We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST Hotel I have ever used!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel alla Salute

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel alla Salute to your Saves list
Hotel alla Salute
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salute 222, Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The WORST Hotel I have ever used!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

There are three words to describe this place.....awful,filthy and disgusting!
We arrived on a wet and cold Sunday afternoon and were greeted by a filthy room which was freezing cold and a shared bathroom which was disgustingly filthy. The bed was the worst we had ever slept on......in fact we didn't sleep for the three nights we were there. There was no hot water and despite complaints to reception we had cold showers in the month of October. The staff couldn't care less. Our room was freezing. The old dusty and filthy radiator never came on and the single glazed window with broken shutters offered little insulation. All we could do was spend as much time out and about as we dreaded heading back to this dump each night. There is no lift, so be prepared to drag your suitcases up flights of stairs. In fact on our last night we helped a young girl take her suitcase to the second floor. She said that she had asked for help at reception but the guy there said there was nothing he could do. Charming!
Please please don't make the mistake we did. We took a chance on this place despite seeing numerous negative reviews on here. We won't make that mistake again. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    143
    111
    103
    160
See reviews for
91
279
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
worcester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was extremely excited to stay at this hotel as the rooms on the website look amazing! But when we got there it was terrible. We didnt have ANY HOT WATER the bathroom was filthy and we had no towels or hairdryers. There were huge holes in the wall, the room was so cold that we woke up 3 times during the night. When we complained about all of this they acted shocked and didn't care or do anything about it, but it was no shock to them because by the look of all of the other reviews they already knew!
DO NOT STAY HERE! It completely ruined our trip to venice!

Room Tip: By the looks of our room don't even bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is an insult to the hotel business in Venice and was the only low point of our umpteenth visit to the city. Upon our arrival, the staff member at reception (Federica) insisted upon wanting to charge my credit card. We explained that payment had already been taken via PayPal / Booking.com - we showed her our confirmation email but she rolled her eyes and claimed that money is taken from a customer's account only if and once she physically processed the payment...Her tone soon became arrogant, her incompetence most frustrating. After a discussion that lasted much longer than it should have, her lack of basic training and familiarity with established electronic payment systems was confirmed when she finally but hesitatingly accepted to call Booking.com and was told that my card had already been charged! The manner in which this person managed the situation was embarrassing and most unprofessional.
What is most telling about this 'establishment' is that despite 81 "Poor" and 125 "Terrible" ratings at the time of this review, the management has done little or nothing to rectify the same issues other guests have raised previously. The service remains an insult to basic intelligence. Even for the most rustic, undiscerning traveler, charging €149 (+ tax) for a dirty room with a terrible bed and communal bathrooms/showers along with presumptuous reception clerks is outrageous. Management of this place should remind itself and its staff of one elementary concept, especially vital in the hospitality space: the client is most-often if not always right..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Well, I was in Venice so I didn't care that much but it would have been nice for 250 euro a night to have working wifi, hot water, and a tolerable smell. Place was run down, no toilet seat on the shared toilet, pathetic breakfast, no AC (I know I know it's Europe), stinky shower and the worst bed I've ever slept on. Next time would stay in the town just outside of Venice or pay even more and stay at a fancier place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The only good thing going for this "hotel?" is the friendly young guy at the reception area and even if you want a quiet location, the condition of this rubbish place is beyond despair. From entering our room, the look was absolutely depressing, we couldn't even touch the filthy bedspread covering the bed. Unfortunately we paid in advance an outrageous amount for this hotel, otherwise we would have left on the spot. Thankfully the sheets were clean and like everybody mentions on the comments, there is NO HOT WATER! One of the light bulbs went out and I took it to the reception area where I was told that it was going to be replaced. When we returned that evening, it hasn't been changed and when I went to the reception to ask about it, not the young guy but another middle age guy told me that it was not his job to take care of that. I couldn't believe such rudeness!! Thank God we left the next day.
The area is great but not worth any amount of money to stay in this hotel so do yourselves a favor and find another one.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Venice is unique. To stay in Venice one wants a place far from star crusted modern glass/concrete mansions. We found just a perfect place in Hotel Alla Salute, 10min walk from the Vaporetto-stop ’ Salute' at the eastern end of Dorsoduro. Just across from San Marco and 5 min by boat. The rooms are clean with tasteful interior. We had a room for two with two views of a small canal and perfectly working bathroom with real hot shower. Excellent breakfast, a most amiable staff, helpful in every way in English and Spanish.
There are many highlights within short walking distance as well as small perfect cafes and the best ice-cream places. Two minutes walk from the hotel gives us panorama views of San Marco to the North or la Giudecca to the South.
A Salute to Salute!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

If this hotel had been in some outback australian town, maybe i could forgive its hospo sins. The best thing about this hotel, depending on your perspective, is just how far away from everything it is. The only quiet sestiere in town, apparently, called dorsoduro, is home to this rubbish place. Which is a shame for the otherwise magnificent area. The staff were great but you couldn't help but wonder how they slept at night pretending, in their snappy uniforms, to be employees of a real hotel. It was 900 EURO FOR 3 NIGHTS!!!!!! And there was no hot water.
No. Hot. Water.
The basic requirement, along with a roof and a bed, that makes a hotel was utterly absent. For 300 hundred euro a night I would expect them to fly to Australia to mow my lawn and do my tax. The least they could do is provide better than tepid showers. The place needs to be stripped, sandblasted, replumbed and overhauled. Perhaps rebuilt from the ground up. The bedspreads, however, are reminiscent of baroque design. This is the best feature.
The area is great if you like the nearest thing Venice has to offer to quiet. Which is a blessed relief. If you can find something else in the area...
Oh, and don't be fooled into eating next door at the Messner. Bad idea.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel alla Salute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Salute

Address: Salute 222, Fondamenta Ca Bala, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Salute 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel alla Salute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Salute Hotel
Alla Salute Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel alla Salute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.