We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Adults” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Offers for every need
Ranked #102 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Choice for Adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Did the pensione thing in my 20's. Hotel Ala is perfect if you want the feel of Venice without working too hard. Room on a canal with music floating by. Lovely church bells. Great location. Amazing breakfast. Very comfortable room. Bath Italian small, but no water from shower pouring into the room. Staff a little "Venician" stuff. Rae at bar is wonderful. Smart, funny, better wine than in the restaurants and at a better price. Very pleased. WiFi and computer access.

Room Tip: #427. View of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    569
    134
    36
    21
See reviews for
210
749
46
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had noted this hotel on another Venice trip year's ago. Because of it's very convenient location to St. Mark's Sq and the vaporetto stop St. Maria Giglio, I made a mental note to think about booking the next time in Venice. Well, that next time was early Sept 2012. I was surprised there was no elevator--so I had to haul my 2 suitcases up a flight of stairs. The room looked serviceable, but there turned out to be some major flaws:
1) The beds and pillows are foam. With all the up & down walking over the bridges of Venice, a good matress is essential for the back. Asprin came in handy for relieving that middle-of-the night back ache.
2) In my room, the medicine chest was placed directly in front of the loo in this very narrow bathroom. Can you picture what happened? I hit my head. The cut was deep and small, at my hair line. I did not complain at the time, since I found the front desk staff to be fairly disengaged.
3) The inroom hair dryer barely had heat or blowing power. I asked the front desk if they had any loaners and they said, "no, they were concerned about electrical safety."

I was traveling solo as a woman on this trip, so I would end my night at the bar attached to the hotel. That was lovely. Friendly service. Relaxing. Good wifi. A great way to download after a day of walking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect location, only a short walk from water taxi drop-off. A 10 min walk, to San Marco Square with many sidewalk cafes and shops along the way. Our room was on the canal and we enjoyed the evening parade of gondolas and being serenaded by the vocalists. Comfortable beds and lovely linens. Modernized bathrooms equipped with hairdryers. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Housekeeping did a very nice job. The front desk will arrange your return water taxi service to the airport. We will definitely return to Hotel Ala.

Room Tip: One section of the hotel was equipped with an elevator... We wish we had known that prior to arrival...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Picked this hotel for its location, and ratings, however the rooms we got let it down. Asked for triples and got a small dark and dingy double with a small sofa bed, not very comfortable for my 17 year old son! Also requested for rooms with views and got rooms facing a massive building in a very dark and busy alley way, you could not even see daylight. The ally is very busy, in the morning it is used by locals to reach the near by vaporetto stop and hotel staff have the service entrance so you can imagine how many people and doors slams you can hear in the early hours of the morning! Shame cause there is no car noise in Venice but this spoilt it!

Room Tip: Reject rooms facing the alley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel has the best of both worlds: modern amenities coupled with the granduer of Venice's august past. It is clean, comfortable, and has some rooms with access to canals--there is nothing better than hearing a gondola singer and getting to watch the boat go by. The staff is highly professional yet friendly and helpful. The location is great--just a short walk to Saint Mark's square, with lots of shops and lunch spots along the way. The included breakfast was more than ample and nicely served. The "American" bar on the first floor made for some very comfortable and enjoyable evenings. Venice is a magical place, and the Hotel Ala has everything the modern travelor could want or need for a simply wonderful stay in Venice.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a canal view. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A five night break in October. Hotel Ala provided everything we wanted - friendly, courteous and helpful staff, room cleaned every time we left it, excellent breakfast with good service and a great location which was easy to find with vaperetto linea 1 almost on the doorstep.
We had a room overlooking the canal and were frequently serenaded by passing gondoliers. The Hotel was very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast staff seemed surprised when we said good morning and thank you - come on visitors - speak to people as you go it makes everyone's experience more enjoyable - even yours.
A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed in the2008 and had no hesitation in booking for our return trip. Perfect location, quaint rooms (I like the fact it is an adventure to get to them) and have always found the staff on the front desk to be helpful and extremely patient at our poor attempts at Italian. Great bar downstairs too.

Room Tip: Cross your fingers for a room with view of side canal and be serenaded by the gondoliers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Address: San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#92 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Complimentary American Buffet breakfast. 100% SMOKE-FREE Hotel. Free Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.