We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble with owner” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adriatico

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adriatico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adriatico
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio 224 | Lista di Spagna, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #164 of 382 hotels in Venice
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Trouble with owner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at the Adriatico in September 2012. The hotel is very convenient to the train station, is clean, and provides an adequate breakfast. But ... one reason we chose the hotel was that it was advertised on Expedia as providing free Wifi. When we got there, the owner said only 30 minutes were free. She relented when I complained and gave me an additional free 30 minutes (which was completely inadequate to my needs for a five night stay). But worse, when we were checking out she tried to charge me 100 euros more than the amount stated when I booked the room. She backed down on that when I showed her my printed documentation of the Expedia booking.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    179
    54
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
159
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

When you walk out of the train station in Venice, take a deep breath, take in the view from the steps - and then turn right onto the Lista di Spagna. In a short distance, you will find the welcoming door of the Hotel Adriatico, where white marble steps will take you to a second-floor reception area right over the gift shops and restaurants that line this popular street. This recently renovated hotel is right where the action is!
The rooms a spotlessly clean, the bathrooms attractive, modern, and well stocked, there's a phone for wake-up calls and other necessities, and the ambience, above the hubub of the street, is pleasant and peaceful. Breakfast is included and there's a choice of breads and croissants, cereals, juices, yogurts, coffees and teas, and other breakfast amenities, served in a clean, modern breakfast room at one end of the reception area.
The staff speaks English, is friendly and helpful, and shared their stories of living in Venice, which were wonderful! They have maps and tourist information and are ready with advice and suggestions for enjoying this wonderfully unique city. We both loved this hotel!

Room Tip: We had the room next to the Reception desk. Only one floor up, quiet at night, and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Had the front room facing the street. It was very clean. Air condition worked great. Spacious (for venice) and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was functional and clean. Great water pressure in the shower.

Breakfast was minimal but fine for us. Some breads, yogurt, fuit, and coffee.

But the staff. Carlo was our man. He loves his town and was so helpful with pointing us towards things to do, places to eat, even people to seek out at particular restaurants. He truly made our trip better and made sure we were taken care of. We even ran into him a couple times on the street and stopped to chat as though he was our old friend. Wilil definitely stay here again if we ever get back to Venice.

Room Tip: Front rooms facing the street. Its not too noisy and you get to feel Venice when you wake up and whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This fabulous little hotel was very clean, friendly and accommodating. All the staff spoke English and went out of their way to make my stay happy and comfortable. It is located close to the main train station making it very easy to get around. The room was small but very clean and attractive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt am main
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

this small hotel is on the main road and only about 10 min. walk from the piazzale roma. it is surrounded by restaurants, cafes, souvenir shops and stands, shopping. what attracted me was the modern, minimalistic style. for a petite person like me, the room size was enough but the bathroom a bit cramped. most important were the clean, fresh sheets and towels. being there on the peak of summer, the aircon didn't work when i needed it ! luckily, we got transferred to another room the next day. simple breakfast like croissant, bread roll plus jam and coffee/tea/juice were included in the price. in general, the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at Adriatico Hotel end of July lovely little hotel, clean, easy to find which is a big bonus in venice,walking distance from train station nice day reception staff as they say a little Gem. Only prob was aircon did not work in one of the front rooms.Night staff at first was not going to give us another room said nothing he could do. It was so hot. He later came back and gave us another room but wanted us to move all of our stuff then it was 1am and was very tired he was refusing at first to let us in the room unless we took all of or stuff with us then. I was tired and not feeling well from the heat and I told he i could not do that and would move our clothes in the morning he finally let us sleep in the aircond room don't know what he thought we were trying to do. This room was much nicer then the first room also. After all that the rest of the stay was lovely and would recommend.

Room Tip: Clean and Value for money Ask for back rooms they seem to be bigger and nicer furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

1. The location is ideal, being very close to the train station, Piazzale Roma, and the vaporetti stations;
2. The price is right;
3. The rooms are clean (yah, ok, a little mold on the shower head);
4. The staff is very friendly and helpful;
5. I WILL go back, and I keep recommending this place to all my friends.

Oh yes, one little thing: could you change the coffee machine please??? I love the croissants, but the coffee... well... pretty please....

Room Tip: I like the second room to the left of the reception (I think it is #6) because it is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriatico

Address: Cannaregio 224 | Lista di Spagna, 30121 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#156 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adriatico 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Adriatico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatico Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adriatico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.