We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Violino d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Violino d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Violino d'Oro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco, 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Brilliant location near San Marco square and easy walking access to all major attractions. Great room overlooking the canal, a square with a bridge and the gondola stop. Nice breakfast and great service by the front desk. A lovely gesture was serving us coffee and freshly baked croissants when checking out before 5 am in the morning! Thanks a lot, made our day!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We do thank you for sharing your nice experience with all the other Travellers.
It’s a pleasure for us to give all the attention we can to all our guests, trying to make their stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible; at any time you are leaving the hotel, a coffee is always waiting for you ;)

Best regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    257
    51
    13
    4
See reviews for
127
390
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here as it was centrally located, room, though small was adequate and the breakfast was average. Could not give it a 5 as the front desk staff were a disappointment. They were not helpful with baggage, directions or recommendations to restaurants. None of them seemed to be happy in their jobs and it spilled over in their attitude and treatment of guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor .
We are a little surprised about your evaluation on our front desk staff as it is usually very appreciated for its efforts.
This is in line with most of our Guests’ voices.
Nevertheless I take this opportunity to apologize about this inconvenience that made your stay not completely satisfactory at our hotel and we assure you that we discussed this issue with the whole team, in particular with the reception team leader.
We’ll take into great consideration your comment, since our main goal is to give the best welcome to our guests.

Kind regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Location is central and very close to Piazza San Marco. Breakfast has a good variety of food and you can have a coffee with cookies during the day The building is well cared. The staff was very kind and attentive. Our room was nice and clean but we had a little problem with the heater that was always too hot. But this was not a big problem because we spent only 2 nights and the weather was very cold outside. I recomend the hotel. It's a perfect place to stay in Venice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for taking your time to share your positive comments .
We apologize about the inconvenience you had with the heating , but we believe nobody was informed about it.
We thank you for giving us the opportunity to remind all our future Guests to inform us during their stay if they experience any inefficiencies. This way you allow us to promptly intervene and do the best we can to assure you a perfect stay.
Hoping to have you again among our Guests

Kind regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A really lovely Hotel in a fantastic location. So close to all of the water buses and Taxis direct from the Airport. And within a couple of minutes walk into the Square itself.
The bed room was very clean and comfortable and all of the staff were so helpful and happy to answer all of our questions. This included all of the staff on reception and staff working in the lovely breakfast area. The food and content for each of the breakfasts we had booked were totally acceptable and very high quality. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your great review about all the facilities in our Hotel.
In particular we appreciate the nice words you spent on our staff.
Hoping to welcome you again in our magnificent town

Kind regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a fabulous stay. Highly recommend it. It was very close to San Marco Square and within easy walking distance to taxis and buses. Breakfast was substantial especially compared to friends breakfast in another hotel. It was very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic location. Our room (301) was huge with a huge terrace overlooking the canal and gondolas. The bathroom was well equipped and clean (but they must have slight damp issues in the roof) Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. The staff were constantly refilling the buffet. Reception staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a vacation in Venice

Room Tip: Room 301 is a junior suite and is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edrik T, Resident Manager at Hotel Violino d'Oro, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s a pleasure to read your positive evaluation on our hotel.
In particular we’ll share your kind words about our staff with all of them.
Your suggestion will be taken in consideration for sure, in order to check the roof.

Thank you and best regards
Edrik Tiozzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Sussex UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance of the San Marco - and so if you catch the waterbus from the airport it is ideally placed. There is a Gondola station next door - where you can watch the gondolas depart from breakfast - and hear the occasional singing as well! San Marco is no more that five minutes walk away - Rialto Bridge is around fifteen minutes (make sure you follow the signs though because you will get lost).

Comfortable rooms - I say surprisingly quiet as Venice can be noisy - especially at night when everyone is walking home (some worse for wear). We had a first floor room facing out onto the square - and left the window open all night - and still got excellent night's sleep - finally closing the window at dawn when the Gondola station starts up (good soundproof windows as well). Bed was comfortable and the facilities good also.

Breakfast was good - as per usual like many hotels they could do with a toaster - but that aside the choice was excellent. Check in was courteous.

When you look at the choice of Hotels in Venice - some for absolutely outrageous prices - the Hotel Violino D'Oro compares favourably and should be on your consideration list. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Address: San Marco, 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#59 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Violino d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.