We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAKING UP TO THE CANALS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foresteria Valdese Venezia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Foresteria Valdese Venezia to your Saves list
Foresteria Valdese Venezia
Castello 5170 - Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, 30123 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“WAKING UP TO THE CANALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

My last trip to Venice lasted one week and I divided my accommodation into three different places in order to have a richer experience of the different areas -or sestieri- of the city.

Foresteria Valdese is in the Palazzo Cavagnis. It is run by the Waldesian Church that took over the building around 1868 and since then it is being restored in different stages. It is located in the sestiere of Castello, very close to Piazza San Marco and to Rialto Bridge. Just off Campo Santa Maria Formosa at the end of a narrow street between the Scandinavia Hotel and the bar with the biggest display of tables in the same square. Continue along the street and the Palazzo Cavagnis is just across the bridge at the end.

I heard about this place years ago and I was looking forward to staying there. I was not disappointed. The building is magnificent. The room had two large windows overlooking the canal. The bathroom was kitted out with lovely toiletries. Everything was spotlessly clean and the area is very quiet at night. The rooms have TV and heating for the winter. Altough there is no air conditioning we did not even open the windows at night.

Breakfast was abundant: selection of juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, jams, tea, coffee, cold milk and hot milk too! More than enough to start the day. The staff were friendly and the rest of the guests were very correct. Most of them were Italian families which made breakfast time very picturesque for a foreigner.

I would recommend this place to people with an appreciation for Art and Venetian architecture. If you're too fussy please go somewhere else because the true luxury you are going to find in Foresteria Valdese is the possibility of enjoying an old palazzo and waking up to the canals and the real Venice.

I will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for canal view. Room 11 is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    27
    11
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Many people opt to stay outside of central Venice because it is so expensive. This 16th century palace hostel run by the Waldensian church is a great find - 10 minutes from San Marco but in a non-touristy area. Some of the rooms are quite updated, some are older but have frescoes on the ceilings and walls (it is a palace after all). Great place, easy to find (once you find Santa Maria Formosa, walk between the cafe and hotel Scandinavia and you are there).

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

We had a great experience with the Foresteria Valdese. I found it easy to make the reservation, initially by phoning from Canada then confirmations by email. Our check-in went well and we were able to leave our bags as we arrived early. Found staff very helpful. Breakfast basic but enough for two teenagers to get started - cereal, yogurts, coffee, tea, hot milk, chocolate, jams and buns. Coffee and tea available all day as is shared fridge. We had room for 4 which had one bed down and 3 beds in loft-room. Lots of storage and far superior to other rooms we have experienced elsewhere in Europe. 120 euros for canal view, 4 person with breakfast, for 3 nights - unheard of in Venice. Loved the atmosphere of the old building. Location next to canal and easy access to Piazza San Marco and Rialto bridge, shops and all other sites. Good services, food in nearby square. Agree with critique about some mold in shower and would have liked some wifi but overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and really enjoyed the accommodation except for the very rude woman who was boarding there who continuously critised us for sitting in the wrong area, for opening a window and the for eating food at the wrong table. I previously stayed here on two other occassions but after the harrassment I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stayed at the Foresteria Valdese in late July 2009 and found it to be a great price performer for a family of three. I simply don’t know how else we could have afforded to stay in Venice otherwise. We had a family-size room on the second floor that held a bunk bed and a single. Plenty of space to hang clothes and store bags, plus a desk to use for writing. The dining room was on the same floor. Breakfast was modest by American standards, but filling, and the coffee was top-notch. All we were asked to do was to bus our own table. Before our meal we put down a paper placemat. Afterwards, we whisked it away along with our dishes. How simple can that be?

Our space was clean and free of any bugs, mold or other unwelcome guests. It may be that we stayed in a newer part of the hostel, given we were a family. I saw other parts of the building that appeared older. However, the entire hostel is undergoing a major renovation, so it could be that it will be dramatically updated top to bottom. (About that mildew in the shower that another tourist commented on: The city is surrounded by water, for crying out loud. Try keeping a boat dry.)

The location was fantastic, steps from San Marco. Also, it was near another church (Okay, there are many in Venice) and plaza where we found a great patio restaurant for an afternoon refreshment.

It’s important to follow the directions provided by the hostel. I overlooked them when we arrived, and the route we took was more difficult. We could have saved a lot of time by using theirs.

The staff seemed a bit remote, but there are only two friendly Venetians in all the city. One is the charming owner of the nearby mask gallery. He runs the front end of the retail store while his wife meticulously hand-paints masks. He was friendly and gracious and welcomed our questions.

The other only friendly Venetian in all the city is the native woman in her 30s who leads the Secret Itinerary Tours. Unfortunately, I didn’t get the name of either individual. This striking brunette with large black eyeglasses gave the most enthusiastic account of the history of Casanova. She told his story with such vigor and humor that it made the tour unforgettable.

I appreciate the fact that the Methodist Church and the Valdesians maintain the hostel as a way to allow tourists to affordably enjoy the beauty of Venice. Many others are simply out to get as many tourist dollars as possible. That’s the way Venice is.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Hotter than Hades itself. Mold, mold, MOLD. Showers were shocking. I really expected more from a church run establishment.

  • Liked — That they let us out of the next 3 days we reserved without any trouble.
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

Venice is a notoriously expensive city. So, if you are looking for affordable accommodations, check this place out. We got a triple room with private bath, and a canal view for 100 Euros. It was a lovely room, with 2 levels, but there is no air con and it was STIFLING -- esp. on the upper level. Also, the people at reception are not very friendly - when they were there. But we loved the neighborhood -- be sure to drop in at the wine bar (enoteca) up the street, across the bridge, across from the book store. It was the highlight of our stay in Venice. I don't know if I'd stay here again -- though I'd consider it.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foresteria Valdese Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Valdese Venezia

Address: Castello 5170 - Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Foresteria Valdese Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Valdese Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foresteria Valdese Venezia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.