We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30%
Ranked #103 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and truly had a memorable and wonderful time. Our room was on the canal side which I would highly recommend. The breakfast was excellent with a wide range to choose from - definitely the best out of the 3 hotels we stayed in. The hotel is located very close to all sights and couldn't have been better. We used the vaporettas a lot (the Giglio stop is right beside the hotel). Even used the vaporetta when we arrived in Venice after a 9-hour overnite flight from Toronto - it was was efficient and dropped us right by the hotel (we had 4-day passes which we bought on line - something like 23 Euros each).

Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, Customer care at BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guests, thanks for time spent to leave your impressions through this big travellers community as Tripadvisor is.
Happy you enjoyed our wonderful city and hope to welcome you in Venice, once again.
Silvia - Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    499
    116
    30
    20
See reviews for
178
633
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Ala for 2 nights in September. The hotel was clean and our room and bathroom were decently sized. For travelers arriving from the Venice airport, I would strongly suggest a water taxi ride to the hotel over the public transportation service, Alilaguna. While more expensive, the water taxi drops you off right at the hotel's front door. You literally step off of the boat and into the hotel. The Alilaguna is slow, crowded, and makes multiple stops before arriving at the stop closest to the hotel located near St. Mark's square. This small splurge is well worth it, as my husband and I spent a frustrating hour on the Alilaguna before jumping off early and securing a water taxi for the rest of the journey to the hotel. If you have problems with motion sickness, you will not enjoy an Alilaguna ride.

Our room overlooked the canal, and it was enjoyable to hear the gondoliers singing as they rowed past. The room also had the added charm of a nice glass chandelier, which I assume was locally made. Hotel Ala is near many sites and restaurants, and it was nice to have a bar on-site for an after-dinner drink. The bartenders were very friendly and provided excellent service. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ala and wouldn't hesitate to re-book on a future trip.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALA2494, customer care at BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Buongiorno Dear Guests,
We deeply thank you for all your kind words: we'll share your comments with all other Guys at Ala.
Your point of view is very important to us: we are trying growing professionally day by day to better understand Guests needs.
Hoping to welcome you once again in Venice,
Silvia, Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Predazzo, Veneto, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I had a single room, which reminded me of an interior ship cabin but with a window. At first I was dismayed with its size, but it was actually quite comfortable and efficient. Window opened to the courtyard which I loved.

Front desk staff was wonderful to me. Breakfast was I impressive. Many choices, but average in taste. Buffet serving space is small with the number of guests here.

I walked all over the city from here, and it was great. Loved the location and it was easy to find after my wanderings.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

First, we were able to take the water taxi right up to the hotel- which was great so we didn't have to drag luggage around at all. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms were spacious for Europe. Our room overlooked the courtyard- which we really enjoyed, The concierges were very helpful and friendly. We were about a 10-minute walk from San Marco Square- so we would stroll there at night for the beautiful views. There were dozens of places to eat and small shops right around the hotel- which made everything convenient- and the Vaporetto stop was right alongside the hotel as well. All in all- I'd highly recommend Hotel Ala for your stay in Venice.

Room Tip: If you can- try for a room on 1st floor near the steps- easy access for going in and out. And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Beautiful room, clean. Breakfast was very good. The staff not too nice, but it dindn't make a difference. Not Internet. It was quite, we got the attic with cute windows on the roof . It has a litlle terrace on the roof with a nice view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Venice Hotel was nice, we had a canal view. Breakfast was excellent. Room was clean and comfortable. My only complaint was the front desk staff. They were simply horrible and for just stupid little stuff. For example, we booked through Priceline, which included internet. We had to show them the paper that internet was included. I had to ask for a new pass code daily and of course we were still charged for internet. I will say again that the hotel is very nice, but the front desk staff is just simply rude. I'm sure that they get tired of tourist, but Venice needs tourism to survive. We noticed that they treated most of the guest about the same… kind of #$@#$. My suggestion is to find another line of work if you don’t like want you are doing.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seixal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went for a 4 day holyday in Venice and we booked this hotel quite ahead (5 months ahed!). That way we got a nice price attending to prices in San Marco. However, we have been given an awful room (not even 1 star worthy...) with a window facing a wall of another building and therefore with a very bad smell, because air wouldn't circulate. We paid 200 euros per night, I'm sure for the price we could get a bettewr room! Even if it is a standard room!
The hotel is very cozy and very well located, near San Mark's square, Rialto bridge... you can walk practically everywhere. It has also a private Pier where you can catch the vaporetto or the water taxi to the airport. Breakfast is also great, with a wide variety of bread, cheese, pies, fruit... everything tasty.
Staff in reception are a bit snobish!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala

Address: San Marco 2494 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old noble home, now 3 Stars Superior Hotel, in the real heart of Venice, just few steps from St. Mark's Square, easily reachable by public service line 1 (dock S. Maria del Giglio at 50 meters) and direct access for taxi-boat and gondolas. Tarnowska's American Bar with wine/cheese tasting. Wi-Fi connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Hotel Venice
Best Western Venice
Hotel Ala Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Ala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.