We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Arcadia Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cannaregio, 1333 | Rio Tera San Leonardo, 30121 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 382 hotels in Venice
Apperley Bridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem that offers super accommodation and staff that are extremely helpful. Our room was clean, cool and quiet - exactly what you need after exploring the streets and canals of Venice. We also enjoyed the location, which was slightly removed from the tourist hotspots and offered an insight into city life. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi o, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear guest,
we are really happy you had a pleasant stay and appreciated our hospitality. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to having you here again soon.
Kind Regards
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    42
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
168
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from Venice this week after a fabulous stay. We were undecided which hotel to stay at? Carnival Palace or Arcadia. Both are very new and stylish boutique hotels. We opted for Carnival Palace, which was the slightly more expensive of the two but had more reviews on it and was slightly bigger with more room choices. We were very impressed with Carnival Palace and happy with our booking.
On our second last day, we fell upon Hotel Arcadia, which is just off the Cannaregio canal but situated perfectly in the district in a vibrant strip of restaurants and market stalls, and we decided to have a peek in to see what it was like and to compare. Our first impressions of the decor on walking through the door were WOW! (I could see the wife looking at me, thinking I told him we should have stayed here!!). We were greated at the top of the stairs by Luigi the owner. He was very warm and welcoming and we told him we were being nosey and having a look around but had booked up elsewhere instead (much to our disappointment now, as first impressions do count!). This didnt deter Luigi from being friendly and he went out of his way to offer to show us around the hotel. He showed us a bedroom which was very spacious and decorated and appointed perfectly. He was a very proud man and so he should be! He explained how he has renovated this hotel over the last year and have only been open now for a matter of weeks. He has not had a day off in 7 years and works very long hours. He has blended modern decor with traditional Venetian and the chandelier in the bar area is amazing! Luigi is friends with the owner of Carnival Palace and they source some of their materials and furniture from the same suppliers. He told us all of this while we enjoyed our free espresso with him!! What a lovely touch!! In all we spent about a half hour with Luigi, and for me in a bizarre kind of way it was one of the highlights of our holiday!! Genuinely touched at meeting such a lovely man, who wasnt going to get anything from us. We WILL DEFINATELY stay here next time we visit Venice and i would strongly suggest you do too!! Make the most of the cheaper prices now, as i'm sure in the years to come this will become more expensive, as popularity increases. Wonderful hotel and Owner. Thank you Luigi for spending some of your time with us. We will never forget that. Craig and Kellie (England)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi o, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Craig and Kellie, it has been a real pleasure meeting you and having an espresso together, it is impossible not to be friendly with you, you are really nice and sunlight! I am very happy you like the hotel and the special mix of styles and colours I have chosen and really hope to have you here with me next time. Thank you so much for your special review and I wish all the best. Ciao, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked this trip having read all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and was looking forward to the excellent service that we had read about - we had already been in Italy for 2 weeks at this stage and were gratified by the genuine hospitality we had received at other highly rated Trip Advisor hotels. However unfortunately our experience was a total nightmare - the words that I would use to describe Luigi would be: rude, arrogant, pretentious, unprofessional. It was so bad that my wife who studied tourism/hospitality at University and has worked in this sector was reduced to tears as we were checking out with Luigi because of the way he treated us and our two young children. I travel extensively around the world for business and without question this was the worst service I have received anywhere. I cannot explain why this was the case - we did receive an apology about Luigi's behaviour from another gentleman who worked there when he observed the way we were treated. All I can say is based on my experience is don't stay there.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi o, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Mr Ian, we are upset for what happened but we all in the hotel have to point out as follow:
When you arrived you asked the biggest room in the hotel, as you were 4 (you booked a triple), we gave you our suite and when we told you that the price was a little higher, you told to the receptionist you were not ready to pay any extra for the room.
Every evening you come out in our bar with your own wine and food asking us glasses and dishes and when we kindly told you that the service and the cleaning, at least, should have been paid you told us that you were not ready to do it.
Every evening you asked 2 or 3 milk for your children and once again you told us that you were not ready to be charged for the service.
We gave you in 4 days, 4 extra different electronic keys because you lost all of them and when the receptionist kindly pointed out that the extra 5° key should have been paid, you told her that it was just a stupid piece of plastic and you were not ready to pay for it.
Every morning you and children come at the breakfast barefoot and even if the lady asked you to use shoes, you keep going to come without shoes and let the children jump in the sofas of the close by lobby and pulling each other the pillows. A lot of our guests complained about the noise at the breakfast time in the morning.
When you broke one of our wine glass into the room and asked to clean immediately the floor, the housekeeper found the children playing with the telephone of the room like a football ball. The new telephone have been not charged.
At the check-out you have been charged of the value of the triple room only and I let you notice what happened during your stay.
Mr Ian, you are free to judge our hotel and our job, it is your right, but we all think to have the right to say that we felt non respected at all in our home and job along all your stay from your behaviors and that you deserve as customer, from all of us, exactly the same review you gave to the hotel.
Hotel Arcadia, Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is my first-ever posted review since it is deserved. While not my first trip to Italy, it was a first to Venice, and we found the hotel online. From start to finish you will not be disappointed, IF what you want is an excellent hotel with stunning, friendly competent owners and staff, well-appointed rooms, excellent breakfast, and a good location (very short walk from the train station). When you meet Luigi you will see the very best of someone who should be in the hospitality business (and ladies, look out, he's handsome!). Staff, including Alessandro are most accommodating and genuinely interested in their clients (for example, my husband's food allergy was accommodated easily, and when we forgot our credit card at checkout, Luigi ran after us and found us on our walk to the train). We opted to get quickly away from the touristy areas, and Luigi and staff smartly guided us to locations for eating that were authentic, not that far away, and clearly off the beaten track (the walk and locations are the real deal). If touristy is your thing you'll be right in the thick of it (and if English is your only language, staff are totally accommodating). The rooms boast extremely HIGH quality furnishings and the bathtub/showers are unbelievable (Villeroy and Boch). Breakfast in the upper salon is excellent, and the salon itself is lovely. While the hotel is not on a canal, who cares? It's a great stay and there are canals all around the city. This hotel is not just some anonymous place, but one that was beautifully restored and staffed with quality and care. Now that's a rare find anywhere. For the price, it's a best bet. We would not stay at any other hotel in Venice. Grazie per tutti Luigi e staff! Amici di Minnesota

Room Tip: If you want the whole "view of a traditional Venetian street out your window, get one that face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi o, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Chaterine and Charles, what a pleasure in receiving your review. We are extremely happy you had such a good time with us and many thanks again for being here. Best wishes for all, and for Charles’s projects as well. Luigi and Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy to find on the main drag from the station, small rooms but very clean and new looking. Friendly & helpful staff. A good choice as 3 star hotels go. The room was also very quiet. Breakfast only starts at 8am which feels a little late but there was a pretty good selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luigi o, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Paul, thank you for the reviews and we are happy you and your wife spent a nice break with us.
Please be kindly aware that our breakfast is ready from 7:30 and ends at 10:30, and we very often provide the service at 7.00 or before if requested without any problem, it is a pity you felt late and sorry for that. Kind regards and happy birthday to your wife again. Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Get a water taxi to Guglie stop and its a short walk to this hotel. It's completely renovated and beautiful inside. The rooms are very nice, double glazed windows, rain shower, etc. It is located in the northern part of Venice away from the crowds down near San Marco. Venice is completely walkable so don't be concerned if this place seems a bit far away. The breakfast is comprehensive, coffee is made to your specification. Th expresso is really very good. Wifi is included and adequate. If there is a complaint, there was a bit of a smell in our room (64), early in the morning. I am not sure why this is the case. But this is a small criticism as this place is near to perfect. The staff clearly try to make everyone welcome. Stay here if you can!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlleGuglie, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Ryun and Jason,
thank you for the beautiful review. We are glad that you appreciated the service and atmosphere of our hotel and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best Regards
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was one of our favorites on our two week trip to Italy. We chose it because of it's location near the train station (a 7 min walk) and the terrific reviews.

It's very easy to walk right by the hotel since it is very unassuming on the outside. Our group of 4 rented 2 rooms for 2 nights in late May. We had one Deluxe room and one Superior room, both of which were virtually-new, clean, tastefully-appointed, and large by Italian standards. Room 50, adjacent to the front desk, on the second floor and facing the street, was larger and even had a small balcony. The downside was that there was some street noise from people walking by, until about 11 PM. The staff was uniformly helpful and friendly. We had breakfast one day and it was probably the best we'd had on our trip. My wife particularly like their scrambled eggs.

We stayed at a very nice hotel on the Grand Canal on a previous trip, in a room that cost 3 times as much. While there is something to be said for the convenience of staying on the canal, we really enjoyed seeing a different side of Venice while at Arcadia. The walk to the more popular tourist areas was only about 20 minutes and was interesting itself. It was easy getting to the airport too, since the express bus leaving from Piazzale Roma (6 euros per person) was just a 12 minute walk.

Overall, I would definitely stay at the Arcadia again when in Venice.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street might be better if you're someone who goes to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlleGuglie, Proprietario at Arcadia Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you so much for your kind review. It has been a pleasure to know that you spent good time with us and we all really hope to have you here at the Arcadia Boutique Hotel again shortly, as you wrote.
Kind Regards,
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arcadia Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Boutique Hotel

Address: Cannaregio, 1333 | Rio Tera San Leonardo, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#32 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arcadia, a splendid, charming residence in the centre of Venice, is delighted to offer you a fine stay in the magical city suspended over the waters of the lagoon. The sophisticated elegance of this small but refined boutique hotel can be seen in its captivating and romantic furnishings, a blend of period and modern, with hints of contemporary color and an atmosphere born of a glorious past. The setting is a splendid 17th century palace that harks back to the magnificent and aristocratic age of bygone Venice, but the atmosphere is one of a welcoming hotel de charme with elegant, refined taste. The result is Hotel Arcadia, a perfect blend of East and West, contemporary color and period details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Arcadia Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.