We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foresteria Valdese Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Foresteria Valdese Venezia to your Saves list
Foresteria Valdese Venezia
Castello 5170 - Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, 30123 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Venice
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, charming place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here because it turned out to be a great location, offering easy and interesting walks to San Marco, the Arsenale, the Ghetto, and the various wonders of Venice. It is true that it is not run like a Viennese five star hotel, but given the price, the location, and the very lovely rooms, I don't know what more I would want. The breakfast room is a bit monastic, but the selection of cereal, juice, yoghurt, etc., was just fine. The desk staff were very helpful with good recommendations of close-by eateries, and we loved exploring the neighborhood. I would definitely stay here again and will certainly check out the other Valdese-run inns in Italy....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    30
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
26
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here because we wanted an authentic "Venezia" experience. Booked a canal room which was quirky & had charm but very run down. Breakfast in the large common room was pretty poor - only packeted fare. Quite difficult to find & seemed to cater for large school groups in the 'dorm' accomodation sections. Front desk staff not very helpful & not able to assist with 'picking up email' requests. Overpriced for standard but it seems so is everywhere in central Venice.

Room Tip: Canal view with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

As rated in Fodor's, this place was very nice, and we felt that we were getting a good deal. Be aware, that the reception is not always open, so check their times on their website in advance. The place had a lot of teenage students in a group when we were there, but it was a good natured group. We ate breakfast in a large common room in which there was a fair amount of chatter and activity. Our room was on the mezzanine and we had a private shower/toilet. It was very sizeable for Italy. The room was not air-conditioned, but had a good fan. We enjoyed looking out on the canal, and watching a gull dive down to grab a rat. Take that you dirty rat.
It was a bit of a walk from San Marco, so be aware of this, but it was good to be far from the madding crowd while still located at the end of a lane from nearby Santa Maria Formosa, which was a lovely square with nighttime musicians and a place to have a nightcap. Enjoyed our stay here but be warned, they ask that you not drink alcohol or smoke on the premises. So, please be discrete if you decide to have a beer in your room.

Room Tip: Some rooms are merely shared areas. Be sure you know what you are booking. Also, if overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForesteriaVenezia, Direttore at Foresteria Valdese Venezia, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thanks Mr. Christopher for your feedback. In Foresteria we enjoy having couples, families and students coming to Venice for vacation, sightseeing or studing and visiting The Biennale of Arts; you got the essence: part of the experience is sharing the common Halls. We suggest people to visit our site, our Facebook page and please call us to find the best accomodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was an impromptu stop in my trip, arrived without any bookings guided by my LP, and boy was it worth the time lugging by backpack in the narrow lanes of Venice asking shop owners and locals to help me find this place.
I had spent a night in my sleeping bag on a railway station thanks to a misleading information on the railway sign which resulted in me ending up in Trieste instead of Venezia St.Lucia, so I really needed a good place to stay.
Once I arrived the lady at the reception was very helpful and informed of their policies, the cheapest room I could get was a dorm (don't remember how many beds, but definitely more than 6) and when I arrived at night, after a thoroughly exhausting day, I was pleasantly surprised to see that I was in a huge canal facing room with murals on all walls hiding behind the furniture and a fresco adoring the ceiling.
And the cherry on the top: I was the only person in the whole dorm!

Spent an amazing night admiring the art around me and the scene from the window.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The ratio services offered/price is poor: no table in the room, no support for the suitcases (they were lying on the floor), no wardrobe, no hairdryer in the bathroom (you may get one at the reception desk), reception personnel without any customer focus and no smile, self-service breakfast, you should clean the table yourself, no daily room service, before check-out you should take away the bed sheets and fold them, the blankets as well. On top, this lack of normal hotel services was expensive! Never again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I looked forward to staying in this place as we've booked a canal view room but once we reached the reception, we're sorely disappointed. We're greeted with sour face from the worker. Even the next day she showed us only sour face. However with others, she smile ever so brightly. I'm thinking this is a bit of a discrimination.

We were given a 3rd floor room and although it is facing a canal it is un-viewable unless you stick your neck out very far from the window. I don't think this is categorized as canal view room. Besides that there's a very narrow staircase to our room which gave both of us ladies trouble as our luggage are pretty heavy. Had a really horrendous time dragging our luggage up and down.

We got lost coming to this place as there are many turns however once you reach the location, you'll like it as the area is pretty quiet. Breakfast is good too. Our room is nice and the bathroom and toilet is clean too.

However for the price paid for a canal room but without an actual 'canal view', I think it's pretty expensive and we felt cheated. Plus with the rude staff attitude, I will not be going there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a wonderful experience with this hostel in August 2012. Everyone was so nice and helpful from questions (by email) during booking to the guy at the front desk the two nights we were there. This was actually our first experience in a hostel and we found it ideal for our family since a quad room is just a much better fit than a standard hotel room. The beds were very comfortable, the location was amazing, and the price was great (for Venice). Our room (camera 23) had three beds in a loft upstairs with one bed and our private bathroom downstairs. the building was interesting, the staff friendly, and the breakfast was sufficient. There was even a corner with books and toys which was fantastic for my kids (2 and 4). When we were there, there were maybe 2-3 young backpackers in their 20's, a few couples of older travelers (retirees), and several other families. We loved feeling like we were in a quiet corner of Venice but steps from the action.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foresteria Valdese Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Valdese Venezia

Address: Castello 5170 - Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foresteria Valdese Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Valdese Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foresteria Valdese Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.