We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise...no frills..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Vagon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Al Vagon to your Saves list
Hotel Al Vagon
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 5619 | Campiello Riccardo Selvatico, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise...no frills..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Agree with previous reviews. Just tried pot luck with this and turned out fine. Myself and 2 sons in 1 room, double and a single with balcony overlooking canal, approx 200 euro for 2 nights. Bed hard as a rock, ditto pillows.but hey...you get what you pay for...clean...shower ok..etc small TV
Got a group water taxi from airport to near hotel, Apostoli bridge, easy to find with hotels website directions. Centre of town all good. Al Vagon restaurant below a bit overpriced for what you get.
All in all ...no complaints..it Is Venice which generally = $$

Room Tip: overlooking canal was unique..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    187
    57
    16
    19
See reviews for
67
221
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

One of the cheapest hotels in the center of Venice. It is walking distance from Rialto Bridge, The area is full of hustle and bustle.Small, clean and cosy rooms. The staff is helpful but no facillities like internet, coffee or breakfast...

Room Tip: While booking, ask for windows facing canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbella spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

right in the centre of san marco ares close to all attractions
very basic but very clean
we were on an overnight stay before cruise
water taxi from airport took us right to the hotel unlike some
this is one of the reasons for booking and one of the cheapest hotels in this area
no facillities eg coffee or no breakfast but has a restaurant next door many coffee shops and restauranata around hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is the hotel booking I was most worried about as there are so many mixed reviews on tripadvisor on the property. Having worked for the hotel industry myself I tend to ask the question why so? And the only reason i find is that the staff may have not been very communicative with some guests,.they are not ill intentioned but they just cant speak English. Sometimes the owners are at the reception themselves and they speak very less English. The receptionist on night guard is an indian and speaks excellent English. But all are quite helpful if you ask them a precise question. However we found this hotel to be very good for what it is and the price you pay.

To start with it is very easy to find if you download the map on their website and refer to it, we did not get lost even once. It is a small family run place located in a 400-500yr old building so one has to understand that there will definately be limitations to how one can configure modern hotel rooms in this space, but inspite of that they come out with flying colours. We stayed in their smallest room, it was small but quite comfortable. The bathroom was spotless with even a bidet. We did not find this place noisy at all as our room opened into a narrow alley (which was clean)There is a place below this hotel which serves which serves decent slices of pizza for breakfast. and another which serves good fruit based cocktails.

To sum it up I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again,

Room Tip: choose a room which looks into the alley between buildings they are dark but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Last week stayed at Al Vagon for 2 nights. When checked-out at 9 AM asked to leave my backpack at the reception for a few hours. I made a terrible mistake as I forgot my credit card in the bag. The next day received a phone call from my bank telling me that my credit card was used in online shopping the exact day my bag was at the Al Vagon reception. It was hard for me to believe that I was robbed, not in the street, but in the place I stayed, wich by the way is awful and to avoid at all costs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karimpante, Proprietario at Hotel Al Vagon, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Completely false and defamatory: we are considering with our lawyers the opportunity to report this person to the judiciary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
otterystmary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked a triple room overlooking the canal. 100 Euros/night.Such a lovely view watching the canal traffic. Lovely classic decor and high ceilings. Room clean and lovely Egyptian cotton towels and sheets! Aircon a bonus and very quiet when the windows closed. The staff were friendly. Free map. There is a Stannah stair-chair thing for people who are unable to climb stairs.The area is not too touristy but within easy walking distance to the main sights. It's 6 bridges from the railway station (!) and is a 20mins walk with cases. There is a Billa supermarket 10mins walk

Room Tip: It's worth booking a room with a canal view. Really interesting and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

super central location, just 5 minutes walk from Rialto bridge.
Rooms were perfect, clean, with view over the canal, big bathroom, air conditioning, TV, hair drier at a very convenient price (90 euros for a double, 50 euros for a single). Considering the high prices in Venice and the low quality, it was a real bargain. We will stay there again for sure for our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Herion
Locanda Herion
#138 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Leon Bianco
Locanda Leon Bianco
#165 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Alla Corte Rossa
Alla Corte Rossa
#172 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Albergo Doni
Albergo Doni
#232 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
San Marco
Casa Petrarca
Casa Petrarca
#93 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#126 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Vagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Vagon

Address: Cannaregio 5619 | Campiello Riccardo Selvatico, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Al Vagon 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Al Vagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Vagon Hotel
Al Vagon Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Al Vagon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.