We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short stay. Well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #103 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Reigate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for a short stay. Well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The key thing about the Ala is its location which is great as is close to St Mark's and the Accademia area and crucially, Giglio waterbus station from where you can get the transfer to the airport. The staff were efficient and friendly and had good knowledge of the area. Air conditioning in our room and the hotel was such a lifesaver as Venice was baking hot during our stay. The breakfast was good I thought, although the breakfast area a little cramped for the number of guests in the hotel at the time. What was irritating was that when things like milk and juice ran out the staff had to be asked to replace stuff and did not keep an eye such things. We stayed only the 3 nights and one of considerations when choosing the Ala was interconnecting rooms as we have two young daughters. They were able to meet this requirement with both rooms of a decent size amd standard. Overall I think this hotel is great for a short stay but if we were planning a longer trip I would definitely splash out for a hotel with a pool because Venice is so hot.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    500
    116
    31
    20
See reviews for
180
635
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The location and the breakfasts are both excellent. However, the room we stayed in during our visit was way too hot and the air conditioning was inadequate.We did complain but there was told there nothing that could be done. For the rate we paid, we expected to have a comfortable stay. Instead, we were hot and sweaty during the night, and I would not go back to this hotel. Additionally, the room included "free Internet." You have to ask the front desk for a code that is only good for 24 hours, and since we were three people, we needed three codes every 24 hours. The front desk implied that we should pay extra in the form of a tip, which made me feel uncomfortable since the rate we agreed to included free Internet service. They do over a "free" boat ride to the Murano Glass Factory but we were told by others not to go since the demo takes only a few minutes and the reminder of the time you are on the island you get pitched to make a purchase much like the time share pitches hotels give.

Room Tip: We were in room 466, which is the top floor. The air conditioning was very poor, which is the reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Venice is expensive and you don't get much accommodation for your money so if you are on a budget then this three star hotel is ok. You will chose it for its location not too far to walk to the main squares and it is nice being on the canal. The wifi is a bit weak and your breakfast is basic but for a couple of nights it's ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile and informed that we had been upgraded due to it being our anniversary. Their staff helped us move our luggage to what can only be described as a stunning Venician-style apartment, which was located off-site. The breakfast staff were very friendly and the food selection was excellent. We used the bar at the hotel and can honestly say it was the best wine I have ever tasted. This hotel is literally steps from the Grand Canal and easily accessible. It is about a 2 minute walk to Museo Correr and onto St Marks Square and Basillica. Overall, a 5 star vacation for a 3 star budget. Excellent, would definitely stay here again and can recommend as an exceptional hotel in terms of location, staff and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very clean, had a room with a window that overlooked the canal and was great seeing the gondolas going by, the singers and accordian players, great atmosphere. I heard the hotel was a palace built in the 1400's...seems that parts of it may be sinking, might notice it if you walk around the hotel some. We went in the Spring and didn't have problems with odor of the canal or mosquitos. We went on the free trip to a Murano glass factory and they give you a free ride there and back and we got to explore the island of Murano..was a little sales pitch but not too bad. The breakfast was nice, even though they seem to play the same songs every morning,(Africa from Toto) The location was excellent right on St.Mark's Square. Please know there is not a laundry mat close but they will wash your clothes, even though it is a little expensive, but everything in Venice is expensive. If I ever get back to Venice someday I would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great hotel, rooms on the canal, great staff, great breakfast, etc. No complaints.

If you go though, there can be mosquitos, and there can be the stink of the canal in hot weather but that is easily fixed by closing the window since the air conditioning is great.

Beware of the free boat trip to the glass factory. You cannot see any other part of Murano without paying for your own boat ride back from the island. So basically you are dropped off at a locked gate compound with high pressure salesmen and you can only see that one place if you want the free ride back. Does the hotel get a cut of the sales? We had friends who were charged 60 euros for some glass that was listed as 6 euros, and I don't know if this was a simple error or what, but something didn't seem right for sure. I found this out after we had left, otherwise I would have intervened (as tourists who did not speak the language they were afraid to say anything). I don't like dealing with businesses where this can happen, no matter whose error. And I don't like feeling trapped. It was like a timeshare presentation with glass.

Room Tip: Hotel highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent two lovely nights in Venice. The Hotel Ala has a great location, with ready access to the Grand Canal and many historic attractions. We loved wandering about the vicinity and benefitted greatly from the hotel's site. The hotel itself was just okay. The buffet was extremely basic and disappointing -- one expects more and better in Italy than a perfunctory cold buffet with a few eggs. The rooms -- which were very expensive -- were tiny. We had and paid for a room for three, but the space in the room was what you expect for a single. Even taking into account the realities for historic buildings in Venice, which is one truly remarkable place, we found the space so cramped that it actually detracted significantly from our enjoyment of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Address: San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, now 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.