We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stylish, well-priced gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Pisani Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ca' Pisani Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ca' Pisani Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 382 hotels in Venice
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A stylish, well-priced gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our third visit to Ca'Pisani - it continues to please and for Venice deliver great value.

Yes, it was the first "design hotel" in Venice - opened in 1999 or so - but it's aging very gracefully. The baths still look and function extremely well. The mix of deco and contemporary is stylish and doesn't look dated (traveled with 2 high-end designers who agreed). The building is beautifully restored. The owners have great art from the 20's to the present.

Some ding the staff. I can't agree. The front desk team is professional and charming (with low turnover), the housekeepers pleasant and through. The breakfast staff does seem to turn over, so they can get a little overwhelmed in high season.

Unless you want to be overwhelmed by day-trippers or on the water, the location is perfect. Just behind the Accademia - so you are convenient to multiple vaporetto stops, about 20 minute walk from St. Marks and virtually no one ventures past the Accademia, therefore, it's a quiet, low-key and extremely pleasant place to sit outside for b'fast or a drink.

Finally, for Venice I find it fairly priced compared to similar properties.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are small by American standards. Upgrading to a superior is worth the minor increase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    175
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
72
427
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We traveled through Italy for 10 days and this hotel was by far the best one we stayed at. The rooms were beautifully appointed and totally up to date. The service was also excellent from the front desk to the dining room to the maid service. I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Venice. We stayed at cheaper hotels elsewhere but didn't mind paying more for this place because it was totally worth it. The management on Friday evening hosted a happy hour which was an unexpected treat and just added to our thorough enjoyment of staying here. It's right behind the Academia building close to the vaporetto (water bus) stop making it a convenient location for getting around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorreento
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What can I say, this hotel was superb. The place is decorated interestingly with Art Deco pieces. The rooms are very comfortable, stylish, and with lovely details. The turn down service is good. The staff are excellent, polite, friendly and very helpful.THe breakfast is really good, good choice of cereals, lots of fresh fruit, lovely meats and cheeses, and superb freshly made cakes every day.
The position is perfect for Venice, away from the hoards of daily visitors, near the vaporetto stops, and lots of good eating places nearby too. Just ask for advice form the front desk!
Cant recommend it enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a great find and simply can't say enough about why you should stay here. Venice is a small small place, and with the water ways and alleyways, everything is easily connectable and accessible. However, this place just takes it to another level.

Firstly, it's on a quieter part of Dorsoduro. Why's this great? Because you're on the quieter side of the Grand Canal, still a 15min walk from San Marco Square, etc and a 2 min walk from the Academia. There's also one of only a couple of foot bridges across the Grand Canal from the Dorsoduro side to San Marco 50 meters down the road. Being on this quieter side, you have easier access to the restaurants, cafes, bars, shops and walkways through Dorsoduro and San Polo. It gets you away from the 'Benidorm' feel of San Marco!!

The hotel definitely deserves it's star rating. From check-in with a very helpful front desk staff who helped identify a number of places we asked for and then made his own recommendations to the pleasant surprise of the the quality of the interior and the rooms themselves. We had a 2nd floor room with a corner view. This is great as you get a view down to the Grand Canal from one of the windows. Rooms are relatively large , bright and with a seperate wardrobe and storage area. Nice when space is limited in Venice rooms in general. All your amenities are hidden away well in the main bedroom area. Bathrooms are large with a jacuzzi / shower and all amenities you'd expect available here.

The quality of the finish is high and actually compared to other hotels we've stayed at with higher ratings, right on comparison.

WiFi is free and available for as many devices as you need. Definitely get breakfast included. Like most hotels in Italy, it's mainly continental but the quality isn't an issue. There's no compromise on the quality of cheeses or meats, the fruit is fresh and not only tinned juices and coffees fresh and too.

The staff can't be more helpful, from organising water taxi's to make recommendations to places you might want to visit based on what you've told them you like or visited already. It's nice to get away from the usual tourist jargon you hear when walking around Venice.

We'd definitely comeback here as the place simply makes your trip to Venice enjoyable. Not once did we walk past another hotel and think, wish we'd stayed here or let's look this place up. The place sets you up nicely for a full day of site seeing, and gives you the ideal place to comeback to late at night once you've done your last vino bianco.

Room Tip: Room 29, it has a corner view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was an excellent place to stay, great location, quiet, clean rooms with AC and very helpful staff. We were met by the porter at the ferry dock, hot and tired. He took care of our bags and guided us to the hotel (very short walk). The staff provided us with dinner reservations, maps, a city guide and tourist info. The buffet breakfast (included) was very good as well.
We will definitely return to the Ca' Pisani next time we visit Venice !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel on my own, visiting Venice for the first time. I was pleased with my room and the service in general, although the reception staff were a little brusque at times, and the food I had was good. The hotel's recommendations for dinners were invaluable and the location of the hotel was absolutely perfect for me - moments from the Accademia bridge in one direction and from the canal-side overlooking Giudecca Island on the other. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to friends/family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a wonderful boutique hotel, with beautifull art deco decor, very comfortable and stylish rooms and superb staff. If, in notoriously difficult Venice, that was not enough, add a great central location a minute's walk from the Accademia Gallery and excellent value for money. We didn't eat more than breakfast in the hotel restaurant but I am sure the food will be great as well. There are are pavement tables to enjoy a drink or a coffee outside and the location is just that crucial 100 yards away from the hubbub.

So rarely now do I come across somewhere with 5 star TA ratings that deserve them. Ca' Pisani deserves 6 stars. An absolute gem!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw seemed to achieve the same almost jaw-dropping art deco stylishness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ca' Pisani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pisani Hotel

Address: Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#65 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Pisani Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Pisani, the first design hotel in town, opened in December 2000 after almost 3 years of restoration works. it is a stone's throw from the Grand Canal and the Guggenheim collection, and is located in an original late 16th century building. inside, art deco atmosphere and modern comfort, including free wi-fi connection. Family owned and run by a Venetian family whose members have been hoteliers since 1908. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Ca' Pisani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Pisani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Pisani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.