We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #100 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this hotel on recommendation for its central location, reasonable price and good facilities. It did not disappoint. Our classic room, although small was definitely adequate and exceptionally clean, as was the bathroom. Our room looked out over the side of the hotel and we could see the little bridge over the canal. It was quiet and well placed for walking to all the sights, ie St Marks Square and was close to a vaporetto stop. Although not offering dinner there is a restaurant just near the front of the hotel and others just a short walk away. The breakfast is adequate and varied with the usual fruits, yohurts, meats and cheese, etc as well as scrambled egg and sausage all served buffet style until 10.45am.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful and only too happy to oblige with any request.
This was an all round good choice.

Room Tip: I understand some rooms do not have a window so be sure to check this out when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    479
    113
    30
    20
See reviews for
172
613
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great location and very near to St Marks Square. And it is very close to the Water Bus stop which was ideal for us as we had to get from the train station to the hotel with all our luggage. The journey took about 40 mins and was of course very picturesque. Much cheaper (7 euros each) than the water taxis and the gondalas. The hotel was fine. The rooms were ok and the breakfast was very extensive. Our view was of a brick wall but then we didn't spend much in the hotel itself. It was lovely just walking around and soaking up the atmosphere even though we got lost a couple of times! Feb is a good time to visit as it wasn't very busy so no queues for any of the sights. Was a peaceful place to stay as there were no cars.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is settled very close to a water taxi stop, just down the road. Also it is very closely located to the Guggenheim Museum and Gallerie Dell'Academia. All the people working at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Giving us advice on restaurants, attractions, and just general directions. Also we lost our luggage on our flight and they all worked hard to get our luggage back and we were so grateful. The hotel also gave us a free ride from the hotel to the Murano Glass factory and we go a tour, which was amazing and great. The bar in the hotel was really nice as well and was very busy with tourists, and an array of drinks. One of the nice side perks was that breakfast was included, and they pastries were very good! The hotel while a bit confusing to navigate, gave it a charm at the same time, and the decor was beautiful. The rooms were nice, and we had a nice view out the window. The only downside was in the bathroom often didn't have hot water. However the room size was the average size for a European hotel room. Overall really nice and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

And this hotel has many of them. Even on the last day of our stay we would take the wrong turning and end up lost!. However this is what you get with converted Palazzos becoming central Venetian hotels. It will be the same when Buckingham Palace becomes a Best Western in 2050. Viva la Revolutione, as Red Ken would say.
But what is rare here, is that the service is incredible. 5 star service for a 3 star hotel.
Everyone, and I mean all the staff were exceptional. From the porters, to the main reception team, right down to the guy running breakfast who let us take a tray and filled us up even when we were there after closing time. Thank you.
The hotel is very well positioned...close enough to St Marks Square to make it an easy walk there, but no so close you suffer the agoraphobia that it can induce when absolutely packed. Which it is. All the time. There is a vaporetto stop 1 minutes walk down an alley [Giglio] that makes it really easy to get around town. And if you feel like a wander, Rialto is only 15 minutes stroll away.
The room might have been small, but you don't go to Venice to lie in your hotel room do you?
So, I doff my tricorn hat to the Ala with a low bow. Fantastico.
J

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location (easy to walk everywhere and very near a vaparetto stop) and the breakfast was very good, but the room was not clean enough (hairs everywhere with tons on an obviously not washed blanket). Also, there was no actual shower stall, just a drain on the floor and a curtain hanging. There was no ledge to stop water from covering the entire bathroom floor and the bathroom was so small it was impossible to use the toilet without the shower curtain on your legs...especially annoying and disgusting once wet. The pliiows were very hard and the thin walls made for a noisy morning. Also, the hotel keeps all of the room keys in slots directly behind the reception desk, in full view of anyone. They asked for no identification whatsoever, so anyone could have just walked into the hotel, looked at which slots had keys in them and walked right into someone's room. I won't be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after our Med Cruise on Ruby Princess. It was nice and close to St Marks Square and we were able to walk everywhere. Room was spacious and we got an excellent nights sleep. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful in every way. We would not hesitate to stay there again when we are in Venice again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last July, my husband and I took our first trip to Italy together. At age 50, we wanted something both economical and comfortable. We had heard that air conditioning is really important in Italy so I combed the TripAdvisor reviews for a place that reported good air conditioning. Little did I expect that the Hotel Ala would be beautiful, well-located and have the best breakfast ever as well. The staff was incredibly professional and upgraded us to a larger room with a marble bathroom (spa tub). The bed was very comfortable and room was gorgeous. Highest recommendations!

Room Tip: pay up just a little bit and it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Address: San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#87 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, now 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.