped us to the dock with our luggage. Front desk was eager to help with anything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The Ca'Pisani design hotel is very good value for money when compared to other 4* hotels in Venice and it is definitely 4*. Located in the trendy art area near the Acadamia bridge (2 mins walk) you can walk to every tourist attraction but we found the nicest area was near to the hotel, lovely promenade, restaurants (Riviera a must), shops etc and we were there for 5 days so we really covered the island.
The hotel is well decorated in an Art Deco style and is very clean. It has a steam room, restaurant and terrace.
The room (superior double) had everything we needed and little extras like a whirlpool bath and blackout blinds. We had two issues though, firstly the temperature. The hotel doesn't turn on it's aircon until April so you could only cool down the room by opening the windows which inevitably lets in Mosquitos, I have the bites to prove it and secondly the bed was a mattress on wooden slats which would have been fine except every time one of us turned over it sounded like a dolphin was being murdered and woke you up, so we didn't sleep very well. Also, they do not have an iron only an ironing service which is apparently typical in Venice due to fire regulations but expensive if your clothes get creased during your journey.
The breakfast was good (fruit, pastries, cereal, meat, cheese, bread, eggs and bacon) but get there early if you want a full selection as once something was gone it wasn't always replaced. The majority of the staff are helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. There were a couple who made you feel like you shouldn't be bothering them and it was an effort to look up from the desk. If you're American you'll probably think the service is terrible but after eating at lots of restaurants I think it's the norm. Ask or you don't get!!
The boat to and from the airport (blue line) stops a 2 minute walk from the hotel. It costs €16 pp and takes 1.5 hrs but it is a lovely journey round the islands. We opted to get a water taxi in which cost €80 per boat but it only takes 40mins and is an experience!!
Overall I would recommend the hotel and we loved our stay in Venice.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandreica'pisani, Owner at Ca' Pisani Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
dear EmmaS1732,
thank you very much for your nice review. all the staff and I are extremely happy about your comments.
regarding your three small issues, the fact the bed was noisy it is really surprising: of course I trust you, and due to the facyìt the beds are Art Deco it may happen, but because we have a maintenance team, if we are advised about any small technical problem we can fix it. so I hope you informed the reception, so that they could ask the person in charge to check it.
it Italy - according to fire regulations - it is strictly forbidden to iron clothes in your room due to the fact that it can be super dangerous, especially considering all the wood used in the 'palazzos' built in Venice.
last (but not least), air conditioning is usually switched on in April, but it actually depends on the weather conditions, so each year can be different.
all this said, all of us really hope to welcome you again here at 'ca' pisani'.
all the best,
marianna serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a wonderful stay at ca' pisani. Very close to the academia and zatterie water boat stops. We were treated so nicely from the moment we got there. We were taken to our room and shown all the mod cons. Was a lovely size room and very modern. Bathroom was amazing, very big and clean. Can't find anything to fault with it, it's not slap bang in the middle of town, just 10mins from San Marco, thank you to the front of house :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Pisani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pisani Hotel

Address: Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Venice
#13 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#21 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#28 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Pisani Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Pisani, the first design hotel in town, opened in December 2000 after almost 3 years of restoration works. it is a stone's throw from the Grand Canal and the Guggenheim collection, and is located in an original late 16th century building. inside, art deco atmosphere and modern comfort, including free wi-fi connection. Family owned and run by a Venetian family whose members have been hoteliers since 1908. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ca' Pisani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Pisani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Pisani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.