We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - Ca' Pisani really lived up to expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Pisani Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ca' Pisani Hotel to your Saves list
Ca' Pisani Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 380 Hotels in Venice
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Second visit - Ca' Pisani really lived up to expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Returning to Ca' Pisani I found the hotel to be every bit as lovely as I remembered. The service is excellent – all the staff we encountered were friendly and efficient – and everything seems to work very smoothly. The decor is great; the mix of contemporary and deco works really well and provides an welcome antidote to the excess of traditional Venetian interiors.

The breakfast buffet is excellent – I particularly like the DIY orange juice and the delicious cake – be prepared from envious stares from passersby if you eat outside (worth it for the opportunity to watch the city wake up and start the day) and the café/bar is also an excellent location for an early evening Aperol spritz (something my friend and I discovered a couple of years ago while staying at a different hotel).

The easiest route to the hotel from Marco Polo is the Alilaguna waterbus to Zattere (about 80 minutes on the blue line; not speedy but arriving in Venice by boat is great). From there it's a very short walk with no bridges to cross. Laguna, just by the waterbus stop, is good should you need an aperitivo while waiting for the waterbus back to the airport.

The hotel has a roof terrace which is small but nice with interesting views (if you're up there at night and see a string of lights in the distance, the answer to the 'what's that bridge?' question that may pop into your head is 'd'oh, it's a cruise ship!') and a few sun loungers (plus shower). There's a sauna which I've yet to use (and consequently can't rate on here) and there's no swimming pool (this is Venice; if you want a pool head for hotels on the Lido or the Hilton on Guidecca) so I've no idea why that's showing up asking to be rated.

A stay at Ca' Pisani is certainly not the cheapest way to see Venice, but in my view it's well worth the expense. If I possibly can, I certainly plan to stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Having a rather lovely glass staircase made our duplex room feel like real luxury and had huge windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandreica'pisani, Owner at Ca' Pisani Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
dear Ann J,
thank you very much for your extensive and detailed review. when you -as well many other guests - come more than once for us is a huge satisfaction because this means that you all loved your first stay.
I absolutely agree with what you wrote, and you made me smile with the comment on the ship lights...
I would only like to add, though, that for swimmers who look for lane swimming pools, I suggest the Rari Nantes public swimming pool at Sacca Fisola (on Giudecca island): they are open from mid-September trough June with a quite extensive free swimming hours.
the pool on Lido island (hotel Excelsior) is open to the public , but quite expensive, the one at the Hilton cheaper, but not really for swimming 'fanatics', and the one at Cipriani only for the hotel's guests.
as for all other requests, the staff and I will be delighted to give all infos you may request.
well, we really look forward welcoming you again in the future...and in the meantime thank you again for the time you spent on writing the review.
all the best,
marianna serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    179
    25
    8
    4
See reviews for
79
473
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked a room through Expedia.com, but when we got to the hotel after walking for half an hour, they told us there has been a mistake and they don't have a room for us. Instead, he took the liberty to re-book us at a 'sister hotel' in a crowded area. The hotel he rebooked us at was terrible. Not wanting to be stranded after such a long trip. We had to accept.

Room Tip: Double check that you still have a room before you arrive !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandreica'pisani, Owner at Ca' Pisani Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
dear Rafic K,
I read your review and I want to apologise on one side, and underline a couple of points on the other.
of course I am very sorry about what happened to you and the person travelling with you, and in fact on Friday last week - as soon as we found out about the mistake made in our system - the manager called the Italian Expedia office to ask them to get in touch with you and let you know about the situation. on weekends their office is closed, so we could not call them back, but we were sure that they did manage to inform you. however, from what you wrote, this did not happen, unfortunately. so when you arrived on Monday morning, our reception manager explained the problem, apologising for this, and we rebooked your room in a same category hotel not far from Saint Mark's square. I am sorry you found it terrible, because people staying there are usually quite happy about it.
of course I understand your delusion and your feelings, but - please believe me - it was due to a mistake and was not intentional, and we tried our best to make your stay an enjoyable one.
it would be great if in the future you will give us a second chance, and in this case I would be delighted to apologise in person.
with kind regards,
marianna serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our third visit to Ca'Pisani - it continues to please and for Venice deliver great value.

Yes, it was the first "design hotel" in Venice - opened in 1999 or so - but it's aging very gracefully. The baths still look and function extremely well. The mix of deco and contemporary is stylish and doesn't look dated (traveled with 2 high-end designers who agreed). The building is beautifully restored. The owners have great art from the 20's to the present.

Some ding the staff. I can't agree. The front desk team is professional and charming (with low turnover), the housekeepers pleasant and through. The breakfast staff does seem to turn over, so they can get a little overwhelmed in high season.

Unless you want to be overwhelmed by day-trippers or on the water, the location is perfect. Just behind the Accademia - so you are convenient to multiple vaporetto stops, about 20 minute walk from St. Marks and virtually no one ventures past the Accademia, therefore, it's a quiet, low-key and extremely pleasant place to sit outside for b'fast or a drink.

Finally, for Venice I find it fairly priced compared to similar properties.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small by American standards. Upgrading to a superior is worth the minor increase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We traveled through Italy for 10 days and this hotel was by far the best one we stayed at. The rooms were beautifully appointed and totally up to date. The service was also excellent from the front desk to the dining room to the maid service. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Venice. We stayed at cheaper hotels elsewhere but didn't mind paying more for this place because it was totally worth it. The management on Friday evening hosted a happy hour which was an unexpected treat and just added to our thorough enjoyment of staying here. It's right behind the Academia building close to the vaporetto (water bus) stop making it a convenient location for getting around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorreento
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What can I say, this hotel was superb. The place is decorated interestingly with Art Deco pieces. The rooms are very comfortable, stylish, and with lovely details. The turn down service is good. The staff are excellent, polite, friendly and very helpful.THe breakfast is really good, good choice of cereals, lots of fresh fruit, lovely meats and cheeses, and superb freshly made cakes every day.
The position is perfect for Venice, away from the hoards of daily visitors, near the vaporetto stops, and lots of good eating places nearby too. Just ask for advice form the front desk!
Cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a great find and simply can't say enough about why you should stay here. Venice is a small small place, and with the water ways and alleyways, everything is easily connectable and accessible. However, this place just takes it to another level.

Firstly, it's on a quieter part of Dorsoduro. Why's this great? Because you're on the quieter side of the Grand Canal, still a 15min walk from San Marco Square, etc and a 2 min walk from the Academia. There's also one of only a couple of foot bridges across the Grand Canal from the Dorsoduro side to San Marco 50 meters down the road. Being on this quieter side, you have easier access to the restaurants, cafes, bars, shops and walkways through Dorsoduro and San Polo. It gets you away from the 'Benidorm' feel of San Marco!!

The hotel definitely deserves it's star rating. From check-in with a very helpful front desk staff who helped identify a number of places we asked for and then made his own recommendations to the pleasant surprise of the the quality of the interior and the rooms themselves. We had a 2nd floor room with a corner view. This is great as you get a view down to the Grand Canal from one of the windows. Rooms are relatively large , bright and with a seperate wardrobe and storage area. Nice when space is limited in Venice rooms in general. All your amenities are hidden away well in the main bedroom area. Bathrooms are large with a jacuzzi / shower and all amenities you'd expect available here.

The quality of the finish is high and actually compared to other hotels we've stayed at with higher ratings, right on comparison.

WiFi is free and available for as many devices as you need. Definitely get breakfast included. Like most hotels in Italy, it's mainly continental but the quality isn't an issue. There's no compromise on the quality of cheeses or meats, the fruit is fresh and not only tinned juices and coffees fresh and too.

The staff can't be more helpful, from organising water taxi's to make recommendations to places you might want to visit based on what you've told them you like or visited already. It's nice to get away from the usual tourist jargon you hear when walking around Venice.

We'd definitely comeback here as the place simply makes your trip to Venice enjoyable. Not once did we walk past another hotel and think, wish we'd stayed here or let's look this place up. The place sets you up nicely for a full day of site seeing, and gives you the ideal place to comeback to late at night once you've done your last vino bianco.

Room Tip: Room 29, it has a corner view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay, great location, quiet, clean rooms with AC and very helpful staff. We were met by the porter at the ferry dock, hot and tired. He took care of our bags and guided us to the hotel (very short walk). The staff provided us with dinner reservations, maps, a city guide and tourist info. The buffet breakfast (included) was very good as well.
We will definitely return to the Ca' Pisani next time we visit Venice !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Pisani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pisani Hotel

Address: Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Pisani Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Pisani, the first design hotel in town, opened in December 2000 after almost 3 years of restoration works. it is a stone's throw from the Grand Canal and the Guggenheim collection, and is located in an original late 16th century building. inside, art deco atmosphere and modern comfort, including free wi-fi connection. Family owned and run by a Venetian family whose members have been hoteliers since 1908. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ca' Pisani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Pisani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Pisani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.