We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ca' Pisani Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ca' Pisani Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ca' Pisani Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 382 hotels in Venice
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Perfect location, away from the crowds and less than a 10 minute walk to St Marks Square via the Accedemia Bridge. We were warmly welcomed at the hotel and allocated room 29 with a dual aspect towards the street and the grand canal. The hotel is stylish and our deluxe room had a dressing area and the most beautiful berry coloured marble bathroom. Generously equipped with bath products and I like the fact that they included a shave kit, toothbrushes/paste and a loofa! Gorgeous linens and plentiful towels too. The bed is very firm which we liked - but some may possibly think too firm. Breakfast is plentiful lots to choose from: cereals, scrambled eggs and bacon plus pastries, toast, yogurt, cheeses, meats etc etc. We woke up to flooded streets on 11th November and everyone seemed to arrive at the breakfast room at the same time so was a little chaotic. Ca'Pisani is a gem - as is the Dorsodoura area. I fully recommend exploring the neighbouring streets & stopping for a glass of wine and some of the local ciccetta - tapas - wonderful! Everyone said Venice was expensive however this wasn't our view. We stopped for a half carafe of wine at Al Vecio Marangon - six euro fifty and very pleasant wine. We even sat outside! The food looked wonderful too however we'd already decided to eat at one on the zattere - that was wonderful too but didn't take a note of the name. We walked everywhere as Venice is truly accessible from the Ca'Pisani. We shall be back....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    472
    169
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
73
432
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this boutique hotel at the end of October for several nights and found it to be awesome. The entire establishment with its modern design was impressive- from the large bedroom to the upscale bathroom (latest in shower and sink hardware) to the sitting and breakfast area. It seemed much larger on the inside than the outside.

The service was impeccable and the rooms were very clean. We stayed on the second floor- nice and quiet. And, there was coffee and tea in the hallway, just a few steps from our room.

The Ca' Pisani also had a restaurant on the lower floor and they served an excellent breakfast (came with the room). It offered a wide assortment including cheeses, eggs, bacon, cereals and fresh fruits.

Located in Dorsoduro section just behind the Accademia Bridge and across from the Guggenhiem Museum, the hotel was surprising central to most areas. You have easy access to everything from the San Marco Plaza to the non-tourist areas and away from the main crowds.

Bottom line, I encourage you to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel Ca' Pisani is perfect in every way. The entire hotel was spotlessly clean, the design and decor are amazing, the location is perfect, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We stayed there for four nights in September. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed, from dressing gowns and slippers to toiletries. The bathroom was spectacular! The breakfasts were also excellent - substantial and healthy. The owner, Marianna, held a “happy hour” for the guests on the Friday we arrived, when she took time out of her busy schedule to talk to each and every guest who attended. She gave us some wonderful recommendations for restaurants which we tried and were not disappointed. Although the hotel is within easy walking distance to most of Venice’s wonderful sites and only a short walk to the water taxis, it is in a quieter and less crowded part of the city. We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends, and if we have occasion to go to Venice in the future we will definitely stay at Ca Pisani.

Hilary and Ned

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Super friendly staff, great location, big room and bath - especially for Venice - just loved it! I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to anyone going to Venice. Especially loved the automated black-out shades in the room...very nice touch. Breakfast was included, and offered a nice selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Ca' Pisani for 5 nights in early September. I'd stay there again and recommend it to others. We felt it was a very good value for the price. It's an historic building, updated with modern amenities anywhere you'd want them, which made for a charming, comfortable stay.

Location: Dorsoduro was a welcome reprieve from the crowds of San Marco and the Rialto. It also felt much less touristy than San Marco and was very quiet. The hotel is easily accessible from either of two Vaporetto stops, which made getting around the city very convenient. Also, the Accademia bridge is literally a one-minute walk down the street, so walking to the big sights like the Doge's Palace and Piazza San Marco is simple and fast.

Room: We upgraded to a junior suite from a deco superior. The extra space was very welcome given we stayed for quite a while and we had large suitcases for our two-week trip. NOTE: we booked the deco superior and were later offered an upgrade via email from the hotel. The upgrade offer was less expensive than if we had originally booked the junior suite. If you're travelling in the off-season, it could be worth it to book a smaller room and see if they have upgrades available. However, I'm sure this depends on vacancy and there are no guarantees.

Bed and linens were very comfortable and the room was kept impeccably clean. The bathroom was well appointed and also incredibly clean. The best part, however, was the SILENCE. Not just quiet, silent. We never once heard a noise from either other rooms/hallway or from outside the hotel. The quietest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Great for nursing jet lag. The blackout shades were also a big help.

Breakfast: Very good. There was a wide variety of fresh fruit and pastries/bread, along with cured meats, cheeses, cereal, yogurt, and scrambled eggs and bacon for us Yanks. More than adequate to get you started on a day of sightseeing. Hours were long enough to accommodate early risers and those of us who like to sleep in a bit.

Service/Amenities: The all-day coffee/tea station in the hall on each floor was really nice to have. We enjoyed having a cup of coffee while getting dressed before breakfast. There was also a big bowl of beautiful apples for the taking - made a nice, healthy snack!

The service was fantastic. Housekeeping did a wonderful job and were very pleasant, which isn't always the case in hotels! The front desk staff was very helpful in making/confirming dinner reservations, arranging transportation, etc. Venice has a reputation for having not-so-great food, but the staff pointed us in the direction of some locally partonized places that were fantastic (and you won't find in your guide book).

Overall, a very nice, very comfortable, very charming hotel. The only reason I give it four stars instead of five is that the room (furniture, floors, etc.) was a little worn. Nothing shabby, but it's almost time for an update. Still, I'd stay there again and reiterate the great value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Honeymoon part 2 on this weekend end just gone (1/11/12 - 5/11/12), my first time to either Italy or Venice and this hotel was an excellent venue for it. We stayed in one of the Deco Deluxe rooms (no.30) - top floor, nice double bed, raised windows with steps for an excellent view across the Dorsoduro towards the Salute, a separate wardrobe room with skylight, a separator door to isolate the bedroom from internal noise, a lovely high ceiling with exposed beams, and an excellent half tilled bathroom with a perhaps optimistic bath (think of it more as a semi-enclosed wet room within the bathroom). The room had a bit of wear and tear; windows wouldn't close fully, the semi-wet room needed a good scrub, most of the TV channels were missing and the lovely big open windows meant I got eaten alive by mozzies but these are to be expected or certainly for the mozzies; aspects the hotel would have limited control over. There was an odd moment: I don't get abroad much and that moment when the hotel porter lurked in anticipation of a tip confused the bejebus out of me :-) Oh and handing over your passports to the reception when you arrive, apparently that's very normal practice but the thought of not having my passport under my control even for 10 minutes was VERY odd!
Without exception though all the staff were very helpful and very patient when asked the strangest of questions (What is Italian for deodorant anyway?).
The breakfast was a very good mix of continental and fry up - croissants, brioche rolls, speck ham, regular ham, two cheeses, several cereals with milk or yogurts (plain of raspberry), lots of fresh fruit, lots of teas available and if you look carefully, bacon and scrambled egg under the chrome canopy.
The design of the hotel is excellent, just go for a wander and look at some of the attention to detail around the building and if you want a proper relax: up to the third floor, up the metal stairs and on to the roof top balcony for views above the Dorsoduro.
Location wise? From the front door of the hotel, head right for the Zaterre ACTV bus stop and Alilaguna stop (Blu route from the airport), head immediately left for the Accademia bridge and a short walk to San Marco (or just get the water bus from the Accademia stop), AND head left, up the small road adjacent to the hotel and keep left for the Gelato Squaro (AMAZING Gelato) and the Cantini (sp?) both are very popular with the locals and therefore cheap and excellent, then cross the bridge into the Dorsoduro to reach Casa Da Nobili, Bitta and a variety of excellent restaurants. Oh and the Peggy Guggenheim collection is less then five minutes away whilst the Accademia gallery is about 30 seconds away.
So in all a VERY excellent hotel with excellent staff in a location the other hotels can only wish for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serandreica'pisani, Owner at Ca' Pisani Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
dear Halonic,
thank you very much for your nice review. we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again, sooner or later.
I took into deep consideration your comments, and asked the housekeeper to check what you pointed out regarding the handles, the bath and the TV channels. we do have a maintenance person every day on premises, but sometimes it is not easy to realise about small details, unless the guests point them out for you. we are going to close for some restoration works in january and of course the aerial guy will come and set the programs. at the same time the carpenter will check all the handles. as for the bath tub of course I took good note, and we checked immediately.
as for the porter, I already talked to the person who was on duty: it is usual in Italy to tip the porter on arrival and deaprture, but this is not compulsory, so I already talked to the person who came with you to your room, as long as I understand from your review. sorry for this.
last, but not least, out of your curiosity, 'deodorant' in Italian is 'deodorante', and the words you wrote are slightly different: 'Squero', 'Cantina' (da Schiavi) and 'Casin dei Nobili'.
thank you a lot again, and all the best, then,
marianna serandrei
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three days a few weeks ago and LOVED this hotel. Close to everything yet in a quiet, charming location. The rooms were very well designed, bathtub a dream... Breakfast was great. The concierge service at front desk was especially friendly and informative. Great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ca' Pisani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pisani Hotel

Address: Dorsoduro 979/a, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ca' Pisani Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Pisani, the first design hotel in town, opened in December 2000 after almost 3 years of restoration works. it is a stone's throw from the Grand Canal and the Guggenheim collection, and is located in an original late 16th century building. inside, art deco atmosphere and modern comfort, including free wi-fi connection. Family owned and run by a Venetian family whose members have been hoteliers since 1908. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ca' Pisani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Pisani Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ca' Pisani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.