We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ai do Mori

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel ai do Mori
Save
You added Hotel ai do Mori to your Saves list
Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Pickering, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

loved the location of this hotel, we had the Painter's Room on the top floor with a terrace which had a great view. A nice spot to sit and have a glass of wine. The stairs are a killer with luggage but we managed just fine for old folks. Staff was always present and helpfull.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    204
    45
    7
    11
See reviews for
69
238
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

There are hundreds of hotel to choose from in Venice and it is always a gamble but we were very happy with this hotel and found it value for money and perfect for our long weekend. It is small but clean and secure. Location was our priority and this little place is tucked away literally behind San Marco - perfect for us. English speaking staff with night security, and very helpful too Quiet and comfortable enough, we were out exploring most of the time. There was some exterior building work going on at the time of our stay but there were no inconveniences at all. A good budget deal. Make sure you get good instructions on how to find it, we got a bit lost at first!

Room Tip: Steep stairs so check first if you have any disability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Your experience of this hotel probably depends on which room you are in. We stayed on top floor with view over rooftops to the bell tower and the Do Mori or two moors striking the bell every hour. Be prepared for small rooms and very steep stairs and no lift. Staff were very helpful and had good English. On third floor still had the buzz of street noise and cafes but only to be expected in such a central locate. Rooms lower down would not be as pleasant and some rooms have shared bathrooms but the price reflects this. Book early and ask for room with view but if you have trouble with stairs or carrying your luggage up three flights this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Thanks to Trip Advisor we found this hotel. By Venezia standards, this is an inexpensive option and the Annex (highly recommend it!) is right around the corner from the hotel. Private entrance, private bath and one block from San Marco Basilica. The location means that you can come back to the hotel to freshen up. You are in the middle of restaurants, museums, close to a vaporetto stop. The room was very clean and reasonably quiet for being right on the shopping street. This is a modest hotel, not luxurious, but everything you need for a stay in Venice. Luca was very helpful and put a kettle for hot water, coffee and tea in the room. Half a block away is a great bar that opens at 8 am with fresh, hot croissants for breakfast.

A note about my excellent rating: this is a two or three star hotel, but compared to other such hotels, it is excellent. It is NOT a Four Seasons or Ritz, but I rate hotels against other similar hotels.

Room Tip: I didn't see rooms in the main hotel, but along with others on TA, I recommend the Annex highly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in september.It is literally a minute away from St marks square,so is in the perfect position for all the attractions and also the water busses which go from the square,there are plenty of bars and resturants in the area.We booked quite late so we spent one night in the annex room (which is 20m up the road from the main hotel) and one night in the main hotel.The annex room was spacious,very clean it had a lovely beamed ceiling and we even had a breakfast tray! the shower was a decent size and the bed was comfy the a/c worked well and i didnt find the noise to be a problem,we both slept well.The street the annex rooms are on is very venetian and charming.We really enjoyed it.
The 2nd night we found the main hotel room to be spacious and the bed comfy but the shower was quite small.The noise from the square was blocked out with the window blinds (the wooden ones) but it was more the noise from reception that was the problem,our room backed onto reception and the bed at the back of the room so we could hear everything.It was ok for one night but i would have asked to change to another room if we had of been staying for another night.Apart from this minor problem everything else was great,the staff were friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.I would stay again,and reccomend to anyone visiting venice but would pay the little extra (think it was 10 euros a night) for an annex room.The price is amazing for such an expensive city.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra for a room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

During our recent trip to Venice we found ourselves in need of a room quick and we had no reservation. We contacted this hotel as it was very close to the hotel we refused to stay in. When we arrived the staff was friendly, the room was clean, reasonably priced and offerred Coffee, shampoo, etc for the quests. I will definetly return here.

One word of caution, if steps are an issue - you will need to climb some very steep steps to register.

Room Tip: Even the room directly on the street was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great location for the major tourist attractions. However, that also means that it is very noisy, at least the rooms that face the street. If you close the windows (there is a/c) then it's ok. The room was small but clean. In general the hotel is fine, the staff helpful, the price is good for Venice. Try to ask for a room not facing the street.

Room Tip: Not facing the street. There is also no elevator but the rooms are on 3 separate floors so you can a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ai do Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai do Mori

Address: Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#84 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#91 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Ai Do Mori Venice
Ai Do Mori Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ai do Mori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.