We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic budget room in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ai do Mori

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel ai do Mori
Save
You added Hotel ai do Mori to your Saves list
Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Most romantic budget room in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked the top room in the hotel with its own roof terrasse. When we got there we thought we'd made a terrible mistake. The hotel looked like a normal house, a bit run down, and as we went up the stairs it looked awful. We then found a small door to the actual hotel off the lobby on the first floor. We entered and went up very steep, shabby stairs, and my heart sunk. But the receptionist was really friendly and welcoming, even though the office looked so messy and totally overflowing with stuff and wellies! Up a slightly less shabby corridor with rooms either side, and then other very steep stairs, with no staff to help with suitcases. I was ready to give up and go find another hotel.

And then we had the best surprise, a lovely small but comfy room with traditional decor - with a kettle and small traditional Venetitian wardrobe, a pleasant, clean but simple bathroom, and then the best bit - a few step up to our own private roof terrasse, with fabulous views. It was so romantic and wonderful and really made up for any small imperfections. Fabulous location just at the back of San Marco - and as we were there in November, the less than perfect weather meant we had the town to ourselves. The receptionist lent us wellington boots on the 2 days San Marco was flooded and we had to walk on the board walks above the place. We would love to go again if we can have that special bedroom with the roof terrasse :)

Room Tip: I would not go there again unless I could book that room at the top with roof terrasse, although oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    214
    46
    7
    11
See reviews for
70
247
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was, beyond a doubt, the best value in terms of accomodations that we had on our trip through Venice, Rome, Florence and London and a welcome surprise! We stayed on the second floor of the Annex, and although our room itself didn't have much of a view, the location was extremely convenient and within minutes of Piazza San Marco. Due to the proximity to the Piazza, we were able to see it at ease during different times of the day. It was also a great base from which to explore all of Venice by foot, and we never felt that sights on our list were not within walking distance (except San Giorgio, accessible only by water bus). Room was very clean and spacious (and an amazing value for the amount we were paying), and included a nice closet and desk as well as a bathroom. Room was also cleaned daily. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012. The rooms are very comfortable and the location is very central. The receptionist steered us away from eating in the restaurants very close to hotel as they are very touristy (the hotel is very close to St Marks square) and she gave us and excellent restaurant recommendation a short walk away so definitely worth doing. I would definitely stay here again as it is great value and a super location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Very clean and comfortable room, although small. The staff was very hit or miss, but overall it was a great stay! Awesome location- just about a one minute walk from St. Marks square. The staff loaned me an adaptor to charge my phone because I had left mine at home. Recommend this place- doesn't seem to be a better place for the price and location in Venice!

Room Tip: Room 4 was very small- good for a solo traveler, but I'm sure you could get a larger room for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is located only a few metres away from the clocktower in the centre of Venice. At midnight the bells beautifully and in your room you can hear every note. The clock strikes the hour and ensures that there is no possibility of any sleep. The owner or manager failed to appreciate that this was perhaps something that should feature on their website. We stayed in the room at the top which does have a lovely terrace where there is a lovely view of the clocktower and rooftops across the city. This bedroom is very very small and makes life very difficult as there is, in effect, no room to get around the bed. The heating was up so high that it would have been very difficult to sleep if we had not been kept awake by the bells in any event.

The only good things that we can say is that the location of the hotel is very central and this would have been extremely useful if we had stayed more than one night. We didn't. We left this nightmare hotel as soon as we could the next morning.

Room Tip: Lowest floor possible to minimise the noise from the bells although other users have reported that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Italy and I had a lovely experience at the hotel. The room was small, but very cozy, clean, and comfortable. The staff was wonderful. They greeted me every time I came in and left, loaned me an umbrella for the entire length of my stay, and were more than helpful with recommendations on resturants. I will make sure to stay there again on future visits!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of San Marco this little hotel is a good bang for your buck.

The room was a little on the small size but you won't be in the hotel room that much. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Prompt room service replenishing your amenities.

Some negative reviews I heard from fellow friends would be if you are tall the rooms and stairwell will be a little tight.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ai do Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai do Mori

Address: Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#90 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#94 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ai Do Mori Venice
Ai Do Mori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ai do Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.