We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pantalon is in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pantalon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pantalon Hotel to your Saves list
Pantalon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorsoduro 3941 | Crosera San Pantalon, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro / Accademia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #305 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Hinderwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Pantalon is in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Four of us stayed at the Pantalon over a Fri-Mon weekend. The location is fabulous, being a short walk from San Toma vaparetto stop. Fortunately we only had hand luggage and could trundle our little cases on wheels along quite easily through the tiny alleyways to approach the hotel (itself in a tiny alleyway). The reception was inviting, our rooms ready when we arrived (earlier than normal check in time) and we were impressed by the facilities available nearby - bars, restaurants etc. The rooms are very small but that doesn't really matter if you are out and about all day! My husband and I had booked a twin room and ended up with a room with a double bed and a single, so no complaints there! The bathroom was miniscule but worked OK. The toilet was positioned in the most extraordinary way, meaning that if you sat on the loo your knees were under the (large) washbasin - only solution was to sit diagonally! Our friends had a double room and there was only a small space around the bed for walking, but at least there was space on both sides. Their bathroom was also small but better designed than ours. The breakfast was a help-yourself-buffet of continental items including ham, cheese, cereals, yogart, breads and conserves as well as fruit juices. A waitress served tea and coffee and offered 'extras' like ham and eggs. All in all, it was fine. Our room was very quiet with the shutters and windows closed, although we were on an outside wall. Unfortunately, the high tide alert went off every morning which woke us earlier than we were intending, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. Our visit to Venice was hectic and action packed. We bought the Hellovenezia card at the airport when we arrived and this entitles you to unlimited travel on transport (including airport transfer) for 72 hours and our version had free entry to a number of churches and museums so we were determined to get our money's worth and did the lot! We bought tickets for the Baroque Opera evening (advertised in the hotel but we bought direct) and this was really good quality for a reasonable price. Note that there are only two toilets for the whole hall in which the performance takes place and they close them at 9.30 p.m. (before the end of the show). All in all, we had a good time and found the Pantalon helpful and reasonably comfortable. However, if it's luxury you want, this isn't the place but you will get a very convenient location with pleasant staff. Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    39
    25
    28
See reviews for
33
59
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

The hotel's location looks a bit out of the way but is easy to reach from the train and bus stations. It is actually on one of the main routes to Piazza Roma so there is signposting and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Our room slept three and was furnished in delightful Venetian style. The only downers were the lack of hot water after 9am, the smell of tobacco smoke and the thin walls / noisy beds... Breakfast was okay with a pay extra a la carte menu if you so desired. After checking out we were able to return in the afternoon to wait for our coach and use the nicely kept toilets. With the deal from Asda Hotels this was hard to beat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

the paint in the bedroom was peeling from the wall. the blanket on the bed was badly in need of a wash.if you weren't down early for breakfast most of the food was not replaced.
the staff were very helpful which is the only nice thing i have to say about staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The Pantalon Hotel is a very nice and elegant hotel.
Me and my fiance were very pleased with this hotel.
When we arrived the receptionist (his name is Liviu) smiled to us.
Liviu helped us with informations all the time and he was really nice.
The breakfast was delicious and the staff as well.
The hotel is located very close to Piazza Le Roma,so you don't need to carry your luggage to much
We will be coming back.
Thank you for everything.
Mihai & Adina

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Hotel Pantalon is in a good location in Venice, however our room was not very nice at all. The beds were hard, the bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it let alone use the toilet. When using the toilet, the only place for your feet to rest was in the shower. The toilet, shower and bodet were so close together, when you showered, the entire bathroom got wet. There was no shower curtain either in a stand up type shower. So, the beds were hard and the shutters on the windows allowed mosquitos to enter so you got bit in your sleep. This room did have a safe for your valuables and closet space to store your clothes. It also had a mini bar with semi reasonable prices. The breakfast was decent each morning so that was a plus. The front desk staff was very helpful when one of us came down with an illness and needed to see a medic. She called the doctor and got us right in so we are most appreciative of that. All in all this hotel was better than the ones we stayed in, in Rome and Florence but I was looking for something much better. We booked our trip through STA Travel and all rooms were paid for up front and non refundable so we sucked it up and stayed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Pantalon is a very comfortable hotel with spacious rooms, a nice breakfast buffet and access to vaporettos, bus and rail stations and piazzas Pantalon, San Marguerite and Barnaba.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in Momolo room, which is a 15 min walk from the hotel, you can't do it if you have luggage. I don't know why it is called a suite, it is a dark musty basement on the ground floor - in Venice people do not live on the ground floor. Granted it is cheap, but why spoil the experience of visiting a beautiful city when for little extra you can get something much more decent. Truly awful!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pantalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantalon Hotel

Address: Dorsoduro 3941 | Crosera San Pantalon, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #305 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pantalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pantalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantalon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.