We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location , value for money , comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Basilea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Basilea to your Saves list
Hotel Basilea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location , value for money , comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Having studied all the mixed reviews we decided to go with our choice of the Basilea seeking a basic but clean base for our break in venice in a good location . It did not disappoint.
The location is excellent about 5 mins from the railway station and access to the Waterbus . Easy walking to Rialto and St Marks .
The double room ( 132) was two beds together but were clean and comfortable , the en suite bathroom looked as though had just been refurbished and no complaints, good shower and plenty hot water even busy mornings . Breakfast again basic , cereal , juice, coffee a range of pastries and eggs on request . We found no reason for complaint and the waitress though busy was always pleasant. The team on reception were helpful and pleasant despite a full hotel always remembered us on our return with the key and warm greetings . Wi fi available in the foyer area if needed, tv available with deposit for remote but we went to venice to explore and did not miss the tv at all !
We were pleased we chose the Basilea , in advance of our trip we did e mail the hotel to confirm directions from the bus/ train and had immediate reply with detailed map , at the same time we also re confirmed that we did not want to stay either in any sister hotel or in the annex of this hotel . May be worth doing if like us you had some concerns re the comments found on this site . As it turned out we had an enjoyable stay and got exactly what we asked for !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the choice and for sharing your feedback on what appears to have been an agreeable stay for you. It's a real pleasure to affirm that you have acknowledged the value of the Hotel (recently restored), its comfort, and our dedication to give the best service to the customers. We remain with kind regards, hoping to have you as welcome guest in the future.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    62
    26
    43
See reviews for
25
115
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, its basic, but has a real charm - an odd mix of Regency decor throughout and modern art in the hallway. The room was comfortable, a decent size and was clean. We paid just under £50 a night for a double room and buffet breakfast, can't really say fairer than that for Venice. A city tax is applied by all hotels in Venice, which is payable when you leave, so remember to factor this in, even if you have already paid for the room.
It's a great location if you want to escape the crowds with some fabulous bars and resturants minutes away. It's close to the bus and train station, so you don't have to hump your luggage miles and the water bus stop is very close, get a day or 3 day ticket to save money and remember to swipe it everytime you board or you will be fined. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the Hotel Basilea. We read with pleasure that you appreciated the furniture of the hotel, the cleanness and the comfort of your room. We hope to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the mixed reviews we were worried but all turned out well in the end, from reading other reviews I think the issue is with the sister hotel. The reception lady was lovely and always made is smile, the hotel was very old and 'classic' but 100% clean! I didn't see any dirt or dust throughout the stay. The room was warm and small, and although it was a twin room the two beds were pushed together to make a double and it was in no way uncomfortable. Breakfast was limited but for the price we didn't mind. City tax was €8 for the two nights stay. Hotel was located a short walk for everything so great location! Would be happy to go back. Although wifi would have been nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciations about our hotel. We always endeavour to ensure you the best service we can. Looking forward to welcoming you the next time.
Kind regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We are a young couple from australia who for the first time was venchering to venice. As we are younger than the average hotel-goer our expecations are not very high. Hotel basilea is a short (odd) walk from the station of venice. As soon as we arrived the hotel staff (1 lady) instanstly directed us to another hotel all the way back into the city centre.... Is this a good start? We had booked our stay on hostelworld
And at the time of the booking it had nothing mentioned about being transferred to another hotel. The lady at the other hotel denied that this happened then she lied to us about our breakfast which we had pay for. The hotel that we had been moved to was also in our opinion of a much lower standard and as we classified it, a 'matchbox'. I cannot reccomend hotel basilea nor can i say to avoid it. This is just how we were treated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiene. Here we want to explain what is really happened: in your reservation was written that, in case of technical problems (like the restoration of the Hotel), the same reservation might be transferred to a sister hotel; we suggest our customers to read carefully all the informations before to make the booking. In fact, maybe, you were attracted by the very favorable price and so you not read all the informations which were well specified. At last, you had not a actual stay at the Hotel Basilea, so your review is not founded: you stayed at a sister hotel associated to the Basilea. We pray you to stay at the Hotel and to take advantage of the services before to give a judgement on the Hotel.
Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Compton, California, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

When we first arrived at the hotel we was expecting something quite nice, seen as it was a 3 star hotel and the pictures on the internet looked impressive. But to our disapointment when we walked through the doors it was like a 1 star hotel, the hotel receptionist was very rude and smarmy he didnt even show us to our room not only that but he decided to charge us £30 city tax when we had already paid for everything online and it was not mentioned anywhere in the small print. When we got in our hotel room the floors where damp, we had asked for a double bed but to our discust we found 2 single beds pushed together to make a double. When we woke up in the morning we BOTH had these weird red rashes on our skin whiched caused much concern!! There was a tv in there but did not work, Also there was only 1 working plug socket in the whole room and no knobs on the draws. Then to add insult to injury we was under the impression we was going to have a shower but instead we got a bath and a shower head attached to the bath. As we got in bed we also noticed that the chandilere that was right above the bed was dangling by a wire from the celling about our heads!!! Very Dangerous by the looks of it. The walls were s thin we could even hear when people was running the bath next door and hurd nearly every word that they was saying. When we went down to complain we just got fobbed off be him saying that we only have single beds incase bigger parties stay. room service was out of the question and the breakfast was appaulling, and the vending machines they did have were both broke. All in all the hotel was horrendous but we didnt let it spoil out holiday venice is a beautifull place. And as for the location it was ok but on the description on there website it said only 10mins walk to St. Marks Square deffinatly not more like 1 hour walk! We will deffinatly be coming back but NOT to this hotel!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay out of the Anexx
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Customer,
We read with disappointment your negative review. We would like to inform you and all the readers of Tripadvisor that the Hotel Basilea has benefited of a major renovation, to solve also the problems raised by you and to improve in other aspects.
As you should have known, the city tax is paid by all the guests of the Venetian hotels, and it's a tax levied by the city of Venice, that shall levy through the hotel.
The rest of your comment is inconceivable, evidently influenced by the intention to show the hotel in a bad light, also with using slanderous imaginated particulars (for example, "red rushes"...).
We are ready and willing to accept the right and correct observations, but not this kind of malevolent and tendentious attacks.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Eastern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Short distance from S. Lucia railwaystation and had possibility to storage your lugagge after checking out. Not so far from Rialto bridge or San Marco square, good walking distances. We stayed in Venice two days and didn't need any waterbuses or -taxis.

The room was a bit worn out but quiet and decent. The furniture were old-fashioned but quite characteristic. Breakfast was okay - even eggs, cereals and muesli were available. The receptionist was kind and helpful and could speak english properly.

We stayed there only one night but could have been stayed few more. It was okay and good value for your money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on what appears to have been an enjoyable stay for you. We read with pleasure your appreciations concerning our location, our breakfast and our staff. Besides, we have made a great restoration of the Hotel, so we are waiting for you during your next Venetian stay, also to show you the results.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

right on the canal side, very close to train station and the water buses to major sites, within easy walking distance of st marks square. we stayed 2 nights, 1 night in the hotel and the 2nd night they lost our booking and so had to move to the annex. main hotel room was a twin room and very well maintained, shower was a bit crazy! i would not recomend a room in the annex, we stayed end of october the room was cold and heating could not be put on "due to budget cuts" according to the receptionist. ensuite bathroom, very small bath with a strange step in it, with a shower head you had to hold as didn't stay upright.the room and bathroom were both generally worn and tired looking. annex is only across the street from main hotel. breakfast had a good selection of cereal, pastries etc, usual european style breakfast.overall a good stay but would avoid a room in the annex. good value for money. do not go when there is high waters as hotel location means you have to wade through the water to the main train station, also get woken by the flood siren at 6am!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you underline the comfortable location of the hotel, well linked to transports and main ways, but in a quiet area.
As you noticed, there's a clear difference between the Hotel Basilea (the central building where is the reception) and the dependancy (the building on street's other side): the first one belongs to three stars category, while the second has a classification of two stars category (and it explains also the style difference of the rooms assigned).
We are please that you liked the breakfast, in particular the selection of pastries.
Then, we want to clarify that the heating is switched off at a certain hour of night, and comes switched on just a few hours later, so the customers go to sleep and find, at their awakening, the room warm.
With regard to flooding: the Hotel Basilea hasn't real problems with it; however, the purchase of wellies permits tourists, generally, to move easier around Venice (especially during the Winter months).
Finally, we apologize for your booking disadvantage: maybe, the next time, you may send an email to ascertain that the reservation is occured.
We send you Kind regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Basilea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.