We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room too Small and No AC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Hotel Flora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Room too Small and No AC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2006

Yes, it has a great location, just steps from St. Marks, but this hotel was a disappointment, based on our tiny room on the top floor of the hotel (clearly, was originally for staff) and the smallest bathroom on the planet (clearly, there was originally no bathroom in this room). On top of that, because of a dubious "law" that said hotels couldn't use AC until June 1, we had none, and sweltered all night when not fending off the bugs. Worst night sleep you could imagine. Stay at the Hotel Mocenigo instead, where we had a blissful three nights (with AC, I might add) in a huge, spotless and charming bedroom with giant bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    205
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
150
287
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

Having spent more than 30 years in the hotel trade myself, I feel strongly enough to write a quick review of the Hotel Flora having just spent three days there.
Credit must be given to the owners of this business for assembling staff who are the most charming, attentive and efficient that it has been my pleasure to stay with just about anywhere in the world!
There are many reviews on this hotel that explain the location etc, so I would only add that if you do not wish to be disturbed at breakfast time, ask for a room that is not on the ground floor adjacent to the garden area. Otherwise I'd recommend this as a superb hotel in a fantastic city!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2006

We recently stayed at the Hotel Flora for 2 nights. It is a small, charming but slightly worn hotel. It has the feel of a large villa, rather than a hotel. We had an extremely large triple at the back of the hotel-room 23 with a small, modern bathroom. The heated floor and heated towel bar were a nice touch. The rooms are decorated in Venetian style. The hotel is in a great location, and the concierge provided detailed instructions on how to get there from the train station. A typical Italian continental breakfast was included in the price of the room (205 euros). It was very cold so we were unable to sit in the lovely courtyard in the center. The courtyard filled with iron tables and chairs would be a wonderful place to relax and have a drink at the end of the day. The hotel staff were very attentive. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers who like small hotels with a flavor of the city which they are visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2005

I stayed at the Hotel Flora for 2 nights. I had read reviews found in other guidebooks...and felt the location was right. While it is a quaint, small hotel...our room was tiny. The bathroom was the smallest I have had in Europe....you could not close the door and get undressed. While I liked the location...and staff..I would look into other hotels if I ever returned.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2005

We stayed in the Hotel Flora for 1 night (Sept 17). We thought it was very nice.

PROS:
- pretty hotel
- great location - 5 min walk to St. Marks
- delicious breakfast - croissants, cheese, fruit, yogurt, etc
- pretty garden for breakfast, and pretty lobby, breakfast room, etc
- friendly staff
- free internet PC in breakfast room
- nice toiletries in washroom

CONS:
- room was nice but nothing exciting and a bit small for the price; hairdryer didn't work
- very expensive (230 euros a night)

We thought it was a lovely hotel (as you can see by the photos I posted).. we would consider staying here again, but due to the cost and the fact the room was just average, we would probably look around at other hotels too for a better value.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2005

We stayed in a 4-bedded family room (2 adults 2 kids) which was huge by Venician standards. The location is barely 5 minutes off of St. Mark's and perfect if you need a quiet retreat that is still within the hustle of it all. The hotel garden is beautiful and a great place for breakfast. It rained for us so we were served in the breakfast room. Be prepared to spend alot in Venice. Dinner might cost you almost the same as a room! Bring boots if traveling soon and be ready for fun!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2005

The Hotel Flora came with great recommendations. You could not beat the location--5 minutes from the Piazza San Marco--but our room was MINISCULE!! We could not enter or exit the bathroom without knocking the hair dryer out of its holder. Our room had a musty smell, but then most of Venice has a musty smell...I wasn't sure if this is the Hotel Flora or Venice in general.
Everything in Venice is very expensive and this hotel was the most expensive of our entire trip and the most disappointing due to the size of the room. T I give high marks to the staff--they were quite helpful and friendly--we could not fault our service while there. They arranged for a free boat to Murano as well as arranged our private taxi on our departure.
We would not stay at this hotel again due to the high price and very small room...but the neighborhood was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Venice
#55 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 17th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices.The Hotel Flora’s history is enriched with this new fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.