We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot at Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Moise

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Moise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel San Moise
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2058 San Marco | Piscina San Moisè, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 382 hotels in Venice
Helsinki
1 review
“Great Spot at Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

A very Venetian experience. Close to St Marks Square, rooms as you'd expect them to be in Venice, functional, stylish, old. Gondolas pass by the window every few minutes. Helpful staff. Crowded, yet tasty breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    156
    64
    43
    46
See reviews for
83
151
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I am thinking of going back to venice as we loved it the first time. We used the San Moise and loved it. Its location is great, its quiet, very italian, the breakfast was lovely, the triple and quad rooms are massive, the beds are comfy and staff kind. The fact that the canal is right outside it was lovely just watching the gondalas passing and drinking in the atmosphere. I will definately book this hotel again on this trip.

Room Tip: The triple and quad rooms are great, but some of the doubles are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

For what we paid to stay at this hotel, the location is spot on and overall it's fantastic value. A little dated here and there, but staff always friendly and speak good English. The room we stayed in had a canal side view, and whilst little, it was lavish and clean. Would definately stay again for the location vs price. Breakfast was good the first day (lovely sat in the courtyard), but not so the next (cold sausages weren't that appetising). On the whole though, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend if looking to stay somewhere central to eveything in Venice. It's two blocks from San Marco Square, and just off one of the main walkways.

Room Tip: Ask for canal-side anywhere in Venice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My niece (age 20) and I easily found our way to the lovely Hotel San Moisè from the water bus and were greeted warmly by the staff in the lobby. Our room (Room 26) was completely charming! We left the windows open all night (it was mid-March) and the street noise did not bother us at all. We were lulled to sleep by the sounds of Venice.

Anna at the front desk was incredibly friendly and very helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit. She was quite the charmer and so easy to talk to. She put us both completely at ease.

The light breakfast the next morning was bustling with fellow travelers and was utterly delicious. All in all it was a fantastic experience and I would not hesitate to recommend or to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The courtyard where you have breakfast is one of the highlights, it's a beautiful place to start your day! The breakfast is pretty good.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
The location is fantastic, a short walk to the St Marks Sq, and well placed to visit all the main sights in Venice.
Our room was small, but adequate. We had a canal view (which meant a little bit of a bad smell from the canal in the mornings), the room was clean, the bathroom a decent size. It was very comfortable.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, and would stay there again.
Be careful to plan your route there, as it's difficult to find without good directions and a good map.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view, it's just magical to wake up and see this in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at hotel San Moise for 3 nights in July.We were happy with large well conditined room(is not so often in Venice), perfect location, cleanless, nice furnished room and hotel in venetian style.The receptionist Nicolo was the best among all and always helpful and smiling.The breakfast was rich and various, coffee was nice. Nothing to claim, only good attraction.One only thing for advice: if you travel with baby and need hot water, it is better to foresee the total absence of it after 8 pm and request a kettle to the room in advance. We can reccomend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

On our trip to Venice, my wife and I stayed at Hotel San Moise for 6 nights. We were happy with the location between San Marco and Rialto. Close to everything, but still quiet.
Right outside there is a really nice quiet spot where a lot of the gondoles are passing through. Nice place for having a cold drink, writing postcards, reading a book, or just watching the gondoles and people passing by. I will upload a picture of that when possible.
Inside the hotel is small dark rooms, but everything is clean and quite. To me the size didn't matter, because when we were in the room it was for sleeping, having a bath or changing outfit. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is okay, but nothing special. It can be enjoyed in a little courtyard or in the basement.
We went to the wrong street trying to find the hotel when we arrived, but it was apparently Google Maps that tricked us. Make sure to be better prepared than us. :-)
My recommendation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hotel San Moise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Moise

Address: 2058 San Marco | Piscina San Moisè, 30124 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 382 hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Moise 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Moise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Moise Venice
San Moise Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Moise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.