We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a busy city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Canaletto to your Saves list
Hotel Canaletto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Levis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a busy city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed only one night in Venice, leaving on a cruise the next day.
Hotel Canaletto is situated in a quiet street,: the rooms are small, but cozy, clean and a modern bathroom. The front desk personnel was helpful with information (in French, English or Italian).
It is ± halfway between Ponte Rialto and Piazza San Marco (5 to 7 minutes in either direction) when you have found the most direct route, wich is not easy in Venice, but once you have mastered the topography, is a pleasure to walf about Venice.
3 stars and well worth it!

Room Tip: Part of the hotel has been renovated: ask for a room in that part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    299
    110
    23
    16
See reviews for
129
359
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel Canaletto is one of the best experiences I ever had with accommodation in Venice, a city that I had visited many times. I stayed there for two weeks in December 2012 and I could not believe that I did not discover it before. Everything was convenient about this place. It was quite, clean, charming, the staff was pleasant and always helpful, breakfast was great, and they even had the courtesy of leaving little gifts like wine and masks while we were out of our room on Christmas day and New Years Eve to make us feel at home. I highly recommend this hotel and I will certainly be back there on my next trip to the city. A jewel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Definitely pack light if travelling to Venice...no escalators, minimal hotels have elevators...and unless you really splurge and stay on the shoreline...you are lugging your things through unbelievable crowds of people...places difficult to find..Rialto water bus stop is the place to stop for this hotel...great and helpful staff...but nooooo elevator here...breakfast was just ok! WIFI...terrible reception and for what you are paying..toooo small and tight in room, had to book 2 rooms for a family of four. Veryyyy expensive city...unfortunately would not stay here again..spend more but stay by the water...it's worth it hands down!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Hotel Canaletto is in a great location near St. Mark's Square and the Rialto. As others have said it is hard to find at first, but once you get your bearings it is easy to get to the major tourist attractions and the water bus.

The room and food were acceptable, but not special. Most of the staff were very welcoming, however there was one front desk clerk who was terribly rude and unhelpful (not to us, but something we witnessed). As one of the first people to talk to in Venice and to ask for help or advice, he is in the wrong line of work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Definitely recommend this hotel which is centrally located yet set back in a quiet lane way so you aren't awoken with noise. The rooms are quite small although decorated in a nice Venetian way. We did have a refrigerator. Marco on the front desk was great and we did not have an issue with security, most staff appeared cautious to who they gave the keys (which are to be kept at the desk when you go out) to. We had to leave early to catch a train and were offered a bag of pastries and juice boxes since we had to miss breakfast, this was a very kind gesture. Overall great experience and would stay here again without a doubt if we return to Venice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Will NEVER return to this terrible place. The rooms look like it may have been an insane asylum
At some point. (Padded walls). Our room was creepy and the halls and lobby looked like it was under construction as well. I was SO upset that we were duped into
Staying here. We had to pay upfront so we were stuck there. We only stayed one night and left straight after... DON'T stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This hotel is nice but it was really hard to find it! Travelers need to make sure to know that if your flight lands late ...it will be extra hard to find especially with luggage ....very uncomfortable. It's steps away from the Rialto and close to Piazza San Marco & close to shops , restaurants. Down side...no cable or refrigerator.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a flight that lands during the day....it's very hard find at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Canaletto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.