We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twelve months seems a long time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pensione La Calcina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pensione La Calcina to your Saves list
Pensione La Calcina
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dorsoduro 780, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 433 Venice B&B and Inns
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Twelve months seems a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We have just returned from the seventh of what has become an annual stay in Venice, four of which have been at La Calcina, and have already re-booked for next year!
We are only sorry that we have to wait for 12 months before returning and being able to open the shutters on awakening to be transfixed by the pearly iridescence of the morning light on the Giudecca and to see and hear the growl and putter of the working and pleasure boats and the sweet and mellow clangour of the bells of the Redentore and its sister chuches as they greet the day.
The location is quite wonderful: on the Zattere 50 metres from the vaporetto and Alilaguna stops - or you can get a water-taxi direct to the steps by the front door. It faces almost due south onto the Giudecca in the comparatively quiet sestiere of Dorsoduro, and yet is only a 20-minute stroll over the Accadamia Bridge to the tumult of St Mark's Square.
The hotel has an unpretentious charm all its own and is simply but sympathetically furnished with unfussy period pieces alongside the usual modern conveniences (including complimentary Wifi). The staff are helpful, courteous and efficient.
The food is good: it is a delight to eat breakfast out on the floating deck in the sunshine and we normally have at least two dinners there (although we enjoy a trawl around the local restaurants); there is a discount and free glass of wine with dinner for residents.
We look forward to our return - twelve months seems a long time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    183
    35
    10
    11
See reviews for
57
272
50
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We paid over $400. a night for this tiny room.There is no elevator. The room was not special, although the plumbing was good. The management is what makes the place so unpleasant.We were going to pick up and leave, but were informed that we would have to pay for all three nights. I was sorry that we didn't . I am just glad that we had one more stop in Italy and didn't end our trip on that sour note. We stayed at this hotel 17 years ago and had fond memories of it, no longer.They have all their petty rules. They have a roof top, but it is locked and you have to go down and find out if anyone has a reservation. Apparently, you have to reserve it in one hour blocks. I looked around, it was the same view as the room with no shade. I just wanted to take a few photos. The worst was the policy of charging a "sit down" fee at their restaurant. A deplorable custom throughout Italy, and somewhat more understandable if the restaurant is in front of a famous fountain. They were willing to "waive" the three Euros each (just to sit down!) if we signed up for the 26 Euro dinner. No thanks. This was at least on their canal waterfront restaurant. The last night was stormy and raining and they were determined to charge us the 6 Euros to sit in the hotel lobby and eat .I thought this was really uncalled for since we were paying hotel guests. I had to trudge out in a storm for a couple of miserable pieces of to go pizza. This hotel could be ok, even though the rooms are tiny, if the management wasn't so horrible. The non management that worked there tried to be nice and helpful, so it wasn't their fault. The breakfast was nice, although the dining room was by the front desk.

The "sit down" is a terrible ripp-off tradition that needs to be done away with. It was one thing when it was a few lira to clean the tablecloth-with the current exchange rate-it is enough to buy the tablecloth. It is really in-excusable for a hotel that is already charging it's guests top dollar to heap on one last insult.

Room Tip: Get a canal front room if you must stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was our fifth visit to Venice over the last twenty years and we have now found the hotel we will most certainly be returning to. La Calcina is a small but excellent mid-range hotel, clean, comfortable (very good beds) and offering an inclusive breakfast, marvellously well situated on Zattere. This means it's an easy walk to the Accademia, and near enough to the vaporetti stop to be able to get to anywhere else quickly and enjoyably. John Ruskin, the artist and historian, may have been preoccupied with the tortures of St Ursula, but he knew a good hotel when he saw one and did not hesitate to let himself enjoy it. As we did too. I have only one minor criticism: the breakfast chef does not understand scrambled eggs (dry yellow crumbs arrived on my plate) but I will offer a tutorial next time we go. Don't let this put you off! It's a great hotel, with very friendly and helpful staff. Caroline Taylor

Room Tip: We had room 38 on the third floor - private, quiet and with a lovely balcony which offered a slice o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms were quaint and charming. If you prefer the canal view, then the boat traffic might be a bit loud for some guests. Als if you have a room on one of the top floors you will hear the church bells every morning... If you prefer a quieter night, ask for a room with no view, facing the other building (first or second floor). However, all rooms are very nice and clean. We will definitely be back at La Calcina. Don't forget to eat on the terrace which sits right on the canal. The food is excellent and so is the Prosecco. Also locals come here to dine and stay. It's a magical place!!!!!
Ask for the key to the small roof top terrasse and enjoy the view and an apéro overseeing the Canal. :-)
The Valporetto boat stop is 50 meters away from the hotel and you reach San Marco in 15 to 20 minutes.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a room with a view you might want to pack ear plugs against the boat traffic on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a charming place with an "old world" appeal! Directions they give on their site are easy to follow. Enjoy the beautiful view over the Grand Canal. The staff was very helpful and attentive. We loved the decor and our room - like stepping back in time (but with all the right amenities!)
The breakfast buffet table was a picture - and I wish I'd taken a photo of it. Lovely offerings and delicious food.
A very special place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It has taken 30 years to find the perfect hotel in Venice and this is it.
Excellent location, beautifully appointed, outstanding food, views galore and the icing on the cake: the charming, courteous, helpful staff. The drop off by the front door by the water taxi from the airport is just another wonderful aspect to coming here. Already booked to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view - side views also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

In this case the view was from our bedroom on La Calcina and was a wonderful panorama of the Giudecca, island and canal. Ruskin (who stayed here while writing The Stones of Venice) would have hated the splendid view of the Redentore church, which he said was 'small and contemptible'. Hard man to please, Mr Ruskin.

This is an excellent hotel in an excellent position. Our room (number 32, on the third floor) was clean and comfortable, and the place has a lot of atmosphere and charm. All the staff are pleasant, friendly and efficient. The restaurant is excellent too, for breakfast, snacks or dinner. True, it's not cheap, but it's worth paying for.

The hotel is a very close to the Zattere water bus stop, and five minutes walk from the Accademia stop - from these you can get to most places. The Alilalaguna blue line bus from the airport also stops at Zattere, so you don't have to drag your luggage over any bridges to get to the hotel. On foot, it is an easy walk to San Marco, or to Campo San Barnaba which is very good for restaurants. Zattere itself is a wonderful place to sit at a cafe with a drink and watch the boats and the people, and the Dorsoduro is far more civilized and less of a scrum than the San Marco or Rialto areas of the city.

We've stayed here twice now, and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pensione La Calcina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione La Calcina

Address: Dorsoduro 780, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 433 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione La Calcina 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 5 apartments available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pensione La Calcina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione La Calcina Hotel Venice
Venice La Calcina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pensione La Calcina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.