We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #103 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel and it was perfect! Elegant rooms, a nice American bar, and a decent buffet breakfast are just a few of the good points, there are many more.
It is just 50 metres walk from the Santa Maria del Giglio stop so is very convenient and everything is within walking distance, all the attractions, restaurants and shops. A marvellous hotel in the heart of Venice

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking a canal but all views of Venice are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    500
    116
    31
    20
See reviews for
180
635
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Ala last week - terrible experience. I now noticed a review saying how awful Room 466 was - the reply from the hotel was an apology and a promise they would remodel the room. We had 466 last week - why are they still putting people there is my question. First the air conditioning was more like heat - I have stayed in Venice several times and I understand the AC is not like in the US but still, it was hot and awful. The room smells musty and dirty, wallpaper torn and seemed dank, dark and dirty. For the amount of $$ I paid it was so disappointing - please don't write me and say sorry and you'll remodel - a partial refund would be the only compence for our uncomfortable stay. I must say one thing which is the front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful - others have said they weren't but I found them very gracious. I would not recommend people stay here, I have a feeling 466 is not the only room in such poor, outdated condition.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast< Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

In the middle of 3 nights in Hotel Ala, ideally located as its a minute walk from Giglio stop on the vaporetto from the airport..so really easy to get to. We got room 491 which is a quaint 4th floor room overlooking the quiet square below, it is tiny but has a great shower and a huge double bed plus the stunning view out of the window. Loved the roof terrace for it's views and the ground floor bar opened in the evenings for its cocktails. Would not hesitate in re booking the quietly located, ideally located Hotel Ala. Plus there's free WiFi and it's even strong on the 4th floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I thought this hotel would be easy to find since it was near a major dock, but was I surprised when our water taxi from the airport entered a side canal and took us right to the front (back) door. Hotel staff opened the door and took our bags into the lobby. After enduring three flights and a storm delay, this was really special. Breakfast didn't disappoint. Lots of food to start a day of sightseeing. The room provided everything we needed. Although the Venetian chandelier and painting of cupids on the wall were not what I crave in a hotel, it just confirmed that we were in Venice. Sleeping with the windows open enticed a few mosquitoes in for a meal. Also, there was that occasional late night party-er that disturbed the peace. Sleep with the windows closed if these things are annoying. The air conditioner worked well. Overall it was very peaceful. Gondoliers and their music made their way beneath our canal side window from 10 in the morning to 10 at night. Another reminder that we were in Venice.

The hotel is in a great location on the main thoroughfare between St. Mark's and Academia. It's also a short walk to the Rialto Bridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor away from the plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A little hard to find if you are not familiar with Venice. Ask for directions to the Giglio and it's right next door. Perfect location for Interpreti Veneziana and Musica A Palazzo (both a must). Very nice staff, clean room, and beautiful rooftop terrace!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Glad to hear about your nice stay with us
andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Pros: 1 excellent location. Right beside vaporetta stop & short walk to St marks square.
2. Bar staff are friendly & bar is nice
Cons; 1:staff at breakfast are rude & unhelpful
2. Room 466 was a disgrace. It smelt really musty. We hated coming home in the evening to be hit by the damp, musty smell. The wall paper is peeling off the walls in certain sections. There were black marks on the wall that looked like squashed Mosquitos , I'm not joking! The room was tiny.
We read reviews before booking and all looked so positive. I can't understand how when our room was so poor. Perhaps we got the worst one. The room needs a serious revamp & deep clean! Just make sure you don't get room 466 & enjoy Venice, it's a beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
WE are sorry for what occurred during your stay and will redecorate the room as soon as possible.
Thanks for saying
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A quiet hotel near to St Mark's square, efficiently run, but with only one towel per day. From the room you could hear the sound of people talling etx below, and the sound was funelled up between the building, so was a constant reminder od the time that Ventian people and tourists were awake. No view from the room other than for a passage way below, and a small canal with bridge. No restaurant, except for breakfast, but with a bar and separate restaurant a few yards away. In all, reasonable value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest, we always try to improve quality of our service and will keep in mind on occasion of next redocaration.

regards
andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Address: San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, now 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.