We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Canal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Canal to your Saves list
Locanda Canal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 4422/C | Fondamenta del Remedio, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 384 Hotels in Venice
China Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Loconda Canal in Venice for 3 nights. It's very close to St. Mark's. You can even get off at the St. Mark's water taxi dock and it's about a 10 minute walk. So many shops and restaurants close by. Right near the hotel you also see many gondolas going by. The hotel itself is pretty small with all rooms on the second floor. The dining room used for breakfast was right outside our room and 3 others were near by but they were very quiet setting up in the morning. The breakfast was what we've come to expect in Europe so was fine with us. Fruit, cereal, yogurt, boiled eggs, danish, meat, cheese, coffee, tea. The room we had was really a triple, but we did not need the extra bed. It was folded up and the room was rather spacious. We had free wi-fi, a safe, and a small refrigerator. The bathroom had a hair dryer, and was up to date, but our biggest concern was the size of the shower. It was reasonably new and had body sprays. Once inside the shower, you slid the two doors/walls to close yourself in. Then you hardly had room to move. My husband and I are not big people so we managed, but this could be a big problem for some. There was a toilet and bidet in the room. I know Europeans like to have a bidet, but I think in this case they should have eliminated it and made the shower bigger. Overall we liked staying there and would stay again. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Being close to the main sites meant we could go back and change or drop things off rather easily. We would stay again. Absolutely loved Venice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Riverside, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in March, which I believe is the off-season. In our opinions, the price per night was completely justified, but I recognize that they differ by time of year. The service was excellent. We arrived in Venice at 11:30 at night local time (which we called about ahead of time), and an employee was cheerfully waiting for us. We found the free breakfast to be both filling and varied enough that it didn't get old after 4 days. The bed was pretty hard, but at the end of the day that's a minor grievance. Lastly, the location is great. Just far enough away from San Marco to be quiet, but only a few minutes of walking to get there. Also, the location makes it easy to return for a mid-day siesta.

Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed in Venice for five days, and wanted to be close to St. Mark's, so we booked this hotel. First, let me say that it is extremely close to both St. Mark's and Rialto (5 min walk if you have a map). Rooms are nice and clean, even though the place looks a bit under the weather. The staff comes to clean when you're away, so your room will look spotless when you come back. The area is quiet (unexpectedly so) and has a lot of places to eat, but also shops and even a mini market. Rooms were heated enough (we went in february) to make the stay comfortable. Breakfast doesn't hold many options, but all was tasty, especially the croissant. Don't expect pool and sauna though, this is a small venetian hotel, and should be viewed as such.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Try to book room 107 as it is larger and has canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyloo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights, shower room very clean- bed was comfy and room was quite quirky and spacious.
On a nice little "street" with a canal running through- easy to get to from san marco/san zacharia.
Staff seemed nice- breakfast is very limited but good for price!
Free wifi too which is always good! Nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank she2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Starting off with the location, it is 5 minutes from San Marco's Square which is very convenient especially if you have to use the toilet as the public toilets cost 1.50euros! At first we had a hard time following the map to the hotel because it was evening and we took the long way! However, when you discover the short way, it is so easy! Its is also a nice short walk after a tiring day of exploring the city!

The reception is very small but the people there were very friendly, accommodating, helpful (booked us our tours!) and they speak good english.

Walking upstairs to the rooms, it was more like a big house turned hotel with a computer by the living room for those who does not have wifi-capable gadgets, and the breakfast room just past the living room. The bedrooms surround this area and you may hear clinging of utensils in the morning from your rooms!

The bedroom we got was a double bedroom with the view of the alley outside the window and a toilet & shower. The bed was ok, firm and has only 2 pillows. There were extra pillows inside the large wooden (antique-looking) cabinet but no extra pillow cases. There's a mini-ref with 2 bottles of water inside, with & without gas. Note: THIS IS NOT FREE!

The bathroom is nice, complete with little soaps, towels and a hairdryer. I also like the shower coz it looks like the one in spas, however, there is nowhere to place your toiletries... Either place it on the floor or on top of the shower head(which I cannot reach).

The breakfast is not that exciting but I guess enough to start your day. They have hard bolied eggs, cheese, cold cut, cereals, croissants and sliced bread. You will also be served coffee or tea. What's nice about it is that its just outside your bedroom... It's homey.

Overall, I recommend this hotel for the location and comfort. It's good except for some minor concerns.

Oh, I would suggest you check the weather forecast and bring the necessities coz we checked out on one of the worst flooded day of venice and had to wade thru ankle deep waters of the alleys and thigh-deep cold waters of San Marco's square. The reception doesn't have plastics or anything to keep us dry. Those selling boot-like plastics are by the dock.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JazzV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Location: at the little channel, on picturesque place, but out of the crowd of tourists. Everything important is nearby from here: St. Mark square 5 minutes, 12 minutes Rialto bridge, the harbor steamers San Zaccaria 6 minutes (easy to find your way under the plan on the hotel website). My single room on the first floor had a patio and balcony great for watching traffic on the channel.

The quality of breakfast is not the price paid.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a terrace and a small balcony (+ specially designed chair) for observing traffic on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I paid $90/night for a hotel on a quiet street in the middle of Venice. It's a tiny hotel. So services are limited. But breakfast every morning was nice. The bed was pretty tough. And I only had one pillow. But again...$90/night in the middle of Venice...not so bad.

I overheard an argument while I was there with the front desk and a couple who were being asked to change rooms because another couple was arriving that day and had request in advance the room that overlooked the canal. I sympathized with that couple. Changing rooms in the middle of your stay is a pain in the neck. But then again, it's a tiny hotel. So what can you do? And it's not the end of the world.

I was traveling alone. Had I been with my partner, maybe that would have complicated things, as the room was tiny and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

Anyway, book this hotel if you're interested in paying a nice rate for a clean hotel that maybe might change your room in the middle of your visit. But again...$90 a night!

Room Tip: Ask for the canal view! It's a tiny canal. But it's still a nice view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Texan_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Carnival Palace Hotel
Carnival Palace Hotel
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
Castello
Hotel Castello
Hotel Castello
#242 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#77 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Casa Pisani Canal
Casa Pisani Canal
#288 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Castello
Hotel Lux
Hotel Lux
#317 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Castello
Hotel Bridge
Hotel Bridge
#249 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Canal

Address: Castello 4422/C | Fondamenta del Remedio, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Locanda Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Canal Venice
Locanda Canal Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing