We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ai do Mori

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel ai do Mori to your Saves list
Hotel ai do Mori
Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No sleep here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is located only a few metres away from the clocktower in the centre of Venice. At midnight the bells beautifully and in your room you can hear every note. The clock strikes the hour and ensures that there is no possibility of any sleep. The owner or manager failed to appreciate that this was perhaps something that should feature on their website. We stayed in the room at the top which does have a lovely terrace where there is a lovely view of the clocktower and rooftops across the city. This bedroom is very very small and makes life very difficult as there is, in effect, no room to get around the bed. The heating was up so high that it would have been very difficult to sleep if we had not been kept awake by the bells in any event.

The only good things that we can say is that the location of the hotel is very central and this would have been extremely useful if we had stayed more than one night. We didn't. We left this nightmare hotel as soon as we could the next morning.

Room Tip: Lowest floor possible to minimise the noise from the bells although other users have reported that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    223
    46
    9
    11
See reviews for
72
257
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Italy and I had a lovely experience at the hotel. The room was small, but very cozy, clean, and comfortable. The staff was wonderful. They greeted me every time I came in and left, loaned me an umbrella for the entire length of my stay, and were more than helpful with recommendations on resturants. I will make sure to stay there again on future visits!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Located in the heart of San Marco this little hotel is a good bang for your buck.

The room was a little on the small size but you won't be in the hotel room that much. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. Prompt room service replenishing your amenities.

Some negative reviews I heard from fellow friends would be if you are tall the rooms and stairwell will be a little tight.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My second time in Hotel Ai do Mori did not disappoint.
From my initial email requesting availability everything was plain sailing. They even managed to put us in the same room as last year and accomadate a member of our party leaving early etc.
Its location just off San Marco is amazing and is excellent value for money. The room was spotless and comfortable and cleaned everyday. We asked for a kettle and were presented with a full tray for making tea and coffee. Everyone at reception was so helpful and informative. We were provided witn umbrellas when it started to snow.
I will be back again. Thanks to everyone in Hotel Ai do Mori.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first real holiday in Venice, and when we were looking for a hotel, we made the best choice! Hotel Ai Do Mori is exactly what it says in the information, ie, that it is 10 meters from St Mark's Square. A small hotel with a family feel - the staff were always available and able to answer all our queries, book opera tickets and give advice. Our room was on the 3rd floor of the hotel (no lift), and although not huge, was full of character with lovely oak beams, pretty furniture, a hospitality tray and most importantly in February, was beautifully warm, with a stunning view of St Mark's Bell Tower. We stayed for a week during Carnivale 2013 and we literally had Venice at our feet! There was a daily housekeeping service with fresh towels and chocolate teacakes. All the reception staff spoke English, but could give us tips on where to eat, what events were outstanding, and when to be back safely in times of flood from the high tide! All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to feel welcome and comfortable at a reasonable price, and never be far away from the action.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a top floor room if you can't manage steep stairs! A corner room gives excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I'm echoing what most reviewers here are saying. I stayed here for a week during Carnevale and it was a great experience. The owner and brother and staff all very nice and friendly and made me feel comfortable (though I didn't have any real questions other than location of one place on a map).

This is from perspective of a single traveler, and I look for the following: central location, safe surroundings and hotel, cleanliness very important, and nice shower with real water pressure. This hotel has all that. Very clean and tidy room; good water pressure in shower which is important to me. Also, free wifi works great. I had a room w/bath one night (because the owner was nice enough to offer to me at same price as room w/shared bath since it was available), and with shared bath rest of the time. Both are on higher floors (3 or 4?). One room faced street and other faced next building. Frankly I had no problem with noise even with street facing room -- and during Carnevale, perhaps bc it's a bit higher up. A little music from some bar nearby till about midnight and that's it, and maybe some late night revelers now and then. The windows are very thick.

Yes, the rooms I had are on the small side. But as a single traveler that was fine for me. It may be a problem if you're a couple with lots of baggage and/or not used to being in really close quarters. And you need to lug your luggage up the smallish stairs -- the site makes that very clear. Honestly not a big deal to do it twice (and walking up a few flights every day is probably good given all the good food we're eating there). So know yourself before booking. But for this price it's a fantastic value. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floor quieter, if you don't mind walking up a few flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A great value hotel in the centre of Venice. Have now stayed there on two occassions November 2011 as a couple and January 2013 with our two children. The top floor room has an outside terrace with views of Venice

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#78 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#109 of 383 in Venice
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
San Marco
Casa Petrarca
Casa Petrarca
#91 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#14 of 383 in Venice
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#61 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#19 of 383 in Venice
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ai do Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai do Mori

Address: Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#90 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#96 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel ai do Mori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Do Mori Venice
Ai Do Mori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ai do Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.