We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Days in Venice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pausania to your Saves list
Hotel Pausania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2824 Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 383 Hotels in Venice
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“3 Days in Venice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just come back from 3 nights stay at this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again myself, the Staff were very friendly and happy to assist us with information and how to get to places. There english was very good and could answer all our queries. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean and after hours of walking around venice it was lovely to come back and run a hot bath daily to soak our feet. The hotel is situatied in a nice area out the way down the canal but close enough to get to everywhere on foot great location! Breakfast was just your standard continental but was kept topped up all the time and enjoyable!! All in all really enjoyed our stay here, lovely Hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
128
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at Hotel Pausania in rainy January.The hotel is lovely, in a quiet location away from the bustle of the main tourist areas but with easy access to all the main attractions. It is decorated in a grand, traditional style with brocade drapes and Murano glass chandeliers, the bedroom (in the same style) was very clean and comfortable and it was nice to have a hospitality tray in the room with tea and coffee.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, happy to assist us with information on vaporetta tickets, routes etc. As the weather was so wet we bought 36 hour vaporetta tickets ( from the tabac in the square) which covered travel around Venice and to the islands, we had a very interesting day in Burano and Torcello despite the rain.
This charming hotel is really good value in a city where prices can be eye watering, we would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 4 nights in January. The staff were welcoming and friendly and spoke very good English. The hotel was well-decorated throughout, with lovely lounge spaces (especially on the first floor), and also had free WiFi and computer access.
I'd requested a room with a canal view, so our room was on the second floor and overlooked the gorgeous front courtyard - with spiralling stone steps to the first floor - and part of the canal. The room was clean, spacious and well-decorated; we enjoyed making use of the bath and the never-ending supply of hot water; ideal after long days exploring the length and breadth of Venice!
The district seemed pretty peaceful in January; the hotel was an easy walk from the Grand Canal stop, Ca' Rezzonico, but we enjoyed the longer walk through the streets to San Marco.
Breakfast was nice - the usual continental fayre, which they kept well-stocked up.
They very kindly looked after our bags for us after checking out for no extra charge.
The hotel definitely exceeded expectations, the historic and well-thought out setting added to the romance of Venice. There's also a great little bar down the street - Osteria ai Pugni - with a great range of Italian wines, friendly staff and a great vibe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location. We arrived by waterbus (Ca Rezzonico was the closest stop to the hotel - 5 min walk to hotel, 15 euro per person), and left by train (about a 25 min walk, seems longer when hauling heavy bags over the numerous bridges). An easy 25 min walk to San Marco Square. Our room was on the 1st floor (no elevator), was small but adequate for our needs and was beautifully decorated. Wifi was hit and miss in our room, and we found we had more success with it in the common seating area on the 1st floor. A good/varied selection of bread/cheese/meat/yogurt/cereal was provided for breakfast and the staff friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and absolutely loved it - it's a great looking building (think rustic Italian rather than marble pillars etc), the room was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable, with everything we needed. Breakfast is a generous continental spread, to prepare you for a day of wondering the streets, and the hotel is within 5 mins walk of the Ca Rezzonica water bus stop, and within about 15-20 mins of the main bus terminal, plus it's not too much of a trek to St. Mark's square either. If returning to Venice I'd be more than happy to stay here again. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful too, and they were happy to look after our luggage on our last day there so that we could wander the streets unhampered until we had to head to the airport.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this hotel, and the stairs are quite steep/awkward - no problem to us, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We visited Venice for the first time for my birthday - where else in the world would you rather spend your birthday ? Fab Fab fab! But we all know Venice is fab so to stay at a superb hotel right in the heart of this beautiful city and the staff are wonderful helpful and friendly things just get better and better ! Then on the evening of your birthday they recommend a local fish restaurant that was sublime and we return to a complementary bottle of prosecco in the room life just doesnt get much better a perfect birthday!!.
This hotel is small and perfectly located just off the grand canal in the heart of Venice walking distance to all the sights, clean attractive rooms comfortable beds free wi fi and a really good breakfast. The staff especially Martina were so helpful and made a great visit a trip we will never forget. I highly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a lovely canal view but its very quiet and all the rooms are a good size so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed from October 8th to 16th 2013. My friend and I each had a room to ourselves. I was granted a room on the main floor so that I did not need to walk up stairs. I have a bad knee and the hotel has no elevator. The rooms were spacious and nicely done except we had no drawers (there was not anything like a chest of drawers); but the closet was big, even including a safe; the bathroom was good, with its own heating. I was impressed by the breakfast with great food selections, kept fully stocked from 8 AM to 10:30. The location was just what we wanted. On the Dorsoduro, near Santa Margharita square with its many wonderful restaurants, and close to the Vaporetta stop, Ca Rezonnico, it was a great location. The staff is friendly, competent, and very helpful. A great find.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you can't do stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Address: 2824 Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#133 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pausania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.