We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Marco Polo

Ristorante Marco Polo
Via Forte Marghera 67 | mestre, 30173 Venice, Italy (Formerly I 3 G)
+39 041 989855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 1,209 restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Not far from San Marco Sq. We ate there 3 times in early January. The food, service and menu are excellent. Not cheap, but you get what you pay for - with 2 members of my family with coeliac disease they were very particular . Every mouthful is delicious!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    39
    32
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
prestpm
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Found this gem through trip advisor. Authentic Italian food and clearly somewhere the locals go ... always a good sign! Not cheap (about €120 for two inc. wine), but what do you expect with this level of service. Wish we had stayed longer and had the chance to go again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“expensive, but great food if you listen to your waitress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

you will find that meals in Venice are expensive, especially in the San Marco neighborhood. So if you are going pay 100 euros or more for dinner, you should expect to have really good food and wine. Marco Polo is located about 100 yards from the Rialto Bridge and you will need to negotiate a couple of turns before you reach the main walking street of San Lio. Marco Polo is inviting and friendly and is decorated with B&W photos of movie stars on the walls beneath the chesnut beams. You can watch the seemingly endless stream of people walking by from the comfortable interior

We visited Marco Polo on our first night in Venice after a traveling on long flights from America. When i tried to order some pasta with clams, our waitress told us 'tonight the grilled mixed seasood are fresh" and when I wanted to order a branzino she offered "the baked flatfish is a better choice tonight" . When i wanted to order some house wine, she replied 'we don't have a house wine. try the Pinot Grigio, i think it is the best in italy ". You know, she was correct on all counts.

The grilled seafood was briny and fresh. I particularly enjoyed the 'cappe lungi' which are a small local mollusk which looks like a minature version of a razor clam. The flatfish was simply outstanding with the most delicious and crispy skin. And she was also right about the wine.

A great choice if you are in the San Marco neighborhood, but don't expect low prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food we had in Venice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Me and my friends were so disappointed with the Venice restaurants and the harassing waiters at their doors that when we reluctantly went to try yet another restaurant were pleasantly surprised at the friendly staff, excellent food and service we enjoyed at Marco Polo. We ordered papardelle with porcini mushrooms, and homemade pasta stuffed with asparragus and shrimp with a simple but delicious sauce. I enjoyed that pasta so much, I was sorry when I had finished it. The waiter gave us a complimentary appetizer of toast with a wonderful vegetable spread. The wine selection and recommendations were good as well. We felt like we had finally had good, authentic Italian food instead of the touristy food they pass for Italian in most of the restaurants in Venice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a lovely find in Venezia Mestre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

We bought a groupon before our visit from Canada, and this restaurant treated us like Royalty! The food was delicious - all paired with wines, the service was excellent, and the chef even came out to meet us. Bueno!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Marco Polo also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Marco Polo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.