We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ala..it means "Wing"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ala to your Saves list
Hotel Ala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala) (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Ala..it means "Wing"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

And this hotel has many of them. Even on the last day of our stay we would take the wrong turning and end up lost!. However this is what you get with converted Palazzos becoming central Venetian hotels. It will be the same when Buckingham Palace becomes a Best Western in 2050. Viva la Revolutione, as Red Ken would say.
But what is rare here, is that the service is incredible. 5 star service for a 3 star hotel.
Everyone, and I mean all the staff were exceptional. From the porters, to the main reception team, right down to the guy running breakfast who let us take a tray and filled us up even when we were there after closing time. Thank you.
The hotel is very well positioned...close enough to St Marks Square to make it an easy walk there, but no so close you suffer the agoraphobia that it can induce when absolutely packed. Which it is. All the time. There is a vaporetto stop 1 minutes walk down an alley [Giglio] that makes it really easy to get around town. And if you feel like a wander, Rialto is only 15 minutes stroll away.
The room might have been small, but you don't go to Venice to lie in your hotel room do you?
So, I doff my tricorn hat to the Ala with a low bow. Fantastico.
J

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nivelles, Belgium
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location (easy to walk everywhere and very near a vaparetto stop) and the breakfast was very good, but the room was not clean enough (hairs everywhere with tons on an obviously not washed blanket). Also, there was no actual shower stall, just a drain on the floor and a curtain hanging. There was no ledge to stop water from covering the entire bathroom floor and the bathroom was so small it was impossible to use the toilet without the shower curtain on your legs...especially annoying and disgusting once wet. The pliiows were very hard and the thin walls made for a noisy morning. Also, the hotel keeps all of the room keys in slots directly behind the reception desk, in full view of anyone. They asked for no identification whatsoever, so anyone could have just walked into the hotel, looked at which slots had keys in them and walked right into someone's room. I won't be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dcm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here after our Med Cruise on Ruby Princess. It was nice and close to St Marks Square and we were able to walk everywhere. Room was spacious and we got an excellent nights sleep. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful in every way. We would not hesitate to stay there again when we are in Venice again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank harves47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last July, my husband and I took our first trip to Italy together. At age 50, we wanted something both economical and comfortable. We had heard that air conditioning is really important in Italy so I combed the TripAdvisor reviews for a place that reported good air conditioning. Little did I expect that the Hotel Ala would be beautiful, well-located and have the best breakfast ever as well. The staff was incredibly professional and upgraded us to a larger room with a marble bathroom (spa tub). The bed was very comfortable and room was gorgeous. Highest recommendations!

Room Tip: pay up just a little bit and it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Upon arriving in Venice after flying all night, we were greeted by a friendly and accomodating staff. The location was minutes away from San Marco Square and was within easy walking distance of the Valporetto Stop and rest of the City. The breakfasts were great and all 9 of us were very pleased. Although the rooms are not large, they were clean and the baths were renovated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBoca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
432 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

the hotel is very nice and is located close to San Marco. Getting luggage to the hotel was quite challenging as you have to go up & down stairs to cross canals to get to the hotel. I had a room that faced a canal which was used for a gondola route which i really liked watching the gondolas go past the window. The room itself is beautiful but there are no elevators so you must carry your own luggage up hte stairs to your room. The breakfast was good, coffee juice,pastries, cereal fruit... The wifi works but if you leave the hotel with your phone you must re enter the code when you get back. You have to change the code every 24 hours. The hotel staff were kind and helpful. The bar is extremely expensive 12 euro for a rum & coke. you only get one key for the room and if you leave with the key it turns off the electricity. I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World-wander-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#47 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
San Marco
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
BEST WESTERN Montecarlo
#92 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 994 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
BEST WESTERN Hotel Olimpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#46 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#8 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 2,917 reviews
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ala

Address: San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala)
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#83 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing