We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Basilea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Basilea to your Saves list
Hotel Basilea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Would not stay again!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were excited about arriving in Venice and our stay in Albergo Basilea, but unfortunately we would not recommend this hotel to anyone after our two night experience.

We arrived early in the morning and although we didn't expect our room to be ready, the man on the desk appeared annoyed by our arrival and that it was hassle to store our luggage or give us a map so we might find our way to the centre of Venice.

We found the man on reception (the three morning shifts) extremely rude and uncooperative. He was extremely dismissive when I tried to address the issues we experienced on our stay, with a total blasé attitude to our less than satisfactory experience. It's fair to say that he is lacking any kind of people skills. (unfortunately I did not get his name but he was middle-aged with short grey hair and some facial hair).

There was only one plug socket in our room and it was broken! So our phones and cameras had to be charged down at reception with the helpfulness of the lady on the evening shift of our first night. I told her about the plug situation and she wrote it down, but unfortunately upon checking out two days later, nothing had been done to sort the problem!

We bought wifi for €5 for 60minutes which is very dear and then it would only work in the lobby area; not in our room! The breakfast was very basic-only one type of cereal, pastries, no OJ, no fruit, and once the food ran out it wasn't replenished as it should be until the end of service.

We had to ask for the TV remote and then it still wouldn't work. And there was only one bedside light, which also was not working!

Overall, an extremely disappointing stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We read with a great disappointment and displeasure your review on our hotel.
First, allow us to excuse the attitude of our staff: we are not usual, if you would read other reviews too, to have a similar behaviour with the customers. But, likewise, we want to send you a little note: remember, please, that we are human as you, and it's simply useless to continue to complain eternally at the desk when there is a problem, because your only result it's to put a high stress on us; we always try, assure you, to give care and helpfulness to our guests (as you saw with the evening shift).
Then, it's now sorted the problem with the plug socket in the room, and the television, after a quick check, was found perfectly working: if you had called, for example, the nightshift, he immediately would show you the operation.
About the breakfast, one of our strenght (and for the price you paid, we guarantee, our it's the best value for money in Venice), it's absolutely not true what you are saying: if you came too late, maybe all the foods were finished. It's a use, if someone want to avail the best service, to come early and not at the breakfast end.
As you noticed, we have repaired the wi-fi connection: almost everywhere in Venice it's paid, and since it is already included the breakfast in the reservation, the wi-fi service, that is a cost for the hotel and a plus facility for customer, cannot be.
Maybe, the next time, just a suggestion, choose a place only for their wi-fi, that seems to be the most important thing of your stay.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    62
    26
    43
See reviews for
25
115
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Basilea for 3 nights from 7th july. We found it very satisfactory for a short stay, the bed was very comfortable & the air conditioning was excellent. The staff were friendly & helpful. Also the location was good for seeing all of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review, welcome as the air conditioning in July, and for defining us as a good place to start the exploration of Venice (very kind of you).
We hope to see you again at our hotel, to give you the same helpfulness and friendliness you found during this stay.
Renewing our thanks, also for the flattering words spent on the staff, we remain with Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel Basilea- receptionist rude n unhelpful at arrival. Didn't give us any info bout breakfast etc. rooms were fine, clean but not like the photos they have online. Decor of hotel is dated and junk lying around in corridors (Xmas tree!) location good v close to train station n boat bus t get t at marks etc no wifi

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very embittered while reading this kind of review you made.
We are sorry that you found our welcoming at the hotel not as our standards are usual to be: the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff members is proudly one of our point of strenght (as testified in many other reviews), and we are sure it was just an unfortunate case, because after all, remember, we are human.
Then, your room was in the annex (if you check our website, you'll see that there are photos referred exclusively to the annex, the solution you chose), the Hotel Basilea Dependance (what you have booked for), which has simple and clean rooms, cheap and for travellers with no great expectations: not your case, it would seem.
The junk in the corridors is absolutely a strange and unique fact: we have resolved immediately this kind of fault, a funny oversight, as we read.
Repeating our regret for the review, we hope you will give us in the future the occasion to change the vote you assigned us.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this hotel through our travel agent and did not expect too much. Luckily it wasn't bad at all. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and tidy as well. We also had air con in our room, which helped a lot!! The room wasn't very big though, but we didn't need more space any way. It's location is perfect, because it is situated in the middle of Venice. The staff was friendly and did their best to make us feel at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean and tidy room for a few days and do not want to spend too much on accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review you decided to insert here on TripAdvisor.
Your words flatter all the hotel staff and make us proud to have offered a better service than you expected (and we guarantee absolutely standard for the Basilea's uses).
What we offer is an enviable value for money to stay in Venice, also because we include a plenty continental breakfast, free air conditioning and a reception service always helpful resolving every your trouble and doing their best for the hotel guests.
At the end, pleased that you appreciated your stay with us, we express many thanks for the advice, which makes us wish on your return soon too.
With Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After reading some very bad reviews about this hotel,our holiday was almost spoiled before we had even left. We set off for Venice expecing the worst(offensive staff,mouldy beds,bed bugs,dirty communal showers,etc). We were very surprised to see that on our arrival things were not bad at all. Was this the wrong hotel? We had booked a room for 5 nights in the annex. The room was perfect..we even had an ensuite which wasn't expected. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very tasty. Cakes,croissants,cereals,hams,cheese and all the bread you can eat. This hotels is good value for money and we would gladly stay again..although we would not book through ebookers as they,on the otherhand,are extremely unhelpful and useless. So much so I feel I should make a complaint,but know it would fall on deaf ears. Maybe they would even hang up on me like they did before..Poor show.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased while reading your amazing review, and would want thank you for sharing it here on TripAdvisor.
As you have seen, the reviews don't tell always the truth: who book at Hotel Basilea can spend a pleasant stay as your, exactly with the same quality and care you found: a nice room in typical venetian style (with ensuite bathroom, as in all rooms of Basilea, the main building) and, during the morning, the occasion to enjoy a tasty continental breakfast in the charming hall.
Renewing our thanks for your feed, we wait you for another gladly stay here with us.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are booking last minute online with this hotel, do not expect what the reviews say or the photo's show. A refund is not available if you book online, and there are so many good places in Venice you could show up to another 3 star hotel and view rooms before securing payment.

Satisfied and impressed by what we saw online, we chose this location but it appears the hotel's main clientelle are tour guests and so do not expect a room as others have experienced. We were given the bottom floor room which was dark, old, tired, smelly, and only a half step up from a backpackers with power-points not functioning and lights not working. Water in the taps was luke warm, and whilst towels were clean. pillows and blankets did not appear clean. Make sure you get to breakfast early as stocks are not refreshed and restaurant waitstaff appear rude, tired and overworked. We arranged to check out an hour early and received a rude response from reception when the message had not been past on to morning shift.

Expect 2 star for this venue if you are not on a tour - they money paid is better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before securing payment, and request a floor facing the river if you book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Anonymous Reviewer,
We are very embittered after reading this page of criticisms. Besides, even more embittered because you write facts far from truth about our hotel, which doesn't correspond at all to the description you made: in fact, the hotel has effectively ground floor rooms, but these are absolutely clean and functional (and functioning); totally differents than you show them, because instead are cosy like the others. Continuing, we define as even slanderous your words on the waitstaff, and everyone who wants read the other reviews would see how it's always helpful, kind and full of courtesy.
After said so, we believe to have to affirm, after reading what you writing that you, frustrated by the fact to haven't got the room you expected (and for which, we take care to specify, there's a suitable solution; and we remember to you that you haven't made request to not get a ground floor room), also because of your last minute booking (for which there was availablity just for the room assigned you), you have decided to revenge on us through this wretched "review" (a set of malice, it would be better to say).
Above all, we wonder why you haven't shown any complains directly during your stay at the hotel, but just when you came back to home.
At the end, we urge the Readers of Tripadvisor to give not much care to this kind of attack, conscious that the described hotel, we repeat, doesn't correspond at all to Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Two delightful nights spent at the Hotel Basilea. Were given a room on the first floor overlooking the canal and within minutes had singing gondaliers going by. The room was very spacious with furnishings in typical Venetian style and lovely and clean. The reception staff were very welcoming and spoke good English. This hotel is very centrally located, ideal for wandering around the streets or catching water ferries out to the other islands. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about the two nights spent at Hotel Basilea.
We are very pleased while reading the details in the review you inserted: the gondoliers who crossed singing along Rio Marin (in fact, named "the canal of serenades"), the beauty and spaciousness of your room, the staff friendliness (flattered by your compliments).
Finally, allow us to tell that we are waiting you for another wonderful stay here in Venice, to relish the same feelings enjoyed during this one.
Returning warmly your thanks.
Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Basilea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.