We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loads of Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli to your Saves list
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cannaregio 4391/A - Strada Nuova, 30131 Venice, Italy (Cannaregio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 439 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loads of Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you are looking for a small hotel, in a good location, with lots of charm, this is it! The hotel has a great location overlooking the Grand Canal near the Rialto Bridge that can be readily seen from the shared living room space. The rooms are good sized as was the bath in our room. The breakfast is limited but adequate. The hosts are very kind and helpful. We'd stay here again anytime. It's a very good value.

Room Tip: Two rooms face the Grand Canal and are worth the extra money in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    87
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
59
139
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel had a terrific location and very helpful staff and breakfast was very good.
Room was clean and shower was adequate.
Only downside was they turned off the air conditioning in mid-October and the room was stuffy.
Couldn't leave the windows open because of mosquitoes.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancaster ontario canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent a night here on Oct 12. We took a water taxi and were dropped at their Grand Canal dock. There were six of us and our rooms were very similar, charming and comfortable. Out the Strada Nuova side, there is a bustling street full of shops and restaurants. We walked in both directions a long way, just enjoying. The breakfast was great and I would definitely recommend this place. It wasn't cheap but I don't think much in Venice is cheap and it was wonderful to stay in a place where we could walk pretty well everywhere. I took a picture around sunrise, from the lounge balcony that looks photoshopped it is so attractive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lauderdale
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arrived late and very tired after a long day of travel. We could not find the hotel due to the numbers on the buildings not being in order. We were not too happy. But we got up the next morning, saw the lovely view from the lounge, were greeted at breakfast by the cheerful Michaela, and we were sold. The place definitely grew on us and we looked forward to returning to it each evening. It was nice to open the gate and find ourselves in a quiet place after the hustle and bustle of Venice. Many of the guests would gather in the lounge to chat and have a glass of wine. A laptop computer with free wifi is provided for those who need to keep in touch. Our room was not luxurious, but it was large and the bathroom updated. The only complaint was that part of the room was on a kind of raised platform, definitely a tripping hazard, and we had to be careful to remember to step down when walking around at night. The breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs made to order on request. The staff were all very accommodating, and Laura in particular went out of her way to answer all our questions. I have no hesitation in recommending this bed & breakfast for a Venice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent four nights at the Locanda and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.
The location is excellent and withing easy walking reach of the major sights. The hotel itself is the third floor of an old Palace, the Western end of which overlooks the Grand Canal.
Access to the hotel is through a doorway into a private courtyard just off the Southern end of the Strada Nouva. A tiny lift is to be found up a couple of steps to your left.
At night it's rather nice to step off busy Strada Nouva and let yourself into the courtyard with your own key.
A tip for first time visitors. Although the hotel kindly sent us information regarding various options for arrival, think about how much luggage you will have and choose carefully. We decided to take the boat from the airport to the Rialto Bridge and then take the short walk from there! With a heavy/large cases this is not an easy task as their are several bridges with many steps to traverse while jostling with crowds. On our departure the hotel staff ordered us a water taxi which picked us up from the Hotel's own jetty and took us direct to St Lucia Station completely hassle free.
Our room was a decent size, clean and comfortable, the air-conditioning worked very well.
The wifi in our room was not great, I think we were just about at the limit of the router the best coverage was in our bathroom ! This was not a big issue as you can sit in the lounge and internet to your hearts content.
The breakfast was good, a buffet continental, but with orders taken for cooked breakfast eggs if required.
The staff were extremely helpful giving us lots of information regarding places to visit that were off the main tourist routes.
The sitting room features a balcony that overlooks the grand canal, its great to spend a few minutes standing and watching the hustle and bustle of traffic on the canal.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, but if you want a canal view as well you will need to specifically book one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent three fantastic days in Venice, including two peaceful nights at this Locanda. We found the place quite easily. The Locanda is located in a busy street in the third floor of an old Palace overlooking the Canale Grande, very close to the Rialto Bridge and in a super location. Walking or by vaporetti you can easily reach any destination you choose. The rooms are big, clean, comfortable and quiet. Bathroom big and clean and the shower was a dream after a full walking day. The hotel team was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but good enough. They also had a huge selection of my gluten free food, which I have previously required. Free Wi-Fi and it really works fine. So people if you decided to go to Venice you know were to stay this Locanda is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

3 nights at the Locanda and we can only reiterate the positive comments left by other travellers. Our room overlooking the canal was large and welcoming. We appreciated the fact that the hotel contacted us via email to confirm booking done via standard hotel booking platform. They organized for us a transfer from the airport, which went very smoothly, and on the day of our departure, they were very resourceful to have us a water taxi within 10 minutes. Not so obvious in a city where everything runs on water.

In the room, we found protection against mosquito, which is necessary to provide you with a good nigth sleep.

In Venice, you will quickly realize that your dollar is worth less then in other cities. Considering this, the Locanda is good value for the quality. The locanda is strategically located, about same distance from the station, St-Mark's square, the Accademia and Fondamenta Nuova (boats to Airport, Murano or further).

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with canal view - a bit more expensive and not as quiet as what you may expect, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli

Address: Cannaregio 4391/A - Strada Nuova, 30131 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 439 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda ai Santi Apostoli is the ideal setting for your vacation in the lagoon.Immerse yourself into the life of Venice with Rialto and San Marco only a few moments away along with the colours of the market and the gentle rocking of the Gondolas just below your window. The ancient Palazzo Michiel dal Brusà will welcome you into the warm ambience of an elegant and true Venetian Home overlooking the Grand Canal.In this small and comfortable 3 star hotel, set in the heart of the Old Town, you will be able to truly enjoy one of the most privileged and panoramic locations in Venice.This family business will be delighted to ensure you a friendly and attentive service to make your holiday an experience to remember! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.