We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Flora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy (San Marco)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 382 hotels in Venice
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It's a combination of the product and the people. Keep in mind, we came to Venice during the rainy season and perhaps that should have dampened our mood but on the contrary we embraced the flooding. We walked from vaporetto # 1 to the hotel (moving through throngs of people in and around San Marco, dodging puddles and carrying bags over those great staired bridges). Oh Venice. 

The greeting from the evening manager was as if our arrival bothered him. Consider our journey: train, vaporetto, difficult walk with luggage: how about a cheery greeting? Venice comes with an elitist attitude and if i had its history and the loads of cruisegoers and low cost airlines making my city so accessible id be happy to pocket the tourists' easy money without much in return.  The hotel is charming but in the standard Venice way its just impractical: tiny hallways, tiny room, tiny bathroom and even tighter shower. At least the tv could fit in my backpack if i were going to steel it.  But this is Venice, the charm, the quirkiness, turning the impractical into daily living....all that and the canals and gondolas is why we come, right?

On two occasions we asked the evening manager for a restaurant recommendation. Two times he came up blank. The staff insisted on knocking on our door multiple times each morning to see if we had departed (wife's pregnant, takes some time to get ready, plus it's our vacation). If you've been to Venice you'll know it's the disneyworld of tourist traps so having the hotel on our side for legitimate restaurant suggestions or things to do would have been a game changer. They really didn't offer anything during our five day stay unless we specifically solicited advice and then it was brief and unhelpful. 

The breakfast and the courtyard are probably the hotel's best assets. You might argue its the location, but being close to San Marco Square enhances the touristy atmosphere and, in turn, the prices grow exponentially. Everyday our goal was to get away from that as much as possible. 

My suggestion: don't stay in Venice more than two nights. In fact, stay on Murano or Burano and take a vaporetto over for a day's visit. One can't deny venice's uniqueness, but its as if the Venetians prefer to cater to the unsavvy cruiseship bunch than people that might actually come back the next day if the food and service were good. 

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Owner at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
I read your review with interest and I am sorry if you haven't been able to enjoy your stay in Venice. I always try to give our guests as many tips and information as I can. We also created a web site called insidevenice in which we write our personal suggestions ( restaurants, shops, itineraries etc ) in order to let people discover a b-side of Venice made by venetians. This is a unique city and can be physically very tiring, worst if raining. I am sorry about the chambermaid knocking on your door and I will share your message with my staff in order to be more discreet in the future.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally in case of a future trip to Venice ( even if not staying at the Flora ) and I will be glad to give you all my personal list of suggestions.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    174
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
128
244
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Like great grandmas back bedroom, cosy and warm with great comfortable beds, pillows and soft covers, but grans never had a lovely Murano Glass chandelier! Twin room No-7 and bathroom are compact and simply furnished with antique furnishings. The small, well designed bathroom with aqua blue tiles had a large shower and was very clean with nice toiletries supplied.
There is a small TV with BBC, CNN etc perfect to catch up on world news, room safe and free WiFi. Good soundproofing made for a quiet nights sleep. The room with two windows was at the front with no great outlook, so unfortunately we didn’t look out over the lush rear courtyard garden.
During our stay it was cooler with a bit of rain and high tide, so breakfast was served indoors in the inviting lounge/dining room. The morning breakfast staff are extremely quick and professional in accommodating people to their specific table requirements and serving tea or coffee to your table with a smile (Especially the elder gentlemen) making for a great start to the day. Breakfast buffet is very good and includes items like fruit salad and scambled eggs.
Location is excellent and central for exploring Venice with two Vaperetto stops only a short stroll.

Room Tip: Request a large room, high floor, overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a very quiet hotel hidden down a cul de sac about 5 minutes from St Marks. Rooms adequate for a short stay. Breakfast selection of cereals, fresh fruits, yoghurts, eggs, breads, some cakes and reasonable coffee. Gym in building round the corner is small but useful although only open from 8.30am til 6.30pm and not on weekends. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: I asked for a bathtub and got room 38 on the ground floor but the tub was tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review. We are so glad that you appreciated our location and our breakfast . With reference to our Gym, we beg you pardon for the wrong information that you received. In fact our gym, only for our guests, is open seven days a week from 8.00 am to 7.30 pm .Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We really hope to see you soon at the Flora.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in hotel flora for two nights in the last couple of days. This is the third hotel i stayed in Venice. The location is great, just 3 mins to st marco square. The staff in the hotel are very nice and kind and went out of their way to make your stay as comfortable and as happy as possible.

I stayed in a single room which was stylish with a comfortable bed. The size of the room was slightly too small but it doesn't cause a big problem.

The breakfast was great ( very tasty crossiant and coffee)! I had dinners as well in the restaurant where light dinners are served. it was tasty as well and they make nice bellini. Overall I like this hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

this is a gem of a hotel nestled in the tiniest cul de sac in san marco....who wodl have guessed that between two buildings is an oasis of calm and charm. I hada most comfortable single room that made up in charm what it lacked in size. Great quality toiletries as well. Given its location, quality and impeccable service, it is reasonably priced. I highly recommend this hotel and dare you not to like it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is so nice to read such a generous review in which you point out all our main priorities such as Quality, service, location and toletries which are from Bigelow NY.
We thank you again for your kind words.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka, Ontario
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We first stayed at Hotel Flora in 2007 for eight days and found it superb by every measure. While in Venice for a month this year we visited Flora several times with family to enjoy the warmth and hospitality provided by its tasteful decor , its quiet setting and its ever efficient and courteous staff.I recall cashing traveler's cheques at the hotel office at a good exchange rate with no charge or premium.

One possibly well kept secret at Flora is the availability of light dinners prepared and served in the garden courtyard or lounge ( depending on weather) by Vinizio. Perhaps it is technically not a restaurant per se but we have added a "restaurant "rating as well for Flora.You needn't be staying at Flora to reserve a dinner by Vinizio- just phone him in advance at the hotel. Being so close to Teatro La Fenice it's a perfect pre-opera dining choice. Also, Vinizio makes the best bellini in Venice ! The hotel bar and lounge have an excellent selection.

Hotel Flora is perfectly situated near Piazza San Marco but is set back in a serene location. We've recommended it to friends who have also stayed at Flora and would not only endorse our recommendation themselves but also add superlative comments to this review.

Room Tip: Either Room #23 or #36 would be a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelflora, Owner at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guests,

this is what we would really love to become for all our clients: a point of reference in Venice, your home away from home, where you can find people at your disposal happy to welcome you! We are glad that you also appreciate our "light dinner" with Vinicio and we thank you for spreading the word with your friends. Word of mouth is the best advertising for us. We are really looking forward to see you soon during your next stay in Venice.
Yours sincerely,

Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our stay for a few days at this hotel was a real delight. The staff were accommodating and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the facilities of a high standard. The breakfast room was a pleasant way to start the day and the garden a sheer pleasure.Location can not be faulted, close to the Vaporetto stop, a gondola station and a short stroll to the exquisite beauty of Piazza San Marco. We were extremely happy with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Venice
#61 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 17th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices.The Hotel Flora’s history is enriched with this new fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.