We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cell in Venice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marconi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marconi to your Saves list
Hotel Marconi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Polo 729 | Fondamenta del Vin, 30125 Venice, Italy (San Polo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A cell in Venice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I visited Venice for the first time for the Venice Bienalle. I understood prices would be higher during this time period but I still expected a modicum of value for money. I paid >400 euros a night for a tiny room with no light (a small high closed off window), a single bed, terrible breakfast (congealed eggs day after day and hard apples and oranges when there were fresh berries in the market), unreliable internet access and surly staff.

The location is wonderful. The female staff were kind and tried their best. The male front desk staff were most unhelpful, particularly the fellow who works the night shift who never smiles and has very poor people skills. A big problem was that the internet would go down repeatedly when one was trying to compose a message and so I had to have the staff's help. I was made to feel like I was bothering them. This is a service industry and the front-line staff need education on how to make customers feel comfortable. This hotel was probably one of my worst experiences in over 30 years of traveling the world. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    152
    67
    23
    46
See reviews for
100
131
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

i read another review of this hotel warning that they switch you to a different hotel without your permission, unfortuneately i read that too late, as that exactly what happened to us, we wanted a hotel on the grand canal and ended up on a very small back alley canal. they did absolutely nothing for us other than take us by water taxi to the new hotel, which when we looked it up online was priced about half of what we paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Venice was the first stop of our 2 week Italy experience.We traveled with another couple.

We booked Hotel Marconi after my traveling companion had read about it in a local magazine.Our cost in Cdn $ 581.00 2 nights.

I was spooked somewhat after reading reviews on TA about the bait & switch some guests experienced at Marconi.Since I have had this happen to me once before and I know it is not a pleasant surprise after flying all night .However this was not the case with us !

First location PERFECT ...steps from the Rialto Bridge. Gondeliers right outside the door.
Yes the hotel is dated I had expected this.Our room was 501 only one other room beside ,steps from the breakfast room . You actually had to walk up and then down through the Breakfast room to get to our room.It is on the ground floor as it faced a busy alley . Beds hard room was adequate, rooms very clean.We arrived Saturday so yes there was some noise but you are not in a Villa in Tuscany you are in the heart of Venice ENJOY !!!!

I think Marconi rates high on their breakfast always found something to satisfy...The stewed plums were yummy also the blood oranges very juicy.

Staff pleasant .

Our stay went off without a hitch so if you have read some bad reviews as I had ....everyone has a different experience ..some good some not !!

Room Tip: Room 501 off by itself probably 502 I am guessing is beside it..only 2 on that level !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located, Massimo the manager goes out of his way to please. The morning breakfast is great. Although selfservice ,the elderly lady and the young Phillipino man in attendance are always on call to serve and assist!
Unfotunately being an old hotel things do go wrong! on the 1st night the main geysor burst no hot water for 18 hours because it happened on a public holiday! Although room was big in size ,very dark as it faced a ally, aircon was not switched on as apparently only works in full summer. Rather pricey compared to other hotels in Italy but Venezia is expensive! Will most probably revisit this hotel on our next Trip but will request a better room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Good location. The hotel is functional, however if you get a room on the side, the noise at night is unbearable. The restaurant workers on the alley make a racket and your room ends up quite smelly. Aircon did not work much so it was a bit hot.

Pricey but this is Venice.

Room Tip: Avoid the side rooms facing the alley unless you are totally deaf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

These guys were rip-off kings when we stayed there. We were told that there were really only two nice rooms that faced the water, so we booked the hotel well in advance to reserve one of these rooms. That day, we called again to insure the room was indeed reserved for us. Well, lo and behold, we arrived to hear that the man in that room was sick and couldn't leave - we later saw him sitting out on his veranda having coffee with friends.

Then they arranged a trip to the glass blowing island of Murano, where they had friends give us a tour. These "friends" would not let us leave the facility until we purchased something. Only then did they let us leave.

I cannot say enough to steer you away from such a terrible place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located next to Rialto bridge amd the water boat transport service! The rooms were clean with daily room sercice and clean towels! The bathg and shower was warm and powerful! There was no inroom tea making service. The concierge spoke english amd were helpful. The breakfast was lovely! There is no wifi. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, esp given the fact you can have rooms for 3 or 4 guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marconi

Address: San Polo 729 | Fondamenta del Vin, 30125 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marconi 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marconi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marconi Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marconi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.