We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Dorsoduro” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pausania to your Saves list
Hotel Pausania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2824 Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy (Dorsoduro)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Dorsoduro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel Pausania in Dorsoduro is a nice hotel located in a very old Palazzo next to a small Canal. The location close to the Vaporetto station Ca' Rezzonico and walking distance to the Piazzale Roma and Accademia is perfect for sightseeing. The hotel staff is very nice and supportive. The breakfast buffet could be a little better, especially the coffee is not at all Italian. The rooms are nice, some of them smaller than others, but all of them very clean.

Room Tip: Try to get a bigger room on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    34
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
128
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, Co Durham, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights on 27 & 28 June and then again on 7th July. We wrapped our stay around a cruise which left from Venice.
The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the calla rezzonica water bus stop. It is on a quiet canal but is a 2 minute walk from piazza margarita where there are restaurants and bars and a small supermarket along with a few market stalls. It is within easy walking distance of all the usual Venetian sights.

When we arrived at the hotel late on a Thursday night, we were offered a choice of rooms; both identically furnished. We chose a room upstairs to avoid being disturbed by guests returning in the wee small hours. The room was clean with the usual mini bar but also with a kettle and coffee. The first time we have encountered this in Italy over many visits. The bathroom was small but functional. Breakfast was continental style and offered plenty of choice - meats, cheeses, croissants & pastries, fresh fruit & yogurts, cereals and hot drinks & juices.
Staff were friendly and courteous.
We would stay at the hotel Pausania again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Pausania is a 3 star tourist hotel in the Dorsoduro district, which is quiter than San Marco but only a short walk from the Grand Canal in one direction and Zaterre in the other. The building is apparently hundreds of years old and was once a private house. When we checked in the friendly receptionist checked our passports and commented that it was my partner's birthday that day, which was the reason for our trip. When we returned to the hotel after going out for dinner that night we found a note and a small bottle of prosecco in our room, which was a really nice touch. Access from reception to the first floor bedrooms is by a steep stone staircase inside a courtyard which would not be great for the less mobile. There is a large air conditioned lounge on the first floor overlooking the canal. We were in room 208 which was quite small but the very high ceiling meant it didn't feel confined. The room had air conditioning and was traditionally furnished. The room was clean but would probably benefit from a lick of paint in the near future. There was a TV, safe, minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. The bathroom was well appointed and clean but the bath with shower over was in an alcove so there isn't a lot of headroom for taller people. Breakfast (served 8.30-10.30am) was the usual contintental fare of fruit, cereals, croissants, bread, cold meat and cheese. Not the best European hotel breakfast we have had but by no means the worst. We slept well on all three nights and were not disturbed by any noise from inside or outside the hotel. There are couple of squares nearby (San Barnabus and Santa Margherita) with a selection of restaurants bars and shops and its a 10 minute walk to Academia Bridge over the Grand Canal or the restaurants of the Zaterre. All in all this hotel was good value for money. If you want somewhere very modern its not for you. Likewise if you want 4 star luxury pay for it elsewhere. For our part we had no complaints and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I went to Venice (2nd visit) in March, 2012. This hotel looks NOTHING like the pictures on the website. The "common area" pictures were all "staged" to make them appealing. I can assure you: they are not [appealing]. The hotel is shabby, dilapidated, worn-out, dingy and dirty. The furniture is cheap, rugs are worn - not classy at all. The garden outside the breakfast room was being renovated and was dirt and piles of garbage bags. I stayed upstairs and there were mattresses, furniture, pictures stacked against the wall. The furniture and fixtures haven't seen a dustrag or cleaner in ages. There were dead plants everywhere, burglar bars on the 2nd story window INSIDE the hotel, so I guess the burglar would have to scale the wall. The ashtray on the balcony contained piles of butts that were never removed and multipoed the 3 days I was there. The steps were treacherous, steep and uneven, and that beautiful red carpet in the pictures must have been sent out for cleaning because it wasn't there. The breakfast was nothing special, very stingy about the food that was set out. When I checked in, as I looked over the hotel, I went to the computer in the lounge, pulled up their website, asked the clerk to come look at them, then asked if I was at the SAME HOTEL!?! I took pictures, and sent them to the agency, asking them to remove this hotel from their offerings. When I complained, I was immediately "upgraded," and the room was lovely - but the rest of the hotel, no. As I walked around Venice, I noted so many beautiful hotels in the 3-star range that were so much better, and was saddened that I was stuck at this dump. BTW, I am a seasoned traveler who has been to Europe 11 times, and this is the first and only time I've filed a complaint.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelpausania, Proprietario at Hotel Pausania, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are really sorry to read this review because we do our best to let our guests have the most pleasant stay and it is a very big frustration to know that all our efforts sometimes (thankfully very rarely) are not appreciated at all!
The pictures we have published have been made in late summer 2011 and reflect exactly our hotel! During the last low season (January, February and March 2012) we had some renovation all around the hotel, we changed part of the air conditioning system and the carpet in all our rooms and common areas , something we consider absolutely necessary to improve our hotel but that, unfortunately, can be a little bit annoying because, even if we did our best to give to our guests rooms in parts of the hotel where there were not maintenance works, it is possible to see people inside the hotel working during the day (9.00 a.m. to 5 p.m. , as required by Italian law) with their tools and tackles, but the inconvenience was absolutely acceptable.
A part from the maintenance works, it is evident that the garden in March cannot be the same that on summer!
About the stair’s carpet, it has been removed because we thought that it was much better to show the stone stairs original from the XIV century (something that we are so proud about) then a common red carpet you can find everywhere!!
All our single rooms have a single bed, as perfectly shown in our pictures, so we cannot understand why someone that reserves it checking the pictures before making the reservation has then to complain the size of the bed and the room, when, at the moment of the reservation, had the possibility to book a double room for single use, with a double bed and bigger then a single room (but, of course, more expensive!). Anyway, once again, during the stay of our guests we do our best to make them the most satisfied we can, and, in this case, as we had some free rooms, we gave a free upgrade from the single room booked to a double deluxe room with canal view and finally everything was seeming to be fine, but, evidently, it was not, even if we did all we could do in response to the guest’s requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel was difficult to find in the beginning as it wasn't clearly signed from the road. Other than that we have no complaints. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the receptionist (all of which were very helpful and friendly) and we were given a map of Venice. The Map was very helpful as it is very easy to get lost in venice to begin with due to all the streets being so small. The map was also better than any of the maps we had bought or had seen in the shops and we always found people asking us where we had got the map from.
The location of the hotel was Ideal. however if you are taking lots of luggage you may find it difficult with all the steps and bridges to cross on your way there as there are no cars. My advice is to catch a water taxi. Nearby there was several museums, some of which were free entry. There were some fantastic restaurants in the square around the corner from the hotel and the best ice cream shop in all of venice (from what we tried anyway) There were local landmarks such as the accademia bridge and the santa maria die frari, one of the biggest churches in Venice. However it was quite a walk to St Marks square. It was about half an hour at least and there were a lot of steps. Its a great walk for scenery but if your legs aren't up to it you can catch the vapporetto down the river and it will drop you off there.
The hotel itself was very clean the rooms were small but if you're just using it as somewhere to sleep its not a problem. The bathroom was clean and the shower was nice. There was a fridge under the TV. It was full with stuff from the bar that you would be charged for using but we took some of it out to put in some of our own drinks.
Overall we felt very welcome. The Italian people are lovely, the city itself is wonderful and I will definitely go back to the same hotel again but for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile


Just returned today from a 4 night trip and would highly recommend this hotel. I travelled with my boyfriend and we are both late 30,s and like to stay somewhere quiet but close to the busy pubs and restaurants, we like to party but still get to sleep.... And this hotel was perfectly located for this. Just a 2 minute walk from the busy square Campo Santa Margherita but in a lovely quiet spot. If your after a rustic true Venetian hotel packed with charm and character then this is just up your street. The rooms are perfectly adequate for travellers and people like us that use it as a base, it had a little bath with a shower above that always had hot water and a good spray, all the little bottles of stuff you could need, a mini bar, flat screen tv (never switched it on....) new fluffy towels, slippers, free electronic safe..... What more does anyone want. Continental breakfast with all the usual stuff. Very pleasant staff, very accommodating, prepared us an early breakfast this morning due to an early flight. I would highly recommend the Pausania. Just to assist a little we caught the water bus from the airport which was 15€ one way or 27€ return. The nearest stop (3 mins walk) is Ca'Rezzonico which doesn't have a ticket machine so if you buy your return ticket on the boat it costs 16€... So get a return..... The earliest boat goes from this stop at 0553 so if you have an early flight bear this in mind.... It's the amber/orange line from the airport and takes about an hour. Also google maps is wrong and puts this hotel on the wrong street!! Walk off the stop and down the little road which will take you to campo San barnaba square, walk to the top right corner diagonally from where you entered it and walk down that street keeping the canal to your right, go past the first little bridge on your right and the hotel is a little bit further down on the left ( has 2 hanging lights each side of the door). If you get as far as the next bridge then you've gone too far!! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Address: 2824 Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#110 Family Hotel in Venice
#132 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pausania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.