We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, helpful staff, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Violino d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Violino d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Violino d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #61 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good location, helpful staff, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Very helpful staff, excellent location. Room is average but fairly priced for Venice and one minute away from Piazza San Marco. Was mislead with regards to the room, receptionist checked us into one of their sister hotels with no elevator. Apart from that, fair value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    256
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
126
388
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Oz
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us, the location is perfect, not too close to the madding crowds but a very short walk to Piazza San Marco, an abundance of restaurants and importantly the San Marco Giarninetti ferry stop where you take the Alilaguna Ferry to the airport (cost 15 Euros). We were also close to the departure points for our various tours booked through our tour company.

Our arrival into Venice was on the train, we were taken by our tour company on a boat to a drop off point a very short walk to our hotel. It wasn't until later after talking to other tourists who said they were dropped off at the hotel entrance, that our hotel was inaccessible via taxi because of the gondola stop right outside our hotel. This was not a negative thing as I think the gondolas are an attraction in their own right and to be able to observe them in action was a plus. On entering the hotel we found a lovely lobby environment with friendly and helpful staff. Our room was on the second floor and at the end of a lovely open area with tables and chairs for relaxing.

I had previously read on TA that the front of hotel rooms were noisy because of the gondoliers below and so as we entered our room I was a bit apprehensive as I realised that we certainly did overlook the canal. In my opinion, that was the best room we could have had, you would hear music drifting up to the room and on opening the bathroom window and looking down we realised we had a fantastic view of the canal and watching the gondoliers in action was very entertaining. The gondoliers worked on into the night and so when we went to bed the shutters were closed and the aircon was on and we slept very well with no disturbance.

Our bathroom was spacious, appearing to have been modified for people with mobility issues. The shower was a bit awkward with the curtain flapping around but we sorted that by putting the plastic chair in to hold it back plus it was handy to put your shampoo on.

The bed was large and comfy and the room was tastefully decorated with an olde world feel. The room had a mini bar fridge but no room safe. The breakfast room was also nicely decorated, the food was good and plentiful and the service was excellent.

In conclusion this hotel really made our first visit to Venice an absolute delight and I am happy to recommend it the perfect place to stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in the junior suite and cannot recommend enough. Very spacious and clean room and good bathroom. Had very large private terrace are which overlooked the gondola station and canal which was a lovely place to enjoy the champange which came with the package. Friendly service and great location short walk from San Marco water taxi/bus point and a couple of minutes to the piazza and ten minute walk to Rialto bridge. Water taxi can pick you up 50m from hotel for transfers etc.
Loved our first visit to Venice and Hotel Violino d'Oro certainly helped make it enjoyably.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We loved the location of the hotel, and it was beautiful as well. The rooms were well decorated and surprisingly big compared to other hotels we've stayed in when in Venice. The breakfast wasn't great, but this is pretty much my experience in most hotels there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice review regarding our location and rooms, we are happy you found something different than your previous experiences.
On the other hand, we are just a little bit sad that you didn’t find our breakfast great, because we instead take great care to prepare it. It is freshly homemade by Claudia & Nicola, including Italian pastries and cakes; plus we offer mixed savoury food and meats, cheese, eggs, bacon, mixed bread, seasonal fruits, yogurt, mixed cereals and marmalade, croissants, American coffee, cappuccino and espresso from our bar limitless.
But we’ll surely share your opinion with our staff in order to improve ourselves and try to offer even more. Would you be so kind to send us suggestions, we will take them in great consideration.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our enchanting Venice.

Best Regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was our second stay at Hotel Violino d’Oro – and we can only conclude, that once again we felt very happy with this choice. All of our needs and expectations were fully met and fulfilled: A location not to be found better; an intimate and personal atmosphere; an attentive staff and a genuine Venetian ambiance. Hence, we are only happy to give this hotel our best recommendations!

As many have previously stated – the major asset of Hotel Violino d’Oro is its location. Situated a few minutes’ walk from beautiful Piazza San Marco; an easy some ten minutes stroll from the Rialto bridge only, a fashionable shopping street just outside the door and not the least with the San Marco/Vallaresso vaporetto-stop just around the corner – you can hardly find any more centrally located accommodation in Venice. You are in the very heart of it all. Add to that a tiny town square at the doorstep and a lovely canal alongside the building across which you find a most picturesque little bridge from which you can enjoy the countless gondolas as they quietly flow below or moor.

Hotel Violino d’Oro is a small hotel consisting of an older 3-story main building and a separate guesthouse and offers a variety of rooms of different categories and sizes. All rooms, however, lovely appointed with an authentic Venetian décor including wallpaper of silk, heavy drapes and Murano glass chandeliers for that much sought after genuine Venetian ambiance that makes a difference. Beware though, everything at Hotel Violino d’Oro is pretty small and comes in old style European sizes. Hence, this is not where you find the big standard American type rooms – in the contrary – expect odd shapes, crooked corners, tiny bathrooms and insufficient storing space. But this is likewise the special charm of this little pearl of a hotel. Some rooms face the little town square or even the canal and offer awesome views. Other rooms may have no particular view or face the next door building a few meters away only, so make sure you book the right room category meeting your needs and expectations to avoid any disappointment. First time we stayed at Violino d’Oro we booked a standard room, which was lovely decorated as stated above, but very small and with a bathroom on the absolute tiny side and with no view we can recall. But it was more than fine. This time we occupied a superior room on 2rd floor with windows directly towards the canal with unforgettable views, same lovely décor, a fine room size and an extraordinary big bathroom although most oddly laid out. But what a treat… whenever in we would hang out the windows enjoying the hustle and bustle of the beautiful canal below.

The moment you enter Hotel Violino d’Oro you immediately sense the genuine Venetian feel. Albeit very small, the reception and small lounge area feel very welcoming with its dark wooden paneling, glass chandeliers, old style furniture and displays of lavish Venetian carnival costumes. Behind the reception you find the combined bar and breakfast restaurant – both with windows opening up to the canal and hence from which you can watch the gondoliers getting their vessels ready for a new day while taking in your breakfast or coming dusk the intensity of the serenading gondola parties passes by as you sip a cappuccino or glass of wine. It’s fascinating! The breakfast buffet is an appealing European style one with added features as eggs and bacon/sauces and Italian cakes – and not the least constantly restocked hence appearing very fresh and delicious.

In conclusion we should like to add that at both of our visits we have been pleasantly surprised by the high service level performed by the staff. They were attentive and very welcoming. Whenever we came in the door – that being day or late evening/night – the receptionist did immediately rise from his chair/area to greet us and ask if he/she could be of any assistance. Correspondence was likewise promptly responded to, hence we felt in good hands even before arrival.

PS: We shall highly suggest you to book directly with this hotel as both times we have obtained beneficial specials not otherwise to be found with the various on-line booking systems. This time a bottle of bobbles was awaiting us in our room, free soft drinks stocked daily in the minibar as well as other value added features were included with our special.

PS PS: The only drawback we experienced during our latest visit was the closing down of the former very lovely rooftop terrace overlooking the canal. It seems to have been converted into a private terrace for one of the suites or closed off? We missed it though, as the only other terrace we could find is very small and without any view or particular charm hence really only serving as a place for smokers to go and have a brief smoke.

Room Tip: Make sure you are aware of category and location of room booked as all very different. Some rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to learn that this is your second visit at our hotel and once again all your expectations were fully met and fulfilled.
What can we say? Your mail is the best publicity of all for our House and Venice itself!
You said it all! Your ”Manifesto” -allow me- is a great great reward for our work and we’ve already shared it with all our staff. It makes us feel very proud of all our efforts.
We want to thank you from our heart for the time you dedicate to us in describing your fully detailed impressions in such a long review, but also for sharing your piece of advice and little hints with the rest of Tripadvisor’s Travellers-
Very grateful and hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you again

Warm regards from our amazing Venice
Edrik Tiozzo

Ps.: The rooftop terrace has been converted into an exclusive suite, so the next time you could try to experience this type of room. In any case, in addition to the one you described, we still offer other two terraces at the end of the corridors on first and second floor, facing onto the canal beside - which are of historical importance and therefore under the protection of the Arts and Cultural Institute - where you can relax, smoke, take pictures or simply sip your glass of Prosecco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were very satisfied with our hotel choice: it is situated a very short walk from St. Mark's square, we had no problems finding it and the rooms were nice. Breakfast was top class. The hotel staff were extremely friendly - we were especially satisfied with the option to store our luggage after checking out so we had no problems strolling around Venice for the rest of the day before finally returning home in the late afternoon. I would certainly recommend this hotel and will book it again myself when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest
What to say……thank you so much for recommending our hotel!
It’s such a pleasure to read review like yours: it’s a great boost for us to keep giving the best hospitality to our Guests.
Besides, booking by yourself is such a good idea, because you will get more value from offers & packages available only on our official web site.
Therefore, we remain waiting to welcome you again for your next visit in our beautiful Venice.

Best regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Violino d'Oro while in Venice. The hotel is located very close to St. Mark's square and is on a canal. The hotel is right next to a Gondolier station and is in a great location. The rooms are nice, we were in the adjacent bldg. with rooms off the main hotel. The rooms are nice and well laid out but I would have been much happier in the main building. There is no elevator in the adjacent bldg. and we were put on the top floor, but asked to be moved and they were very compliant. The breakfast buffet is first class, very nice selection and all delicious. I would recommend this hotel.
The

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mr RiOgrande,
We’ve read with great interest your comment on us.
Your Kind feedback about our location, our well laid room and first class breakfast buffet is most appreciated.
Thank you so much for recommending our Hotel.
Hoping to welcome you again in our beautiful town

Kind Regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Address: San Marco, 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#62 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Violino d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.