We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old hotel in a quiet laneway close to everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Hotel Flora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 383 Hotels in Venice
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Charming old hotel in a quiet laneway close to everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were a little worried when we arrived after a late night flight to find this hotel all locked up. For about 10 minutes, we feared we'd be sleeping outside in below-zero temperatures. Thankfully, a staff member noticed us searching for signs of life. Turns out there was a doorbell to ring - but we didn't see it because it was hidden behind a plant.

This hotel had some real Venice charm to it - so it's not the right place for visitors looking for modern design. The staff were chatty and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good - the birds that kept flying into the breakfast room must have thought so too, but they were promptly scared away by the wait staff.

The hotel's location at the end of a quiet, cute laneway provided some peace from the hordes of tourists. But it was just a short stroll to St Mark's Square. Very close to some of the boutique shops. A great spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    206
    40
    13
    11
See reviews for
152
290
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights from 1-3 January 2013, arriving in Venice very early in the morning on a train from Milan (which left at 06:35 on New Year's day!!), feeling tired and pretty miserable. We walked into the hotel just after 10:00 exactly as the previous night's guests were checking out, having breakfast and there was a general hectic vibe in the lobby (the hotel was full the previous night). Despite this, the gentleman at the front desk welcomed us with open arms, as if we were long-lost friends who had returned! He immediately arranged to safely store our luggage until our room was available for check-in, arranged for some cappuccino’s to be served to us in the lovely courtyard garden (on the house!), showed us to the restroom to freshen up etc. We felt extremely welcome!

Location of the hotel is absolutely perfect, around the corner from a water bus at St. Marco. Make sure you download directions from the hotel's website before you travel - they are very clear and if you follow them correctly, you won't have any problems finding the hotel at all.

Don't expect a modern hotel: it is quirky and slightly dated, but truly unique. Our room was on the ground floor (number 37), through the courtyard, not very big but more than adequate and very clean. The bathroom was a suitable size and didn't present any problems. I found the mattress a little soft and sloping to one side, and the furnishings a little "antique"-looking for my taste (though the advertised pics on their website are accurate). But, all in all we were so tired from walking around this wonderful city, these are small matters when all one wants to do is collapse in a heap!!

Breakfast was good, in a cozy (and, again, quant!) breakfast room. Pleasant waiters in attendance, very talkative and fun.

We would definitely stay here again, but won't recommend it if you're looking for a modern hotel. It is just not that. It's a lovely, warm, family-owned establishment that gives you a true piece of Venice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the lovely courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

It's a charming, quirky hotel. Perfectly comfortable and clean, excellent help/advice from the concierge and best of all is its location. The hotel would make a mistake though if it got any more expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the this hotel for 3 nights. The location of the hotel is excellent as it's a 5 minute walk from St Mark's square and the San Marco Zaccharia waterbus stop. Be aware that the hotel access is on Calle XXII Marzo between two stores and you have to carefully look for the hotel sign, which depending on your direction of travel and time of day, can be blocked by store canopies.

The included breakfast was good and the light dinner (reservations required) was also tasty and nice for sore feet. The staff were very helpful and the service was great.

Our hotel room (#19) was the smallest double room I've ever had. It was only big enough for the bed and two night tables and was very clausterphobic. It is also next to the elevator so you get noise from that. The bathroom was the smallest I've ever had to use. I could touch all the walls without even extending my arms all the way (I estimate it is a little less than 4' x 5') and the shower was very difficult to use.

We asked for a bigger room but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. I think if we had been able to get a bigger room further away from the elevator, I would have been more positive about our stay. For Europeans used to cramped spaces, the hotel room would probably have been fine, but for us Americans we're just used to more space. I have travelled extensively all over the world so I'm not evaluating the hotel based solely on US comparisons.

The price doubling on the weekend was also not great. I'd therefore recommend this hotel at non-peak times when you can get a bigger room for a reasonable (by Venice standards) price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guests,
I read your review with interst and I apologize if we couldn't change you in a different room. We always try to satisfy our guests'needs but unfortunately the hotel was complitely fully booked on those days. In case of a future visit we would invite you to check all the different types of rooms except the moderate ones, so that you could have a different taste of all our other rooms. We are very glad that you appreciated our service, our Staff and our breakfast and we sincerely hope that this may remain part of your nice memories.
I remain at your complete disposal .
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We traveled to Venice during the floods in November 2012, so the rates we got at Hotel Flora were really an amazing value. I am basing my review on those rates (less than 90 euros/night). Keep that in mind if you're considering booking at a much higher rate.

The location is perfect. You are a few minutes from St. Mark's Square in one direction and a few minutes from Accademia Bridge the other direction. The hotel itself is such a little retreat - the vines, the courtyard, the tucked away building. It's very charming.

We booked two rooms and upon arrival were shown the first room (#2), which was huge and had tall ceilings and a great bath and shower. The second room was a disappointment (#5) - barely any room to move around, low low ceilings and a bathroom that even I (5 foot 1, petite frame) had trouble moving around in. Teeny tiny. We asked to be moved and were put in a room on the third floor that was much bigger than #5 but nowhere near the #2 size.

I am not sure if it was because we asked to be moved, but for the rest of our stay we definitely had a little "attitude" from one of the front desk staff members. He was very cold and not welcoming at all.

The breakfast in the morning was great. We loved our friendly waiter and there was a lot of good food to choose from (coffee, also, was great). As others have said, they have free wifi.

Even with the flooding, we had an amazing time in Venice at Hotel Flora. For the rate we paid, we were very satisfied with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window out into the courtyard. Those rooms had higher ceilings and were more s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Free Wi-Fi and super close to the main square. Most things were within walking distance. There was a light dinner option at the time we went you could select and it was delicious. The staff was extremely friendly on assisting us with directions and overall accommodation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It's a combination of the product and the people. Keep in mind, we came to Venice during the rainy season and perhaps that should have dampened our mood but on the contrary we embraced the flooding. We walked from vaporetto # 1 to the hotel (moving through throngs of people in and around San Marco, dodging puddles and carrying bags over those great staired bridges). Oh Venice. 

The greeting from the evening manager was as if our arrival bothered him. Consider our journey: train, vaporetto, difficult walk with luggage: how about a cheery greeting? Venice comes with an elitist attitude and if i had its history and the loads of cruisegoers and low cost airlines making my city so accessible id be happy to pocket the tourists' easy money without much in return.  The hotel is charming but in the standard Venice way its just impractical: tiny hallways, tiny room, tiny bathroom and even tighter shower. At least the tv could fit in my backpack if i were going to steel it.  But this is Venice, the charm, the quirkiness, turning the impractical into daily living....all that and the canals and gondolas is why we come, right?

On two occasions we asked the evening manager for a restaurant recommendation. Two times he came up blank. The staff insisted on knocking on our door multiple times each morning to see if we had departed (wife's pregnant, takes some time to get ready, plus it's our vacation). If you've been to Venice you'll know it's the disneyworld of tourist traps so having the hotel on our side for legitimate restaurant suggestions or things to do would have been a game changer. They really didn't offer anything during our five day stay unless we specifically solicited advice and then it was brief and unhelpful. 

The breakfast and the courtyard are probably the hotel's best assets. You might argue its the location, but being close to San Marco Square enhances the touristy atmosphere and, in turn, the prices grow exponentially. Everyday our goal was to get away from that as much as possible. 

My suggestion: don't stay in Venice more than two nights. In fact, stay on Murano or Burano and take a vaporetto over for a day's visit. One can't deny venice's uniqueness, but its as if the Venetians prefer to cater to the unsavvy cruiseship bunch than people that might actually come back the next day if the food and service were good. 

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Owner at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I read your review with interest and I am sorry if you haven't been able to enjoy your stay in Venice. I always try to give our guests as many tips and information as I can. We also created a web site called insidevenice in which we write our personal suggestions ( restaurants, shops, itineraries etc ) in order to let people discover a b-side of Venice made by venetians. This is a unique city and can be physically very tiring, worst if raining. I am sorry about the chambermaid knocking on your door and I will share your message with my staff in order to be more discreet in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally in case of a future trip to Venice ( even if not staying at the Flora ) and I will be glad to give you all my personal list of suggestions.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 17th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices.The Hotel Flora’s history is enriched with this new fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.