We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casanova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casanova Hotel to your Saves list
Casanova Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 1284 | Frezzaria 1284, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Nowhere, NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I take tour groups to Italy and I just LOVE this hotel. Whenever I can, I stay here. The hotel itself is just adorable. It looks like it probably did 500 yrs ago, only with a modern and updated touch. The rooms are ample by European standards, very clean and updated.The breakfast is very nice. The location can't be beat - about a block off of San Marco and a spit from the vaporetto stop. It's tucked away so the noise level is never a problem. It's not that expensive by Venetian standards but for the price, you can't beat the location. It's lovely. I've recommended it more times than I can count and no one's complained yet!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    79
    65
    12
    16
See reviews for
41
90
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Breakfast was okay, could have had more than pastries. Good location though and decent staff. Rooms were clean, and spacious... One family member had an awesome balcony over the street... fun to watch the people go by.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel casa nova in August 2013. It was nice room size and affordable, very clean. I would certainly stay here again. Only issue to consider is if your room is above the street ( as our room was) the night noise from pedestrians is quite loud. Over all an excellent experience in fabulous Venice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We thought that we would try and stay really close to St Marks. This place is really close to St. Marks but if your with kids I'd save your money and stay on the mainland. Venice in the St Marks end gets pretty quiet at night and to be honest once you've wandered the streets all day you wont really fancy doing it again at night. For a couple I'd imagine it would be romantic. The hotel is nice, but quite worn and small if your with a family. The kids slept on a couch and cot which was fine. The aircon was out of the 60's so not very effective and it was loud at night. The hotel did a nice breakfast which set you up for the day. Overall a nice place, but nothing to get excited about.

Room Tip: AC is noisy and needed to be off at night to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been to venice for three days and we stayed in this hotel.great spot in the heart of the city.Rooms were a little bit old and breakfast very poor.the price is very high for the things they offer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice hotel for first time in Venice-- close to everything-- great location. My husband and I traveled with our 9 year old- triple occupancy was good value. Decent breakfast. Very nice front desk and very helpful. To be picky..Did not LoVe the pillows - but very tired so we slept anyway, and I am picky about mold in shower-- so that bothered me- but would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Casanova is a tiny little getaway in the heart of Venice, with steep steps and small rooms, and an abundance of charm. Yes, it could use some TLC repairs and fresh paint, but its natural charm is enduring and appealing. Price was quite reasonable too (booked on-line). Location is great for couples traveling, but the tight and steep stairwells may be challenging for older travelers or those with athlete's knees.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova Hotel

Address: San Marco 1284 | Frezzaria 1284, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casanova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.