We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Basilea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Basilea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Basilea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 382 hotels in Venice
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel Basilea- receptionist rude n unhelpful at arrival. Didn't give us any info bout breakfast etc. rooms were fine, clean but not like the photos they have online. Decor of hotel is dated and junk lying around in corridors (Xmas tree!) location good v close to train station n boat bus t get t at marks etc no wifi

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very embittered while reading this kind of review you made.
We are sorry that you found our welcoming at the hotel not as our standards are usual to be: the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff members is proudly one of our point of strenght (as testified in many other reviews), and we are sure it was just an unfortunate case, because after all, remember, we are human.
Then, your room was in the annex (if you check our website, you'll see that there are photos referred exclusively to the annex, the solution you chose), the Hotel Basilea Dependance (what you have booked for), which has simple and clean rooms, cheap and for travellers with no great expectations: not your case, it would seem.
The junk in the corridors is absolutely a strange and unique fact: we have resolved immediately this kind of fault, a funny oversight, as we read.
Repeating our regret for the review, we hope you will give us in the future the occasion to change the vote you assigned us.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    58
    63
    29
    39
See reviews for
25
104
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked this hotel through our travel agent and did not expect too much. Luckily it wasn't bad at all. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean and tidy as well. We also had air con in our room, which helped a lot!! The room wasn't very big though, but we didn't need more space any way. It's location is perfect, because it is situated in the middle of Venice. The staff was friendly and did their best to make us feel at home. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean and tidy room for a few days and do not want to spend too much on accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the wonderful review you decided to insert here on TripAdvisor.
Your words flatter all the hotel staff and make us proud to have offered a better service than you expected (and we guarantee absolutely standard for the Basilea's uses).
What we offer is an enviable value for money to stay in Venice, also because we include a plenty continental breakfast, free air conditioning and a reception service always helpful resolving every your trouble and doing their best for the hotel guests.
At the end, pleased that you appreciated your stay with us, we express many thanks for the advice, which makes us wish on your return soon too.
With Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

After reading some very bad reviews about this hotel,our holiday was almost spoiled before we had even left. We set off for Venice expecing the worst(offensive staff,mouldy beds,bed bugs,dirty communal showers,etc). We were very surprised to see that on our arrival things were not bad at all. Was this the wrong hotel? We had booked a room for 5 nights in the annex. The room was perfect..we even had an ensuite which wasn't expected. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was very tasty. Cakes,croissants,cereals,hams,cheese and all the bread you can eat. This hotels is good value for money and we would gladly stay again..although we would not book through ebookers as they,on the otherhand,are extremely unhelpful and useless. So much so I feel I should make a complaint,but know it would fall on deaf ears. Maybe they would even hang up on me like they did before..Poor show.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased while reading your amazing review, and would want thank you for sharing it here on TripAdvisor.
As you have seen, the reviews don't tell always the truth: who book at Hotel Basilea can spend a pleasant stay as your, exactly with the same quality and care you found: a nice room in typical venetian style (with ensuite bathroom, as in all rooms of Basilea, the main building) and, during the morning, the occasion to enjoy a tasty continental breakfast in the charming hall.
Renewing our thanks for your feed, we wait you for another gladly stay here with us.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are booking last minute online with this hotel, do not expect what the reviews say or the photo's show. A refund is not available if you book online, and there are so many good places in Venice you could show up to another 3 star hotel and view rooms before securing payment.

Satisfied and impressed by what we saw online, we chose this location but it appears the hotel's main clientelle are tour guests and so do not expect a room as others have experienced. We were given the bottom floor room which was dark, old, tired, smelly, and only a half step up from a backpackers with power-points not functioning and lights not working. Water in the taps was luke warm, and whilst towels were clean. pillows and blankets did not appear clean. Make sure you get to breakfast early as stocks are not refreshed and restaurant waitstaff appear rude, tired and overworked. We arranged to check out an hour early and received a rude response from reception when the message had not been past on to morning shift.

Expect 2 star for this venue if you are not on a tour - they money paid is better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before securing payment, and request a floor facing the river if you book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Anonymous Reviewer,
We are very embittered after reading this page of criticisms. Besides, even more embittered because you write facts far from truth about our hotel, which doesn't correspond at all to the description you made: in fact, the hotel has effectively ground floor rooms, but these are absolutely clean and functional (and functioning); totally differents than you show them, because instead are cosy like the others. Continuing, we define as even slanderous your words on the waitstaff, and everyone who wants read the other reviews would see how it's always helpful, kind and full of courtesy.
After said so, we believe to have to affirm, after reading what you writing that you, frustrated by the fact to haven't got the room you expected (and for which, we take care to specify, there's a suitable solution; and we remember to you that you haven't made request to not get a ground floor room), also because of your last minute booking (for which there was availablity just for the room assigned you), you have decided to revenge on us through this wretched "review" (a set of malice, it would be better to say).
Above all, we wonder why you haven't shown any complains directly during your stay at the hotel, but just when you came back to home.
At the end, we urge the Readers of Tripadvisor to give not much care to this kind of attack, conscious that the described hotel, we repeat, doesn't correspond at all to Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Venice hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Two delightful nights spent at the Hotel Basilea. Were given a room on the first floor overlooking the canal and within minutes had singing gondaliers going by. The room was very spacious with furnishings in typical Venetian style and lovely and clean. The reception staff were very welcoming and spoke good English. This hotel is very centrally located, ideal for wandering around the streets or catching water ferries out to the other islands. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about the two nights spent at Hotel Basilea.
We are very pleased while reading the details in the review you inserted: the gondoliers who crossed singing along Rio Marin (in fact, named "the canal of serenades"), the beauty and spaciousness of your room, the staff friendliness (flattered by your compliments).
Finally, allow us to tell that we are waiting you for another wonderful stay here in Venice, to relish the same feelings enjoyed during this one.
Returning warmly your thanks.
Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we were booked in the annex hotel (the dependence) however we were given a room in the main hotel and although slightly dated it was perfect for Venice gilt and chandeliers everywhere and extremely clean. The position is excellent only 10 minutes walk from the main bus station and 5 minutes walk from the train station. The breakfast is limited so get there early to get more than pastries however the staff are really friendly and speak very good English. As other reviews have said make sure you have a good map to find your way through the maze of streets and as there are numerous bridges to cross and no lift at the hotel so pack wisely. We will book this hotel next time we visit Venice.

Room Tip: there are a few rooms on the canal side which would be lovely to have as the sun rises on that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing your nice review with the readers of Tripadvisor and with us.
We are very pleased to hear you appreciated the cleanness of the hotel and the typical venetian atmosphere of the furnishing.
Then, glad that you expressed your wish to stay again at our hotel, allow us to suggest, the next time, to not rely on a upgrade from the dependancy, but to book directly for the Hotel Basilea, and may choosing (and we believe you'll appreciate a lot) one of the rooms overlooking the picturesque and charming Rio Marin.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is set on the banks of the Marin canal in the centre of Venice, close to the Piazzala Roma - the termination point for the Airport bus. Make sure you have a good map, especially if you arrive at night, as the short walk to the hotel is rather tortuous.
My wife and I booked the hotel as part of a flight/hotel package with Easyjet. Our spacious triple room appeared to have been recently refurbished in traditional style. The en-suite was also large, incorporating a bath with shower, WC, handbasin and bidet. despite the cold weather the accommodation was very warm and controllable by large radiators in the room and en-suite. The bed was extremely comfortable and the mattress seemed quite new. The hotel was occupied a few nights by some rather noisy students - hence only 4 stars for the sleep quality!
Reception appeared to be manned 24 hours a day by one of two very friendly, efficient guys. They both spoke good English and were very helpful, particularly in explaining about tourist sites, how to get to them and where to buy tickets and so on.
Breakfast was continental - various pastries, fruit juice, breads, cheese, jams and spreads. Ideal if you have a sweet tooth. Coffee and tea was served at the table and you helped yourself to the food. The pleasant breakfast room overlooked the canal.
This hotel was good value for money. If you are on a budget and need a nice room in the heart of the city then you should consider the Basilea.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your splendid review. We are so pleased that you have appreciated the attitude of our staff, and that you had a good, satisfing breakfast in the nice hall.
Moreover, it gave us great pleasure your note concerning the recent restoration of the Hotel, partly testified in your photos.
Finally, we remain with best regards, hoping on a your return for another enjoyable stay.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Basilea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.