We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino to your Saves list
Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle delle Rasse, Castello 4551/A, 30122 Venice, Italy (Castello)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 383 Hotels in Venice
crewe, cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is in an absolutely superb location, 2 minutes from St Marks Square and the Grand Canal. The hotel is clean and comfortable with lovely friendly and helpful staff. Turn right out of the hotel and you are 1 minute from the main Vaporetto stops, turn left and plenty of lovely shops, restaurants and cafes. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Venice!

Room Tip: Most rooms are on the front, over the street, this can be noisy if windows are left open but as ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    136
    33
    8
    5
See reviews for
55
143
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, minutes from the waterbus and San Marco Sq. Shops, restaurants, cafes all on doorstop but still peaceful and safe at night. Room was clean with plenty storage space, we were on 4th floor (lift only goes to 3rd but no problem for us) . Late on our first night the staff member on reception got us extra pillow with no fuss, same person also had to unlock our room when we shut the door with keys inside - all done with good humour. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would go back - we can be quite fussy but everything here was ideal for our 4 night stay. Not a luxury hotel but describe it better than a "budget" hotel. Would advise you take your own hairdryer as one attached to wall in bathroom not very efficient but that was the only negative thing.

Room Tip: Room 404 had view of the tower in St. Marco Sq and was very quiet, you have to walk from the 3rd to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location, for a budget hotel, is unbelievable - less than 100 metres from the San Zaccariah waterbus. The hotel itself is excellent - smallish rooms but clean and comfortable. Staff couldn't hav been more helpful and indeed they had plenty of advice and recommendations but none of it pushy. After our first night the maid nioticed that we had used folded blankets to suppport the one pillow each which was provided. That evening without asking two more pillows appeared.
Breakfast was an excellent cold buffet again served by friendly and effiicent staff.

I would suggest two minor additions to earn 5 star rating - more than two Ennglish speaking TV channels in the room, and a tea / coffee tray.
These are relatively small points, however, and we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: There is some street noise on one side, though shutters, curtains and nets significantly reduce the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We first used this hotel, under previous management, during our first trip to Venice in 1984. We took our then-teenaged children to stay in 2007. And we have just been back for our third time.

The location is wonderful, as everyone says. We found the staff very helpful and friendly at all times. The rooms are small, but what do you expect in a building that is hundreds of years old? The rooms -- ours and our children's six years ago -- have compact bathrooms but are well equipped and the hot water is always plentiful. The breakfasts were OK for a reasonably priced, small hotel: it's not a place with a vast kitchen and dozens of guests. The wi-fi? Didn't really care, to be honest: we were on holiday.

We stayed in room 301, with a view over the water to the church of San Giorgio Maggiore. The bed was hard: that's the only criticism.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Though in a convenient location, right by the water taxis, I do not recommend this hotel. The afternoon/evening staff were quite intrusive and pushy resulting in many uncomfortable interactions at the hotel front desk. They were very insistant that we try the resturants that they recommended (though we did not inquire about resturants). Additionally, the man working nights at the front desk offered us a drinks upon coming back to the hotel late at night. We declined his request only to have the lights in our room shut off followed by persistant phone calls to our room. This hotel did not provide the assistance and feeling of safety that we hoped and we do not recommend it for future travelers.
The one bright side was the concierge working the morning shift who was very helpful and kind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A good smaller hotel in a fantastic location near St Marco's Piazza and boat stops from airport and for local trips on Grand Canal and to other islands. Good buffet breakfast (continental style) and tea and dainty biscuits available in afternoon. Great value in off-season. Friendly and helpful staff and clean and well furnished rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

delayed in writing review.....but sure it is still a terrific bargain. Fantastic location about 1 minute from St. Mark's. Room was immaculate, with a wonderful, helpful staff. Desk clerk made us coffee and presented biscuits at 3 am! (for our return flight). yes, rooms are European small, but didn't go to Venice to stay in the room. (Hotel Danieli directly across the narrow street.)If we are ever lucky enough to return to Venice we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino

Address: Calle delle Rasse, Castello 4551/A, 30122 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#95 Family Hotel in Venice
#136 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Commercio And Pellegrino
Hotel Commercio Pellegrino
Commercio Pellegrino Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Commercio & Pellegrino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.