We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TINY ROOM, Dirty Bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ai due Fanali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ai due Fanali to your Saves list
Hotel ai due Fanali
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce 946, 30135 Venice, Italy (San Croce)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“TINY ROOM, Dirty Bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel looked terrific, but our room was so small that we literally could not walk in the room once we brought in our suitcases. We had to climb over the suitcases in order to get into or out of bed.

It didn't add to the experience that the bathroom was also teeny tiny and grimy in the corners.

When we asked if perhaps there was a larger room for us available on the following nights of our stay, we were told that; "You American's are used to large rooms".

My husband and I have traveled the world, and have stayed in many, many hotels This by far was the smallest room ever!

We disliked it so much, we wanted to leave a day early. They would not refund our money.

Location is OK, away from the throngs and on a charming square. Breakfast room and outdoor terrace are pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    14
    4
    10
See reviews for
11
74
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Based on a number of reviews I had read this hotel seemed to offer exactly what we were looking for. In common with other reviews, I would say it is in a great (quiet) location and is easy to find by Venice standards. However, the hotel itself was a big disappointment. The rooms are tiny - there is about 2ft clearance around the bed, our floor was sloping and the bathroom was absolutely tiny. There was also mold on the rim of the shower. There were a number of mosquitoes in the room which we had to swat. We had to check out early in the morning and they couldn't offer us breakfast since the waiter didn't come in until 7:30. There is also no staff on at night - you must ring the hotel across the square. While the staff are very nice and friendly, I really couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel in early August. It is located a short walk from the train station/car parks facing onto a small square. The staff were very helpful, the rooms large by venice standards and the breakfast very good. We particularly liked the roof terrace. There is a lift and the hotel is airconditioned. The location is excellent for exploring venice. All in all a very good experience in Hotel Ai Due Fanali. I would recommend this hotel for its location/price and helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Having very much enjoyed our first stay at the Hotel ai due Fanali last year, my wife and I returned for the start of a twenty-day trip this summer. All the superlatives in our previous review still apply, and we can now add "consistency". The ai due Fanali continues to be our hotel of choice in Venice.

Location - perfect for us. It's a short walk to the train station and the bus plaza, and is convenient to a vaporetto stop. It is in a Venetian neighborhood rather than a touristy area, and is a ten-minute walk from two terrific restaurants - Il Refolo (great salads and wonderful pizza) and La Zucca (excellent vegetarian dishes and good meat dishes as well) - both of which are located near our favorite campo in all of Venice, San Giacomo del Oro.

The hotel itself is charming and quite reasonably priced. On both stays our room had a view of the Grand Canal. The room was completely clean, the bathroom was small but not cramped (with a small tub with an excellent showerhead), and the breakfast was excellent with good coffee and set us up nicely for the whole day. The staff was terrific, and made advance reservations for us at both of the above-mentioned restaurants. This was important, as we arrived on the third weekend in July during a major citywide festival.

My wife and I do like to walk, so it was a treat to actually enter and leave the touristy part of Venice. For those not so inclined, St. Mark's is just a vaporetto ride away.

We very much look forward to our next stay in Venice - which will be at the Hotel ai due Fanali.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Hotel ai Due Fanali was a perfect find, to use a cliche, a "hidden gem". It was within walking distance of the train station and had its own courtyard. Our room was lovely, roomy, and decorated very comfortably... and, a bonus, ... we had a wonderful view of the Grand Canal. The staff was extremely helpful and suggested some very good neighborhood restaurants. The breakfast nook is cozy and has a view of the surrounding neighborhoods. When leaving, our boat transfer to the airport was at 6am and they were there bright and early to assist us. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ma
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This hotel was suggested by our travel agent. The hotel directions were not clear and we spent 35 minutes dragging our bags up and down the stairs of the bridges. We finally arrived at the hotel and the woman at the desk was ok. We went to our room which was an reasonable size. The comforter was either dirty or just stained. The only way to use their Internet was downstairs in the lobby with our own computer. They charged $5.00 euros for 3 hours $10.00 euros for 5 hours and $20.00 euros for 24 hours. They locked the door at 10:30pm and you had to go to a nearby hotel to get let in. The rest of the staff was reasonably friendly but seemed a little stand offish. It was noisy and I didn't get a good night sleep while we were there.
Foe the money I paid for this hotel I was disappointed. I paid less in Rome and Florence and had 4 star hotels there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed only for 1 night, however we experienced friendly service from the minute we walked through the door. The room was good value, with a small view of the canal and was clean, spacious and nicely decorated with all the facilities you would expect from a mid range hotel. We chose the hotel from others as its location was reasonably close to the large car parks where you have to leave your car. It was also in a quiet area and being close to a ferry station it was not inconvenient for St Marc's Square. The breakfast room was a little hard to find however when we did find it, we found we could sit on the rooftop so we could see Venice. Access to the rooftop however is a little tricky trying to keep hold of your breakfast when climbing up ladder stairs! We did find breakfast was a little limited, they seemed to have run out of certain items and were not replenished.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ai due Fanali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai due Fanali

Address: Santa Croce 946, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ai due Fanali 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel ai due Fanali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Due Fanali Venice
Ai Due Fanali Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ai due Fanali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.