We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass shower door with no lock” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Venice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Venice to your Saves list
Generator Venice
Via Fondamenta delle Zitelle 86, 30133 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Venice, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glass shower door with no lock”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The Generator hostel is modern and clean but it lacks character and is not conducive to creating an atmospher to met people. Everyone just stays in their little corner. Don't order food it's terrible. But my biggest problem was the showers. There was one bathroom that has 2 showers and 2 toilets but the showers have glass doors and there is no lock to the hallway so anyone can come in and see you showering in all your glory. Not a fan at all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Generator Venice, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Daniella

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your stay with us. Your feedback is our best tool to understand where we are meeting the expectations and where we should be improve and concentrate in order to keep the standards high.

We, at Generator Venice, believe that the social factor is the essence of our hostel and the ground floor area is designed to encourage the travellers to meet each other, share stories and make new friends.
We are disappointed that we have not met your expectations, but let me reassure you that all your comments have been taken on board and will have a follow up with the team.

Let me have the opportunity to thank you on behalf of the housekeeping team, but mostly to ask you to get in touch with me on keti.camillo@generatorhostels.com so that I will have the opportunity to understand the comment on the food.

Warm regards

Keti Camillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    108
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
9
31
98
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at the Generator hostel in Venice for 2 nights and I loved it! The rooms were very clean, the beds were super comfy, and the main floor/common room itself was awesome -- fully equipped with a bar, pool table, photo booth, tv & couches and wifi. I originally booked a bed in a 14-bed female only dorm, however when I arrived I was moved to a 10-bed female only dorm for no extra cost, due to a large school group that had booked their stay at the hostel, and the staff (assuming the group would be loud when put all together) booked them in separate rooms to accommodate their other guests, which I really appreciated. I will admit that the breakfast wasn't great and it's an extra €3.50, so if you skip out on it, you aren't missing anything. Many of the reviews I read prior to my booking stated that, because the hostel is located on Guidecca island, it was a hassle to get to and from the centre of Venice, however I personally enjoyed the boat rides from Guidecca as you got to see the less-touristy parts of the city, plus it was a much quieter area. It was a quick 10 minute boat ride to Piazza San Marco, though it didn't seem that long because there was always so much to see! I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling alone or with friends and I would definitely return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This hostel is SO modern & funky. The lobby & lounge area is insane. There is breakfast but you have to pay so be aware. There is also a cafe & bar here. Rooms are modern too, good beds & bedding. Bathrooms funky. Need need another clean in the afternoon. Location good, not far to walk from the little boat. Staff were a bit hit & miss. Occasionally rude. There were laundry facilities too. A heads up the lockers are noisy in the bedrooms

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Ive been europe for 3 monthes, stayed in berlin, paris, ansterdam and florence and rome! For me, generator must be one of the best hostel in europe! Clean, new, easytofind location, plus wonderful atomosphere and service! I would say i might not choose other place to stay if i come back to venice! I love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Asked to speak with general manager regarding a lost wallet, spoke to an Operations Manager - was the only slightly helpful person but said the rules were rigid & that I had to wait speak to nobody landed up helping in any way after waiting for hours. No contact details were taken. Also the staff were generally disinterested in speaking /generally helping other guests too - my friend thought the same.

FYI... Another hostel here helped me within minutes & sorted me in an hour. I had to go to another place for help... shame. Definitely needs huge improvement! The best things in life are free... So also a genuine feeling of wanting to help & give advice.

Disappointing Generator, your rooms/facilities are ok but service & details let you down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very clean and good looking rooms and bathrooms, cool atmosphere in the pub/common area with nice music and cool parties (ie. Halloween). Each bed has seperate light and electrical socket, rooms accesable by magnetic cards. Guideca island is a peaceful and deluded place in comparison to the main island, nevertheless it's nice to not see any crowds for a change after the whole day. About 5 minutes west there's a really nice restaurant with great pizza in the right price. The only problem may be you need to take the water tram to get there and there are only 7 euro tickets (contains one piece of luggage and valid for 1 hour) or 18 euro ones for 12 hours or 1 day tickets. Still, it's just one stop from St. Mark's square with all the museums and shopping area or you can take the water tram from Ferrovia stop - St. Lucia train station. Be careful with water tram lines because some go clockwise and one goes counterclockwise.

Room Tip: On the 3rd floor you can practically here no music from the pub/common area, even during party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Really good location, staff superfriendly ( a special thanks to Alberto), amazing view on San Marco from our room, clean and in case they can offer a meal!
Giudecca Island is really quite and easy for restaurant.
A great location also for a family like us!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Venice

Address: Via Fondamenta delle Zitelle 86, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro , Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator VeniceSo you fancy a date with a suave Venetian? well you’ve come to the right place. I’ll make you feel right at home in this floating city of bridges and canals. I open my doors in June to the great and the good, so make sure you navigate your way here soon my little friend. I’m about to show hostels in Venice what a Renaissance really is. See you on my little Island of Giudecca, close enough to see it all happen, far enough to avoid the crowds. Just the way I like it. I am Generator hostel in Venice and I am much, much, much more than a hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Generator Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostello Venezia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Venice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.