We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic Colzone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Marco Polo

Ristorante Marco Polo
Via Forte Marghera 67 | mestre, 30173 Venice, Italy (Formerly I 3 G)
+39 041 989855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 1,198 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
bournemouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic Colzone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Lovely little restaurant. Close to St Marks square but not too expensive. No service charge. Cover charge of 2 euros.
Fantastic pizza and great atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and a cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stumbled upon this place and were pleasently surprised by the food. Simple, as with most authentic italian resturants, but good. We particularly enjoyed the ham with brushetta, lasagna and the spaghett pomodoro. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Not far from San Marco Sq. We ate there 3 times in early January. The food, service and menu are excellent. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for - with 2 members of my family with coeliac disease they were very particular . Every mouthful is delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestpm
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Found this gem through trip advisor. Authentic Italian food and clearly somewhere the locals go ... always a good sign! Not cheap (about €120 for two inc. wine), but what do you expect with this level of service. Wish we had stayed longer and had the chance to go again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“expensive, but great food if you listen to your waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

you will find that meals in Venice are expensive, especially in the San Marco neighborhood. So if you are going pay 100 euros or more for dinner, you should expect to have really good food and wine. Marco Polo is located about 100 yards from the Rialto Bridge and you will need to negotiate a couple of turns before you reach the main walking street of San Lio. Marco Polo is inviting and friendly and is decorated with B&W photos of movie stars on the walls beneath the chesnut beams. You can watch the seemingly endless stream of people walking by from the comfortable interior

We visited Marco Polo on our first night in Venice after a traveling on long flights from America. When i tried to order some pasta with clams, our waitress told us 'tonight the grilled mixed seasood are fresh" and when I wanted to order a branzino she offered "the baked flatfish is a better choice tonight" . When i wanted to order some house wine, she replied 'we don't have a house wine. try the Pinot Grigio, i think it is the best in italy ". You know, she was correct on all counts.

The grilled seafood was briny and fresh. I particularly enjoyed the 'cappe lungi' which are a small local mollusk which looks like a minature version of a razor clam. The flatfish was simply outstanding with the most delicious and crispy skin. And she was also right about the wine.

A great choice if you are in the San Marco neighborhood, but don't expect low prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Marco Polo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Mestre, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Marco Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.