We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ai do Mori

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel ai do Mori
Save
You added Hotel ai do Mori to your Saves list
Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I see everybody says it but it is a great location as everyone can always point you back to San Marco square when you get lost. We stayed in the Annex which was quite spacious with a good bathroom but the croissants that were advertised as being at your disposal comprised of the 2 in our room on arrival and nothing after that so be prepared to buy breakfast every morning or go to the supermarket and stock up a little which will save you some money. The staff were helpful and directed us to a couple of restaurants which were very nice.

Room Tip: The Annex is very quiet and allowed for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    202
    44
    7
    11
See reviews for
67
236
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this hotel to be excellent from the point of view of location and price. They claim to be about 10 meters from St. Marks Square, and they are not far off. We are not talking luxury here, but it is clean, safe, reasonably priced, and the staff are very helpful. What more can you ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great location, just behind S. Marco square, restaurants & shopping just outside the door. Very reasonably priced for the location. Room #2 nice & clean and comfortable. Desk open 24 hours and very helpful. Stairs however are killers especially with cases and there is no elevator, the ringing of bells every hour tended to disrupt our sleep, a price we paid for the location and we would stay again if we come back to Venice.

Room Tip: try and get on a lower floor to avoid the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

As their website states, this hotel truly is metres from St Mark’s Square. Entry is via a buzzer from the street and up two flights of stairs. The Painter’s Room, which we chose, is up further flights of stairs but worth it when you reach the top. We made the choice because the room has a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a large terrace which overlooks the Basilica, Campanile, two moors tower and rooftops of Venice. It is a charming, romantic room with wooden beams. The room was clean and quiet, the staff are friendly and helpful and the location truly is a winner. This is a room-only hotel but there are cafes everywhere and a supermarket nearby where you can buy food for breakfast and dinner on your large terrace. Be aware that the stairs are steep and the shower cubicle is quite small

Room Tip: Fridge (only in Painter's Room) and nearby supermarket help cut costs of eating out
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

loved the location of this hotel, we had the Painter's Room on the top floor with a terrace which had a great view. A nice spot to sit and have a glass of wine. The stairs are a killer with luggage but we managed just fine for old folks. Staff was always present and helpfull.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There are hundreds of hotel to choose from in Venice and it is always a gamble but we were very happy with this hotel and found it value for money and perfect for our long weekend. It is small but clean and secure. Location was our priority and this little place is tucked away literally behind San Marco - perfect for us. English speaking staff with night security, and very helpful too Quiet and comfortable enough, we were out exploring most of the time. There was some exterior building work going on at the time of our stay but there were no inconveniences at all. A good budget deal. Make sure you get good instructions on how to find it, we got a bit lost at first!

Room Tip: Steep stairs so check first if you have any disability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Your experience of this hotel probably depends on which room you are in. We stayed on top floor with view over rooftops to the bell tower and the Do Mori or two moors striking the bell every hour. Be prepared for small rooms and very steep stairs and no lift. Staff were very helpful and had good English. On third floor still had the buzz of street noise and cafes but only to be expected in such a central locate. Rooms lower down would not be as pleasant and some rooms have shared bathrooms but the price reflects this. Book early and ask for room with view but if you have trouble with stairs or carrying your luggage up three flights this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ai do Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai do Mori

Address: Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#86 Family Hotel in Venice
#87 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ai Do Mori Venice
Ai Do Mori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ai do Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.