We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canaletto to your Saves list
Hotel Canaletto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thankyou.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Recently went on a short break to Venice&stayed here.The location was perfect,5mins from the Rialto Bridge,not much further to St.Marks Square.The hotel was clean,warm&comfortable&very good value for money,but the main mention must go to the staff.How lovely,friendly&helpful they were,especially Lara,Marco&the gentleman on duty in the nice suit each morning whose name I never knew,unfortunately.Nothing was too much trouble for them&they came across as very caring&wanted you to feel like it was a "Home from Home".We will definately stay here again. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    272
    105
    21
    16
See reviews for
121
325
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

On a recent trip to Venice with my partner i spent three nights at this hotel, After reading previous reviews i had slight concerns about finding the hotel as it seemed to be in a difficult location, however this hotel can be located very easily by following the simple directions that the hotel have on there website and the hotel is well sign posted. The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Venice its only a three minute walk from rialto Bridge and less that five minutes walk to St Marks Square. Around the hotel there are great places to eat and drink at a reasonable price. The room was excellent it was ammacualte, spacious and very traditional. During our stay at the hotel the staff were brilliant and really did go the extra mile, when we were leaving for the airport to fly home at around 6 am the staff had prepared a takeaway brekfast for us which was unexpected. I would reccomed this hotel to anyone who is plannning on visiting Venice, I really had to give this hotel 5 stars it was faultless and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Unlike many other reviewers, I found finding the hotel quite easy to find. Just follow the map provided on the hotel website and on the main street you will come across a signpost for 'Hotel Canaletto' leading you to the hotel. The location is very good - a 10 minute slow/easy walk from either Rialto Bridge or Saint Mark's Square and there are signposts everywhere to point you in the right direction.

The beds in our room were VERY small. I am just under 5 foot 7 and my feet were hanging over the edge of the bed. There are blankets instead of quilts which I found quite troublesome as I believe they were very old and dusty as it triggered asthma for me every night, which I did not experience in any of my other European hotels. The bathroom was quite large which was nice, but it had a constant odour about it...

The breakfast is average, although the barista on hand is much appreciated as some hotels are want to provide you with an automatic coffee machine only, so a fresh espresso was nice.

Reception staff were generally very nice and helpful, except for the gentlemen who was often there after hours who was not very helpful.

I think WIFI is dependent on the staff who is at the front desk - when we arrived we were given passwords free of charge for unlimited access, but when my travel partner lost her password and asked the after hours staff for another one we were given the 5euro/1hour offer.

I would probably not return to Hotel Canaletto, but for the bargain price paid it was a good, central, location with a just average service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We hadn't been to Venice before and the only thing that worried me was the trip in from Treviso and finding our hotel. The directions given by the hotel were not easily understandable so I had written the name of the street 'Salizzada San Lio' on a sheet of A4. Worked a treat although we did have to ask three different shopkeepers!

The hotel itself is in the perfect spot for sightseeing, about 5 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and San Marco. Both are signposted from the hotel.

The hotel was spotless, the bedroom and bathroom were ample and breakfasts excellent. Staff were helpful. We stayed at the Canaletto as part of a 3 day package to Venice and, for the position alone, it is fantastic value for money. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is my third time to stay at Hotel Canaletto. It is in a great spot, not far from the Rialto Bridge. You can walk to St. Marks Square in a few minutes and you are not far from most of the attractions you would wish to see. The staff are excellent; professional, friendly and very helpful. The hotel although it's right next to shops , restaurants etc. is in a quiet spot, so a good night's sleep is guaranteed. It is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is also very good value for money. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The only plus is that the hotel is five minutes from both Rialto Bridge and St.Mark's Square. It has decent eating places close by and also there is a CooP - supermarket nearby. However reaching the hotel is quite difficult to find the first time around. Coming from Rialto Bridge, there were two sets of steps we had to climb, which was a hassle with three bags. Once we got to the hotel, we were given a room that smelled really bad, but were fortunately upgraded to a four person room by the lady receptionist, who is the only pleasant member of the staff. The porter was rude and complained while carrying, rather dragging, our bags up the steps (no elevator either) even after we had tipped him. Almost all the towels had stains on them, and we had to get them changed every day (and even the new ones did not look very clean).
We realized that the Wi-Fi in the rooms wasn't free and paid 5 euros for it. Unfortunately, it was extremely slow and not of much use. We wanted hot water and were asked to pay 1 euro per cup even if we provided the water. The computer in the lobby also has a charge of 1 euro/10 minutes, which is ridiculous considering the snail speed of the internet as well as the computer itself.

The breakfast is alright, no fresh fruits, though. Also there is no water kept outside. We had to ask the stewardess for water repeatedly in the morning, since we only got a small cup each time (and she was filling it from a small plastic bottle without any label).
Overall, it is definitely not on par with other three star hotels in terms of their service and amenities. The location however, is really convenient.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Was reasonably easy to find when dropped off in the Rialto area considering Venice streets can be very confusing this was a bonus!

We stayed 2 nights & it was our last stop on a 4 week Europe adventure so upgraded to a junior suite for only 25 euros extra a night. The room was spectacular with a balcony/canal view.

Very close to Rialto bridge area & St Marks Square. Helpful staff, always ready to give map directions which was great. I didn't like that we had to give our hotel key each time we left, but I understand it's policy and got used to it, not so bad.

The included buffet was not too bad, but no free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canaletto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.